Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

Latest earthquakes near Apastepeque volcano past 14 days

Updated 18 Jan 2021 08:47 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Apastepeque volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 1 quake of magnitude 4.5, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.0 quake North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of Usulutan, Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador, 15 Jan 2021 11:09 am (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 4.5 quake North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Santa Tecla, El Salvador, 17 Jan 2021 10:04 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 3.6 quake 30 km southeast of Usulutan, El Salvador, 17 Jan 2021 10:28 pm (GMT -6)
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Earthquake list

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 10:28 pm (GMT -6) (18 Jan 2021 04:28:07 GMT)
3.6

123 km
(83 km)30 km southeast of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 10:04 pm (GMT -6) (18 Jan 2021 04:04:21 GMT)
4.5

32 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Santa Tecla, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 10 reports
MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 11:08 pm (GMT -6) (17 Jan 2021 05:08:20 GMT)
2.4

26 km
(82 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km south of La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
16 Jan 2021 9:30 pm (GMT -6) (17 Jan 2021 03:30:24 GMT)
2.1

8 km
(67 km)15 km northwest of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
16 Jan 2021 8:59 pm (GMT -6) (17 Jan 2021 02:59:06 GMT)
2.7

34 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 1:16 am (GMT -6) (16 Jan 2021 07:16:29 GMT)
2.1

6 km
(50 km)Departamento de San Salvador, 2.4 km east of Antiguo Cuscatlan, Antiguo Cuscatlán, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
16 Jan 2021 1:09 am (GMT -6) (16 Jan 2021 07:09:47 GMT)
2.5

24 km
(96 km)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km south of La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
2021-01-15 22:22:15 (16 Jan 2021 04:22:15 GMT)
2.7

25 km
(104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 11:09 am (GMT -6) (15 Jan 2021 17:09:05 GMT)
5.0

30 km
(97 km)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of Usulutan, Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 9:35 am (GMT -6) (14 Jan 2021 15:35:01 GMT)
3.5

22 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km southwest of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 4:59 am (GMT -6) (14 Jan 2021 10:59:33 GMT)
2.4

6 km
Ilopango (29 km) - El SalvadorDepartamento de Cuscatlan, 9.3 km southeast of Ilopango, Departamento de San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT)
13 Jan 2021 1:57 am (GMT -6) (13 Jan 2021 07:57:28 GMT)
3.5

22 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 62 km south of Zacatecoluca, Departamento de La Paz, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT)
12 Jan 2021 12:20 am (GMT -6) (12 Jan 2021 06:20:13 GMT)
2.8

25 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Zacatecoluca, Departamento de La Paz, El Salvador MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 6:59 am (GMT -6) (9 Jan 2021 12:59:37 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(37 km)Departamento de San Miguel, 21 km east of Sensuntepeque, Cabañas, El Salvador MoreMap
9 Jan 2021 6:59 am (GMT -6) (9 Jan 2021 12:59:31 GMT)
3.1

32 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of Zacatecoluca, Departamento de La Paz, El Salvador MoreMap
9 Jan 2021 6:17 am (GMT -6) (9 Jan 2021 12:17:19 GMT)
2.6

4 km
(74 km)7.2 km north of Ciudad Arce, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
9 Jan 2021 12:10 am (GMT -6) (9 Jan 2021 06:10:36 GMT)
2.5

34 km
(83 km)North Pacific Ocean, 57 km south of Zacatecoluca, Departamento de La Paz, El Salvador MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
8 Jan 2021 5:50 pm (GMT -6) (8 Jan 2021 23:50:58 GMT)
3.5

23 km
(104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km south of La Libertad, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 7:39 am (GMT -6) (8 Jan 2021 13:39:49 GMT)
2.8

35 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 46 km southwest of Puerto El Triunfo, Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT)
7 Jan 2021 1:13 pm (GMT -6) (7 Jan 2021 19:13:58 GMT)
3.4

20 km
(107 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km south of Santa Tecla, El Salvador MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 10:38 pm (GMT -6) (7 Jan 2021 04:38:01 GMT)
2.7

36 km
(93 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Tue, 5 Jan 2021 (GMT)
5 Jan 2021 12:30 am (GMT -6) (5 Jan 2021 06:30:51 GMT)
3.0

26 km
Ilopango (92 km) - El SalvadorNorth Pacific Ocean, 78 km south of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
5 Jan 2021 12:14 am (GMT -6) (5 Jan 2021 06:14:55 GMT)
2.5

25 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 64 km south of Zacatecoluca, Departamento de La Paz, El Salvador MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1012 joules (672 megawatt hours, equivalent to 579 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.