Cordon de Puntas Negras volcano

stratovolcanoes 5852 m / 19,199 ft
Chile / Argentinien (Norden) + Bolivien, Südamerika, -23.74°S / -67.53°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Cordón de Puntas Negras is a stratovolcano in northern Chile 46 km SE of Lascar volcano.
The volcano has a number of fresh-looking cones and craters such as Cerros Cenizas, Aguas Calientes, Laguna Escondida, and Chinchilla with well-preserved summit craters and short lava flows. In addition, there is a distinct maar and a large, 13 sq km silicic lava flow and dome complex.
It is thought that some of these vents are less than 10,000 years old, or even historical in age. The youngest of the complex is a crater SE of Cerro Laguna Escondidax.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Cordon de Puntas Negras volcano eruptions: less than 10,000 years, perhaps in historic times

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Monday, November 29, 2021 10:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 29, 2021 7:29 am (GMT -3) (Nov 29, 2021 10:29 GMT)
3.1

214 km
74 km (46 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 162 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
Thursday, November 25, 2021 20:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 25, 2021 5:32 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 25, 2021 20:32 GMT)
3.3

211 km
77 km (48 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 170 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
Saturday, November 20, 2021 15:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 20, 2021 12:58 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 20, 2021 15:58 GMT)
3.3

210 km
78 km (48 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 158 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
Friday, November 19, 2021 13:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 19, 2021 10:38 am (GMT -3) (Nov 19, 2021 13:38 GMT)
4.6

204 km
78 km (48 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 157 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 23:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 16, 2021 8:33 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 16, 2021 23:33 GMT)
3.8

255 km
44 km (27 mi)
Departamento de Susques, 195 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina

Background

Cordón de Puntas Negras is at the intersection of 2 volcanic chains; the Cordón de Puntas Negras chain trends NE-SW from from Chiliques volcano to Volcán Puntas Negras. The other Cordón Chalviri chain trends SW towards Cerro Tuyajto volcanoes.
The Cordón de Puntas Negras chain contains small cones, lava domes, lava flows, and maars and covers an area of 500 sq km and contains at least 25 different vents.
Cordón de Puntas Negras proper is situated along the southern margin of the 35 x 70 km Pliocene La Pacana caldera.
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel