Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Sat, 6 Jul 2019, 19:29
The M7.1 earthquake has also triggered an earthquake swarm at the southern end of the volcanic field, with around 30 earthquakes per hour. read all
Tue, 11 Dec 2012, 06:48
Location of recent quakes in the Coso volcanic field (red=past 48 hours, yellow=past week)
The recent earthquake swarm at Coso Volcanic Field seems to be over. read all
 

Coso volcano

stratovolcano 2400 m / 7,874 ft, California, Canada and USA (mainland), 36.03°N / -117.82°W
Nearby recent earthquakes (within 30km radius):
Earthquake list: past 7 days, magnitude -0.8 or higher (104 quakes)
Updated: Sun, 25 Oct 03:25 UTC (GMT)
Quake statistics | Yesterday
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Earthquake depth plot

Earthquake list

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocationMapSource
Sun, 25 Oct 2020 (UTC)
24 Oct 5:01 pm (GMT -7) (25 Oct 00:01:27 UTC)M 0.5 / 8 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Sat, 24 Oct 2020 (UTC) (9 earthquakes)
24 Oct 3:17 pm (GMT -7) (24 Oct 22:17:45 UTC)M 1.4 / 2.5 km - InfoCoso (5 km) 9km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 2:22 pm (GMT -7) (24 Oct 21:22:36 UTC)M 0.9 / 1.8 km - InfoCoso (5 km) 16km E of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 11:41 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 18:41:12 UTC)M 0.9 / 6.6 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 8:50 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 15:50:26 UTC)M 0.5 / 11.3 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 17km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 8:20 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 15:20:36 UTC)M 0.5 / 9.3 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 17km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 7:11 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 14:11:01 UTC)M 0.4 / 8.8 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 6:04 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 13:04:19 UTC)M 1.4 / 4.9 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 6km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
24 Oct 1:06 am (GMT -7) (24 Oct 08:06:23 UTC)M 0.9 / 3.9 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 4km NNE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
23 Oct 6:31 pm (GMT -7) (24 Oct 01:31:49 UTC)M 1.2 / 2.3 km - InfoCoso (6 km) 9km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 2020 (UTC) (10 earthquakes)
23 Oct 4:38 pm (GMT -7) (23 Oct 23:38:38 UTC)M 1.0 / 3.2 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 18km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
23 Oct 4:05 pm (GMT -7) (23 Oct 23:05:17 UTC)M 0.4 / 6.6 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
23 Oct 10:57 am (GMT -7) (23 Oct 17:57:21 UTC)M 1.2 / 3.8 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 14km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 13:57 UTCM 1.5 / 1.8 km - InfoCoso (5 km) 9km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
23 Oct 6:02 am (GMT -7) (23 Oct 13:02:53 UTC)M 1.4 / 2.4 km - InfoCoso (5 km) 9km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 02:23 UTCM 1.1 / 2.3 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 12km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 02:23 UTCM 0.2 / 3.8 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
22 Oct 6:26 pm (GMT -7) (23 Oct 01:26:25 UTC)M 0.7 / 8.1 km - InfoCoso (8 km) 14km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 01:21 UTCM 0.8 / 8.1 km - InfoCoso (7 km) 13km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Fri, 23 Oct 00:40 UTCM 1.4 / 1.6 km - InfoCoso (1 km) 12km E of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 2020 (UTC) (15 earthquakes)
Thu, 22 Oct 23:13 UTCM 0.7 / 4 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
22 Oct 12:50 pm (GMT -7) (22 Oct 19:50:57 UTC)M 0.8 / 9 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 15:56 UTCM 1.5 / 2.3 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 21km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 15:08 UTCM 1.1 / 5 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 15:02 UTCM 1.3 / 3.1 km - InfoCoso (16 km) 12km N of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 14:52 UTCM 0.7 / 2.6 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 21km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 14:02 UTCM 1.1 / 8 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 20km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
22 Oct 6:42 am (GMT -7) (22 Oct 13:42:09 UTC)M 1.8 / 2.1 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 21km ENE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 12:47 UTCM 0.7 / 4.7 km - InfoCoso (12 km) 12km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 04:02 UTCM 0.7 / 8.3 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 03:24 UTCM 0.2 / 11.1 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 02:17 UTCM 0.3 / 7.4 km - InfoCoso (17 km) 16km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 00:27 UTCM 0.9 / 7.2 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
21 Oct 5:23 pm (GMT -7) (22 Oct 00:23:59 UTC)M 1.0 / 2.4 km - InfoCoso (13 km) 23km ENE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Thu, 22 Oct 00:19 UTCM 1.6 / 1.1 km - InfoCoso (13 km) 24km ENE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 2020 (UTC) (17 earthquakes)
Wed, 21 Oct 22:34 UTCM 0.7 / 3.3 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 13km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 20:43 UTCM 0.2 / 4.5 km - InfoCoso (16 km) 22km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 14:18 UTCM 2.1 / 4.8 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA 1 report
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 14:05 UTCM 0.7 / 6.6 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 16km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 14:05 UTCM 0.3 / 7.4 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 15km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
21 Oct 6:35 am (GMT -7) (21 Oct 13:35:53 UTC)M 1.7 / 3.7 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 10km NNE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 13:01 UTCM 0.5 / 3.8 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 10km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 13:01 UTCM 0.8 / 4.2 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 10km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
21 Oct 4:41 am (GMT -7) (21 Oct 11:41:39 UTC)M 0.7 / 8.9 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 17km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 10:48 UTCM 0.6 / 3.8 km - InfoCoso (10 km) 9km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 10:37 UTCM 0.4 / 5 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
21 Oct 2:12 am (GMT -7) (21 Oct 09:12:12 UTC)M 0.5 / 5.1 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 06:54 UTCM 0.5 / 6.9 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 10km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 06:21 UTCM 0.1 / 7.4 km - InfoCoso (16 km) 16km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 10:54 pm (GMT -7) (21 Oct 05:54:45 UTC)M 0.4 / 5.8 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 05:04 UTCM 1.5 / 3.7 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 10km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Wed, 21 Oct 03:22 UTCM 0.8 / 2 km - InfoCoso (2 km) 13km E of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Tue, 20 Oct 2020 (UTC) (13 earthquakes)
Tue, 20 Oct 22:40 UTCM 0.8 / 1.7 km - InfoCoso (5 km) 16km NE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 9:19 am (GMT -7) (20 Oct 16:19:24 UTC)M 1.2 / 6.7 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 6:49 am (GMT -7) (20 Oct 13:49:45 UTC)M 0.9 / 2.5 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 4km WSW of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 3:16 am (GMT -7) (20 Oct 10:16:51 UTC)M 1.3 / 6.2 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 2:59 am (GMT -7) (20 Oct 09:59:45 UTC)M 0.7 / 8.1 km - InfoCoso (19 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
20 Oct 12:56 am (GMT -7) (20 Oct 07:56:07 UTC)M 0.9 / 5.1 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 11:56 pm (GMT -7) (20 Oct 06:56:54 UTC)M 1.5 / 2.1 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 4km NNE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Tue, 20 Oct 06:32 UTCM 0.1 / 5.6 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Tue, 20 Oct 05:12 UTCM 0.4 / 8.5 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 15km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 10:10 pm (GMT -7) (20 Oct 05:10:19 UTC)M 0.8 / 8.4 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 15km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Tue, 20 Oct 05:08 UTCM 1.1 / 7.7 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 15km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Tue, 20 Oct 00:58 UTCM 1.3 / 7.3 km - InfoCoso (25 km) 24km N of Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 5:05 pm (GMT -7) (20 Oct 00:05:29 UTC)M 1.0 / 2.5 km - InfoCoso (7 km) 10km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 2020 (UTC) (24 earthquakes)
Mon, 19 Oct 23:56 UTCM 0.6 / 4.1 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 23:54 UTCM 1.3 / 4.3 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 23:54 UTCM 0.9 / 4 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 1:24 pm (GMT -7) (19 Oct 20:24:09 UTC)M 0.7 / 2.8 km - InfoCoso (19 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 17:52 UTCM 0.7 / 9.9 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 9:24 am (GMT -7) (19 Oct 16:24:49 UTC)M 1.1 / 9.5 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 16:07 UTCM 0.9 / 1.8 km - InfoCoso (4 km) 15km NE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 7:43 am (GMT -7) (19 Oct 14:43:40 UTC)M 1.2 / 6.8 km - InfoCoso (19 km) 18km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 14:33 UTCM 0.5 / 11 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 14:32 UTCM 0.6 / 10.7 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 13:51 UTCM 0.3 / 7.7 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 13:28 UTCM 0.6 / 8 km - InfoCoso (28 km) 23km N of Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 5:08 am (GMT -7) (19 Oct 12:08:08 UTC)M 0.7 / 4.1 km - InfoCoso (19 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 11:51 UTCM 0.4 / 1.7 km - InfoCoso (4 km) 15km NE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 11:12 UTCM 0.5 / 7.9 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 10:53 UTCM 0.8 / 3.2 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 7km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 10:24 UTCM 0.5 / 6.7 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 2:57 am (GMT -7) (19 Oct 09:57:56 UTC)M 0.6 / 9.9 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
19 Oct 2:29 am (GMT -7) (19 Oct 09:29:11 UTC)M 0.5 / 9.7 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 03:20 UTCM 0.6 / 4 km - InfoCoso (14 km) 18km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 03:15 UTCM 0.4 / 4.3 km - InfoCoso (26 km) 24km WNW of Searles Valley, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 02:08 UTCM 1.1 / 1.2 km - InfoCoso (0 km) 12km E of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 01:29 UTCM 0.6 / 4.4 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Mon, 19 Oct 01:16 UTCM 0.7 / 1.7 km - InfoCoso (0 km) 12km E of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Sun, 18 Oct 2020 (UTC) (15 earthquakes)
18 Oct 4:13 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 23:13:56 UTC)M 0.4 / 5.4 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 23km WNW of Searles Valley, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Sun, 18 Oct 20:12 UTCM 0.2 / 8.1 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 17km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Sun, 18 Oct 20:05 UTCM 0.1 / 7.6 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 17km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Sun, 18 Oct 19:30 UTCM 0.3 / 1.6 km - InfoCoso (2 km) 12km NE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 11:25 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 18:25:19 UTC)M 0.5 / 10.5 km - InfoCoso (24 km) 24km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 10:26 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 17:26:10 UTC)M 1.2 / 8.6 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 16km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 9:41 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 16:41:28 UTC)M 1.3 / 1.9 km - InfoCoso (11 km) 13km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 3:03 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 10:03:43 UTC)M 0.1 / 2.7 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 1:48 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 08:48:37 UTC)M 1.2 / 2.7 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
18 Oct 12:13 am (GMT -7) (18 Oct 07:13:01 UTC)M 0.8 / 8.4 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 15km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 11:19 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 06:19:28 UTC)M 1.0 / 8.9 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 10:08 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 05:08:25 UTC)M 0.5 / 7.4 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 9:23 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 04:23:34 UTC)M 0.2 / 7.1 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 9:21 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 04:21:29 UTC)M 0.8 / 6.6 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 9:08 pm (GMT -7) (18 Oct 04:08:46 UTC)M 0.9 / 6.5 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 18km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 108 joules (98.6 kilowatt hours) [learn more]

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.