Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News
Mon, 27 Jun 2016, 10:31
The alert level was raised a notch last week, as volcanologists from SERNAGEOMIN started to record a significant increase in seismicity associated with a slight inflation of the volcanic edifice,- typical signs of magma intrusion at depth under the volcano. ... read all
Thu, 4 Jun 2015, 11:05
OVDAS-SERNAGEOMIN reported that during 20-26 May activity at Calbuco fluctuated at low levels and continued to decline. Inclement weather prevented observations of the summit area on most days; white plumes were observed rising 300-400 m and drifting SE during 24-26 May, and incandescence at the crater was observed at night during 25-26 May. According to ONEMI, the number of evacuees within the 20-km evacuation zone remained at 6,685 on 26 May. ... read all

Earthquakes near Calbuco volcano during the year 2020

Updated 1 Mar 2021 08:19 GMT -
During 2020, Calbuco volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake 38 km northwest of San Carlos de Bariloche, Bariloche, Río Negro, Argentina, 03/07/2020 01:46:16
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Dec 2020 4:20 pm (GMT -3) (15 Dec 2020 19:20:31 GMT)
3.6

118 km
Cayutué-La Viguería (25 km)56 km northeast of Port Montt, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 4 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Dec 2020 8:23 am (GMT -3) (4 Dec 2020 11:23:59 GMT)
2.9

118 km
(78 km)Osorno, Los Lagos, Argentina, 80 km east of Osorno (Los Lagos Region, Chile) MoreMap
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Nov 2020 8:02 pm (GMT -3) (29 Nov 2020 23:02:42 GMT)
2.5

15 km
(113 km)Osorno, 24 km west of Osorno, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 8 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Nov 2020 7:10 am (GMT -3) (8 Nov 2020 10:10:00 GMT)
3.5

124 km
(94 km)67 km east of Osorno, Los Lagos, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 5 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Nov 2020 5:19 am (GMT -3) (5 Nov 2020 08:19:48 GMT)
3.9

38 km
(102 km)13 km west of Osorno, Los Lagos, Chile 6 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 29 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Sep 2020 16:16:15 GMT
3.5

37 km
(122 km)22 km northwest of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 28 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Sep 7:22 am (GMT -3) (28 Sep 2020 10:22:19 GMT)
3.3

30 km
(125 km)South Pacific Ocean, 25 km northwest of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 27 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Jul 2020 00:11:30 GMT
3.1

121 km
(86 km)Ranco, Los Rios Region, 63 km east of Osorno, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 23 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Jul 2020 13:20:35 GMT
3.3

41 km
(101 km)41 km north of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 6 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Jul 2020 00:49:31 GMT
2.7

36 km
Calbuco (19 km)45 km east of Port Montt, Provincia de Llanquihue, Los Lagos Region, Chile 2 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 3 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
03/07/2020 01:46:16 (3 Jul 2020 04:46:16 GMT)
4.2

170 km
(85 km)38 km northwest of San Carlos de Bariloche, Bariloche, Río Negro, Argentina 3 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 21 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 May 2020 03:43:19 GMT
4.1

30 km
(131 km)24 km northwest of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos, Chile 2 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 27 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Mar 2020 05:16:14 GMT
2.7

62 km
Calbuco (74 km)45 km west of Port Montt, Provincia de Llanquihue, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 2 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Feb 2020 20:56:29 GMT
2.9

63 km
(75 km)Osorno Province, 22 km south of Osorno, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 9 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Jan 2020 01:24:51 GMT
3.0

35 km
(84 km)21 km southwest of Osorno, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 2 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Jan 2020 20:26:48 GMT
3.4

44 km
(114 km)Provincia de Chiloé, 19 km southeast of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos Region, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1011 joules (90.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 78.1 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.