Coso

Schichtvulkan 2400 m / 7,874 ft
Kalifornien, Canada and USA (mainland), 36.03°N / -117.82°W
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)
Last update: 29 Feb 2020 (Strong earthquake swarm- no cause for concern)

The Coso volcanic field is located east of the Sierra Nevada Range at the western edge of the Basin and Range province, California. It consists of 38 old rhyolitic lava domes and basaltic cinder cones covering a 400 sq km area. volcano is located 200 km north of Los Angeles, California.
Eruptions in this area over the past 4 million years produced 35 km3 of lava, the youngest eruptions are probably from the basaltic Volcano Peak cinder cone and occurred more than 33,000 years ago.
Coso Geothermal System
There is geothermal activity in an ENE trending zone between Sugarloaf Mountain and the Coso Hot Springs. The Coso Hot Springs have fumaroles and intermittently active geysers. Fumaroles at Devils Kitchen and the adjacent Nicol area are located in an explosion crater surrounding a rhyolite lava dome.

Interaktive Karte zeigen
Typische Tätigkeit: Explosiv
Ausbrüche: none during the past 10,000 years

ZeitStärke / TiefeEntfernung / Lage
Mittwoch, 20. Oktober. 2021 01:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
19. Okt. 2021 18:15 (GMT -7) (20. Okt. 2021 01:15 GMT)
2.9

4.9 km
21 km (13 mi)
Inyo County, 68 km nördlich von Ridgecrest, Kern County, Kalifornien, USA
Montag, 18. Oktober. 2021 00:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
17. Okt. 2021 17:41 (GMT -7) (18. Okt. 2021 00:41 GMT)
2.5

4.6 km
20 km (12 mi)
16km ESE of Olancha, CA
Sonntag, 17. Oktober. 2021 21:41 GMT (2 Erdbeben)
17. Okt. 2021 14:41 (GMT -7) (17. Okt. 2021 21:41 GMT)
2.7

2.7 km
21 km (13 mi)
Inyo County, 68 km nördlich von Ridgecrest, Kern County, Kalifornien, USA
17. Okt. 2021 06:19 (GMT -7) (17. Okt. 2021 13:19 GMT)
4.0

3.2 km
21 km (13 mi)
Inyo County, 68 km nördlich von Ridgecrest, Kern County, Kalifornien, USA
Montag, 11. Oktober. 2021 23:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
11. Okt. 2021 16:14 (GMT -7) (11. Okt. 2021 23:14 GMT)
3.1

7.7 km
49 km (30 mi)
405 km südöstlich von Manteca, San Joaquin County, Kalifornien, USA

Beschreibung

The latest dated eruption formed the Volcano Peak basaltic cinder cone and lava flow and was Potassium-Argon dated at 39,000 +/- 33,000 years ago, but the youngest lava dome may even be younger than 11,000 years ago.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


Siehe auch: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mehr zeigen
App herunterladen
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS-Version

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Diese Webseite und die dazugehörigen Apps und Tools instandzuhalten und kostenlos Nachrichten zu Vulkanen, Erdbeben und anderen Themen bereitzustellen, verschlingt enorm viel Zeit und auch Geld.
Wenn Sie die Infos mögen und uns in der Arbeit dazu unterstützen wollen, würden wir uns über eine Spende (über PayPal oder mit Kreditkarte) sehr freuen.
Online Zahlung (Kreditkarte)
Damit können wir Ihnen auch in Zukunft neue Features entwickeln und Bestehende laufend verbessern.Vielen Dank!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.