Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Barva volcano: past 14 days

Updated Oct 17, 2021 07:43 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Barva volcano was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake Sarchi, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 3.5 quake Poas, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Oct 16, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 03:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 03:22 GMT)
3.5

77 km
18 km (11 mi)Costa Rica: 1 Km Al Sur De San Pedro, Poas.
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 20:05 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 2:05 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 20:05 GMT)
2.9

8 km
39 km (24 mi)Costa Rica: 2 Km Al Norte De Barbacoas, Puriscal.
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 8:53 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 14:53 GMT)
3.5

5 km
38 km (24 mi)3 Km Al Oeste De Picagres, Mora, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 10:45 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.8

5 km
21 km (13 mi)COSTA RICA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.1

5 km
24 km (15 mi)17 Km Al Noroeste De Vara Blanca, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 05:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 11, 2021 11:39 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 12, 2021 05:39 GMT)
3.0

45 km
47 km (29 mi)Costa Rica: 12 Km Al Suroeste De San Ignacio, Acosta.
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 10:06 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 12, 2021 04:06 GMT)
2.5

8 km
44 km (27 mi)Costa Rica: 2 Km Al Sur De San Cristobal, Desamparados. MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 11:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 5:09 am (GMT -6) (Oct 8, 2021 11:09 GMT)
2.8

78 km
39 km (24 mi)El Guarco, Provincia de Cartago, 19 km southeast of San Jose, Costa Rica MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 18:12 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 5, 2021 12:12 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2021 18:12 GMT)
3.3

80 km
15 km (9.3 mi)Poas, Provincia de Alajuela, 28 km northwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 5:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2021 11:03 GMT)
2.5

8 km
49 km (30 mi)Desamparados, Provincia de San José, 16 km south of Cartago, Costa Rica MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 03:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 3, 2021 9:51 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2021 03:51 GMT)
2.2

6 km
30 km (19 mi)Desamparados, 8.4 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1010 joules (18.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.2 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.