Past earthquakes near Clear Lake volcano: 2020

Updated Dec 6, 2021 09:44 GMT -
During 2020, Clear Lake volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 54 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 634 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 9920 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.6 quake 7.5 mi north of Ukiah, Mendocino County, California, 2020-03-03 10:21:32 -08:00
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (89 out of 10615 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 12:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 4:53 am (GMT -8) (Dec 22, 2020 12:53 GMT)
2.0

4.3 km
49 km (30 mi)Mendocino County, 11 mi northeast of The Sea Ranch, Sonoma County, California, USA MoreMap
Friday, December 18, 2020 13:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 18, 2020 5:31 am (GMT -8) (Dec 18, 2020 13:31 GMT)
1.9

5.1 km
47 km (29 mi)3.1 mi east of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 15:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 13, 2020 7:24 am (GMT -8) (Dec 13, 2020 15:24 GMT)
1.1

6.2 km
51 km (32 mi)1km WNW of Redwood Valley, CA, USA MoreMap
Monday, December 7, 2020 02:48 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 6, 2020 6:48 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 7, 2020 02:48 GMT)
1.8

3.7 km
36 km (22 mi)4.1 mi southwest of Hopland, California, USA MoreMap
Monday, November 30, 2020 01:12 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 29, 2020 5:12 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2020 01:12 GMT)
1.2

3.7 km
49 km (30 mi)7km SSE of Boonville, CA, USA MoreMap
Sunday, November 29, 2020 16:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 29, 2020 8:46 am (GMT -8) (Nov 29, 2020 16:46 GMT)
1.5

5.9 km
50 km (31 mi)1km SW of Redwood Valley, CA, USA MoreMap
Monday, November 23, 2020 05:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2020 9:53 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 23, 2020 05:53 GMT)
1.5

0.1 km
54 km (34 mi)2.7 mi northwest of Redwood Valley, Mendocino County, California MoreMap
Sunday, November 22, 2020 21:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2020 1:31 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 22, 2020 21:31 GMT)
2.0

0.6 km
40 km (25 mi)10.7 mi south of Ukiah, Mendocino County, California MoreMap
Saturday, November 21, 2020 14:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 21, 2020 14:03 GMT
1.1

5.2 km
49 km (30 mi)1.1 mi west of Calpella, Mendocino County, California MoreMap
Monday, November 16, 2020 12:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 16, 2020 12:24 GMT
1.7

4.9 km
47 km (29 mi)13 mi southwest of Ukiah, California MoreMap
Nov 16, 2020 06:35 GMT
1.2

6.2 km
44 km (27 mi)2.2 mi north of Ukiah, California MoreMap
Saturday, October 31, 2020 17:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 31, 2020 10:40 am (GMT -7) (Oct 31, 2020 17:40 GMT)
1.7

0.6 km
45 km (28 mi)7.4 miles SSE of Boonville, California MoreMap
Saturday, October 24, 2020 05:02 GMT (4 earthquakes)
23 Oct 10:02 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 24, 2020 05:02 GMT)
1.1

4.8 km
47 km (29 mi)3.2 mi southeast of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
23 Oct 9:44 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 24, 2020 04:44 GMT)
1.3

4.8 km
47 km (29 mi)3.3 mi southeast of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
23 Oct 9:14 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 24, 2020 04:14 GMT)
1.1

5 km
47 km (29 mi)3.2 mi southeast of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
23 Oct 8:14 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 24, 2020 03:14 GMT)
1.6

4.9 km
47 km (29 mi)5km ESE of Boonville, CA, USA MoreMap
Friday, October 23, 2020 11:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
23 Oct 4:27 am (GMT -7) (Oct 23, 2020 11:27 GMT)
1.3

2.1 km
51 km (32 mi)3.2 mi north of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
Monday, October 5, 2020 21:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
5 Oct 2:44 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2020 21:44 GMT)
1.7

6.3 km
51 km (32 mi)1km W of Redwood Valley, CA, USA MoreMap
Friday, October 2, 2020 23:10 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2020 23:10 GMT
1.2

5.4 km
42 km (26 mi)6.4 mi east of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
Oct 2, 2020 15:25 GMT
1.0

2.8 km
46 km (29 mi)3.7 mi east of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 11:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2020 11:08 GMT
0.8

4.7 km
50 km (31 mi)1.5 mi southeast of Boonville, Mendocino County, California, USA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 1010 joules (8.32 megawatt hours, equivalent to 7.16 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel