Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Sat, 6 Jul 2019, 19:29
The M7.1 earthquake has also triggered an earthquake swarm at the southern end of the volcanic field, with around 30 earthquakes per hour. read all
Tue, 11 Dec 2012, 06:48
Location of recent quakes in the Coso volcanic field (red=past 48 hours, yellow=past week)
The recent earthquake swarm at Coso Volcanic Field seems to be over. read all
 

Coso volcano

stratovolcano 2400 m / 7,874 ft, California, Canada and USA (mainland), 36.03°N / -117.82°W
Nearby recent earthquakes (within 30km radius):
Earthquake list: Saturday, 17 October 2020, magnitude -0.8 or higher (14 quakes)
Updated: Tue, 27 Oct 00:58 UTC (GMT)
Quake statistics | Latest | Yesterday
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Earthquake depth plot

Earthquake list

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocationMapSource
Sat, 17 Oct 2020 (UTC) (14 earthquakes)
17 Oct 4:57 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 23:57:41 UTC)M 0.6 / 8.3 km - InfoCoso (25 km) 23km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 4:07 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 23:07:31 UTC)M 0.6 / 4.3 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 10:54 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 17:54:35 UTC)M 0.3 / 10 km - InfoCoso (18 km) 19km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 9:43 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 16:43:44 UTC)M 0.9 / 5.6 km - InfoCoso (8 km) 6km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 6:45 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 13:45:32 UTC)M 1.0 / 3.2 km - InfoCoso (7 km) 10km ENE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 2:37 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 09:37:46 UTC)M 1.2 / 6.5 km - InfoCoso (22 km) 21km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 2:33 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 09:33:21 UTC)M 0.5 / 7.8 km - InfoCoso (15 km) 15km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
17 Oct 1:10 am (GMT -7) (17 Oct 08:10:45 UTC)M 0.9 / 1.6 km - InfoCoso (9 km) 10km NE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 11:33 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 06:33:18 UTC)M 0.5 / 6.4 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 11:16 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 06:16:48 UTC)M 1.0 / 9.1 km - InfoCoso (20 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 9:20 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 04:20:19 UTC)M 0.6 / 6.7 km - InfoCoso (19 km) 19km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 8:21 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 03:21:56 UTC)M 0.8 / 4.7 km - InfoCoso (17 km) 20km E of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 6:59 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 01:59:41 UTC)M 0.5 / 4.5 km - InfoCoso (21 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
16 Oct 5:22 pm (GMT -7) (17 Oct 00:22:31 UTC)M 1.1 / 7.4 km - InfoCoso (23 km) 22km ESE of Little Lake, CA, USA
Map
USGS
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 107 joules (4.82 kilowatt hours) [learn more]

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.