Unnamed 57.87°N/155.42°W volcano

Lava dome 300? m / 984 ft
United States, Alaska Peninsula, 57.87°N / -155.42°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Unnamed 57.87°N/155.42°W volcano eruptions: unknown, no recent eruptions

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 06:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 25, 2021 10:30 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 26, 2021 06:30 GMT)
1.9

55 km
22 km (14 mi)
44 Km WNW of Karluk, Alaska
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 12:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 20, 2021 4:55 am (GMT -8) (Oct 20, 2021 12:55 GMT)
1.9

38 km
45 km (28 mi)
56 Km NNW of Karluk, Alaska
Sunday, October 17, 2021 18:13 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 10:13 am (GMT -8) (Oct 17, 2021 18:13 GMT)
1.8

1.1 km
34 km (21 mi)
87 Km SSE of King Salmon, Alaska
Oct 16, 2021 6:02 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 17, 2021 02:02 GMT)
1.7

99 km
24 km (15 mi)
75 Km WNW of Karluk, Alaska
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 00:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 4:19 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 13, 2021 00:19 GMT)
2.2

121 km
24 km (15 mi)
Alaska Peninsula

Background

A small unnamed lava dome and an associated lava flow about 30 km east of Becharof Lake and 8 km NW of Alinchak Bay are not significantly modified by glacial erosion. Detterman et al. (1987) suggested a Holocene age for the small dome, whose summit lies only about 300 m above sea level. Lava flows traveled a short distance to the north.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.