Newsletter bestellen
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Garantierte Reisen
8.-16. Mai 2021: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht

Neuigkeiten:

Do, 22. Okt 2020, 07:54
GeoNet observatory reported that the activity at Crater Lake (Te Wai ā-moe) is often dominated by a heating-cooling cycle. In the most recent cycle, the lake temperature reached a high of 41°C in April and then cooled steadily to 12 °C by late September. Over the last two weeks, the lake has warmed slightly to 15 °C, which is a normal observation. ... alles lesen
Di, 11. Aug 2020, 08:58
Ruapehu volcano today (image: GeoNet)
GeoNet observatory reported that since April 2020, lake temperature has decreased from a high of 42°C to around 22-23 °C. This lower lake temperature is normal for Crater Lake. To keep the lake at this temperature, low-level heat must continue to flow into the lake. This indicates that the underlying vent area is open to volcanic gases and hydrothermal fluids. Other signs that point to this open vent are visible upwellings and sulphur slicks on the lake surface. ... alles lesen
 

Ruapehu Vulkan

Stratovolcano 2797 m / 9,176 ft
North Island, New Zealand, -39.28°S / 175.57°E
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)
Ruapehu Webcams / aktuelle Daten | Reports
Ruapehu Vulkan-Bücher | Tours
Last update: 22 Oct 2020 (gas flight observations; lake temperature is low)
Typische Aktivität: Mildly explosive, formation of lahars
Ausbrüche des Ruapehu: Ruhapehu volcano
TimeMag. / TiefeDistanceLocation
Wed, 28 Oct 2020 (UTC)
28 Oct 10:49 pm (GMT +13) (28 Oct 09:49:19 UTC)M 0.9 / 76.6 km9 km39 Km SW of Turangi, New Zealand
28 Oct 4:32 pm (GMT +13) (28 Oct 03:32:04 UTC)M 0.7 / 12.5 km26 km6 Km E of Waiouru, New Zealand
28 Oct 3:22 pm (GMT +13) (28 Oct 02:22:59 UTC)M 0.9 / 5 km28 km45 Km NW of Waiouru, New Zealand
Tue, 27 Oct 2020 (UTC)
27 Oct 10:13 pm (GMT +13) (27 Oct 09:13:22 UTC)M 0.9 / 13.5 km22 km49 Km S of Turangi, New Zealand
27 Oct 1:24 pm (GMT +13) (27 Oct 00:24:11 UTC)M 1.0 / 16.2 km23 km47 Km S of Turangi, New Zealand
Alle anzeigen
Ruapehu is one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes and forms the highest peak of the North Island. The andesitic stratovolcano has an age of around 200,000 years and contains a large summit crater containing a lake. Eruptions from the vent inside the lake often cause the lake to drain and form dangerous lahars.

Beschreibung:

Ruapehu is a complex volcanic edifice constructed over several cycles and has a NNE-SSW elongated shape. The cone is surrounded by a large plain formed by debris from flank collapse and lahar deposits.
A series of very explosive (Plinian) eruptions occurred at Ruapehu between about 22,600 and 10,000 years ago. Since then, only one vent has probably been active, Crater Lake in the summit region. Activity in historic time consisted of mild explosive phreatic and phreatomagmatic eruptions often accompanied by lahars threatening the popular ski area on the volcano as well as structures in the surrounding valleys.
An eruption on 24th December 1953 caused a catastrophic lahar that destroyed a rail bridge 42 km from the volcano, just as the Wellington-Auckland passenger train was crossing and fell into the valley, causing 151 fatalities.

Letzte Satellitenbilder


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

 
Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.