Past earthquakes near Cerro Zapaleri volcano: September 2021

Updated Dec 3, 2021 23:29 GMT -
During Sep 2021, Cerro Zapaleri volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1 quake of magnitude 2.7.
Biggest quake: 4.0 quake Departamento de Rinconada, 199 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina, Sep 11, 2021 8:26 am (GMT -3)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 08:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 27, 2021 5:28 am (GMT -3) (Sep 27, 2021 08:28 GMT)
3.1

231 km
58 km (36 mi)Departamento de Susques, 188 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Thursday, September 16, 2021 08:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 5:35 am (GMT -3) (Sep 16, 2021 08:35 GMT)
2.7

192 km
17 km (10.6 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 234 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 15:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 14, 2021 12:40 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 14, 2021 15:40 GMT)
3.5

237 km
68 km (42 mi)Departamento de Susques, 181 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, September 11, 2021 16:32 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 11, 2021 1:32 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 11, 2021 16:32 GMT)
3.6

214 km
31 km (19 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 234 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 8:26 am (GMT -3) (Sep 11, 2021 11:26 GMT)
4.0

262 km
79 km (49 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 199 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 11, 2021 4:07 am (GMT -3) (Sep 11, 2021 07:07 GMT)
3.6

236 km
75 km (47 mi)Departamento de Susques, 182 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina 2 reportsMoreMap
Friday, September 10, 2021 07:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 4:56 am (GMT -3) (Sep 10, 2021 07:56 GMT)
3.0

241 km
66 km (41 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 194 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 16:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 7, 2021 1:59 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 7, 2021 16:59 GMT)
3.0

194 km
25 km (16 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 235 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 6, 2021 11:06 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 7, 2021 02:06 GMT)
3.0

225 km
78 km (48 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 209 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Saturday, September 4, 2021 21:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 4, 2021 6:13 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 4, 2021 21:13 GMT)
3.4

211 km
22 km (14 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 231 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Thursday, September 2, 2021 15:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 2, 2021 12:13 pm (GMT -3) (Sep 2, 2021 15:13 GMT)
3.3

231 km
35 km (22 mi)Departamento de Rinconada, 218 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1011 joules (35.9 megawatt hours, equivalent to 30.9 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel