Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Acatenango volcano: past 14 days

Updated Dec 6, 2021 09:34 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Acatenango volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.3 quake North Pacific Ocean, 134 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Dec 3, 2021 5:28 pm (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 4.0 quake North Pacific Ocean, 54 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Dec 5, 2021 6:43 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 00:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2021 6:43 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 6, 2021 00:43 GMT)
4.0

62 km
204 km (127 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 23:28 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 3, 2021 5:28 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2021 23:28 GMT)
4.3

23 km
265 km (165 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 134 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 9:10 am (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2021 15:10 GMT)
3.9

40 km
304 km (189 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 115 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 2:52 am (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2021 08:52 GMT)
3.9

20 km
350 km (217 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 156 km southwest of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, December 2, 2021 21:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 2, 2021 3:09 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2021 21:09 GMT)
3.7

143 km
172 km (107 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 32 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 23:10 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 30, 2021 5:10 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2021 23:10 GMT)
4.1

19 km
316 km (196 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 163 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 1:30 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2021 19:30 GMT)
4.1

7 km
271 km (168 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 100 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, November 26, 2021 19:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 26, 2021 1:43 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2021 19:43 GMT)
3.9

6 km
315 km (196 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 170 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, November 25, 2021 08:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 25, 2021 2:18 am (GMT -6) (Nov 25, 2021 08:18 GMT)
3.6

5 km
298 km (185 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 164 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 17:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 24, 2021 11:53 am (GMT -6) (Nov 24, 2021 17:53 GMT)
3.9

19 km
261 km (162 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km west of Puerto Madero, Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Monday, November 22, 2021 19:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2021 1:10 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 22, 2021 19:10 GMT)
3.7

63 km
228 km (142 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.6 x 1011 joules (183 megawatt hours, equivalent to 157 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel