Newsletter bestellen
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Garantierte Reisen
8.-16. Mai 2021: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht
News

Keine News in dieser Ansicht.

 

Mayor Island Vulkan

Shield volcano 355 m / 1,165 ft
New Zealand, -37.28°S / 176.25°E
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5) | Reports
Mayor Island Vulkan-Bücher
Typische Aktivität: unspecified
Ausbrüche des Mayor Island: 5060 BC ± 200 years
TimeMag. / TiefeDistanceLocation
Wed, 28 Oct 2020 (UTC)
28 Oct 10:18 pm (GMT +13) (28 Oct 09:18:35 UTC)M 2.4 / 189.1 km28 km25 Km NE of Tauranga, New Zealand
Sun, 4 Oct 2020 (UTC)
5 Oct 3:20 am (GMT +13) (4 Oct 14:20:54 UTC)M 2.1 / 174.1 km13 km35 Km N of Tauranga, New Zealand
4 Oct 9:07 pm (GMT +13) (4 Oct 08:07:00 UTC)M 1.9 / 184.7 km29 km24 Km NE of Tauranga, New Zealand
Mon, 21 Sep 2020 (UTC)
Mon, 21 Sep 20:33 UTCM 2.4 / 246.3 km28 km64 Km NE of Tauranga, New Zealand
Sun, 13 Sep 2020 (UTC)
Sun, 13 Sep 01:20 UTCM 2.2 / 209.4 km28 km56 km NE of Tauranga, New Zealand
Alle anzeigen

Beschreibung:

The small 4-km-wide Mayor Island, also known as Tuhua, in the Bay of Plenty is the emergent portion of a 15-km-wide compound peralkaline lava shield constructed between about 120,000 and 35,000 years ago. A 3-km-wide composite caldera was formed in two or three collapse events, the last of which took place about 6300 years ago, and was accompanied by a plinian eruption that produced tephra deposits up to 70 cm thick on mainland North Island. Post-caldera eruptions generated a series of lava domes and flows emplaced from NNE-trending vents within the caldera that have filled it to depths of at least 180 m. The latest eruption of Mayor Island has not been dated, but was considered by Houghton et al. (1992) to perhaps have occurred only 500-1000 years ago.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Letzte Satellitenbilder


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

 
Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.