Past earthquakes near Canlaon volcano: 2020

Updated Dec 2, 2021 18:25 GMT -
During 2020, Canlaon volcano was shaken by 10 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 93 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 514 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 161 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.0 quake 4.1 km northeast of Buenavista, Philippines, 14 July 2020 - 04:40 AM (PST)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (21 out of 778 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 15:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 30, 2020 11:21 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 30, 2020 15:21 GMT)
2.4

10 km
58 km (36 mi)Sulu Sea, 22 km west of Binalbagan, Philippines MoreMap
Monday, December 21, 2020 19:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 3:16 am (GMT +8) (Dec 21, 2020 19:16 GMT)
2.6

1 km
47 km (29 mi)Sulu Sea, 5.6 km north of Inampulungan Island, Philippines MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 12:23 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 13, 2020 8:23 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 13, 2020 12:23 GMT)
1.8

34 km
51 km (32 mi)1.5 km east of Sebaste, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
13 December 2020 - 08:23 PM (PST) (Dec 13, 2020 12:23 GMT)
1.7

18 km
36 km (22 mi)Sulu Sea, 2.3 km north of Pacol, Negros Occidental, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Friday, December 11, 2020 09:23 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 11, 2020 5:23 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 11, 2020 09:23 GMT)
2.4

26 km
63 km (39 mi)Sulu Sea, 37 km southwest of Bago City, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 09:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
08 December 2020 - 05:42 PM (PST) (Dec 8, 2020 09:42 GMT)
2.4

14 km
67 km (42 mi)Sulu Sea, 4.1 km east of Iloilo City, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 19:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 19, 2020 3:43 am (GMT +8) (Nov 18, 2020 19:43 GMT)
2.5

4 km
62 km (39 mi)27 km south of Iloilo, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Saturday, October 31, 2020 13:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 31, 2020 9:40 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 31, 2020 13:40 GMT)
2.0

66 km
70 km (43 mi)19 km NW of Guiljungan, Philippines MoreMap
Monday, October 12, 2020 05:04 GMT (1 earthquake)
12 October 2020 - 01:04 PM (PST) (Oct 12, 2020 05:04 GMT)
2.3

6 km
61 km (38 mi)0.5 km northwest of Oracon, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Monday, September 28, 2020 16:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
28 September 2020 - 12:01 PM (PST) (Sep 28, 2020 16:01 GMT)
2.5

16 km
67 km (42 mi)Sulu Sea, 18 km north of Tuyum, Negros Occidental, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Monday, August 31, 2020 10:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
31 August 2020 - 06:55 PM (PST) (Aug 31, 2020 10:55 GMT)
2.2

6 km
65 km (40 mi)Province of Guimaras, 7.6 km east of Iloilo City, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Thursday, July 16, 2020 05:36 GMT (1 earthquake)
16 July 2020 - 01:36 PM (PST) (Jul 16, 2020 05:36 GMT)
2.7

52 km
60 km (37 mi)2.3 km north of Piña, Province of Guimaras, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Monday, July 13, 2020 20:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
14 July 2020 - 04:40 AM (PST) (Jul 13, 2020 20:40 GMT)
3.0

16 km
62 km (39 mi)4.1 km northeast of Buenavista, Philippines MoreMap
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 06:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
30 June 2020 - 02:02 PM (PST) (Jun 30, 2020 06:02 GMT)
1.9

41 km
53 km (33 mi)019 km S 38° E of Nueva Valencia (Guimaras) (Philippines) MoreMap
Friday, June 19, 2020 21:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
20 June 2020 - 05:33 AM (PST) (Jun 19, 2020 21:33 GMT)
2.0

27 km
63 km (39 mi)Sulu Sea, 15 km southeast of La Paz, Philippines MoreMap
Friday, May 1, 2020 20:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
02 May 2020 - 04:35 AM (PST) (May 1, 2020 20:35 GMT)
2.7

49 km
60 km (37 mi)Sulu Sea, 5.8 km southeast of Salvacion, Philippines MoreMap
Saturday, March 21, 2020 03:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
21 March 2020 - 11:22 AM (PST) (Mar 21, 2020 03:22 GMT)
1.8

25 km
64 km (40 mi)006 km S 09° W of Jordan (Guimaras) (Philippines) MoreMap
Saturday, March 14, 2020 19:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
15 March 2020 - 03:24 AM (PST) (Mar 14, 2020 19:24 GMT)
2.2

23 km
62 km (39 mi)Kamangculan Island, 14 km south of Iloilo City, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 06:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
26 February 2020 - 02:05 PM (PST) (Feb 26, 2020 06:05 GMT)
2.0

25 km
40 km (25 mi)Sulu Sea, 2.6 km southwest of Pulupandan, Philippines MoreMap
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 20:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
05 February 2020 - 04:18 AM (PST) (Feb 4, 2020 20:18 GMT)
2.0

20 km
61 km (38 mi)2 km west of Piña, Province of Guimaras, Western Visayas, Philippines MoreMap
Thursday, January 2, 2020 18:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
03 January 2020 - 02:46 AM (PST) (Jan 2, 2020 18:46 GMT)
1.7

17 km
50 km (31 mi)013 km S 81° W of Binalbagan (Negros Occidental) (Philippines) MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.2 x 109 joules (1.73 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.48 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel