Taranaki

Schichtvulkan 2518 m / 8,261 ft
North Island, New Zealand, -39.3°S / 174.07°E
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)

Taranaki (Egmont) volcano is an isolated steep andesitic stratovolcano located in the SW part of the North Island of New Zealand. It is the second highest peak on the North Island and one of the most active volcanoes in New Zealand and has last erupted in 1854.

Interaktive Karte zeigen
Typische Tätigkeit: explosive
Ausbrüche: 1854, 1755 (?), 1655, 1500, 1480, 1400, 550 (?), 520, 40 BC, 1160 BC, 1250 BC, 1330 BC, 1350 BC, 2310 BC, 2450 BC, 2650 BC, 2750 BC, 3050 BC, 5020 BC, 6050 BC

ZeitStärke / TiefeEntfernung / Lage
Dienstag, 19. Oktober. 2021 10:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
19. Okt. 2021 23:55 (GMT +13) (19. Okt. 2021 10:55 GMT)
2.9

194 km
37 km (23 mi)
New Zealand
Mittwoch, 13. Oktober. 2021 19:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
14. Okt. 2021 08:43 (GMT +13) (13. Okt. 2021 19:43 GMT)
2.5

178 km
47 km (29 mi)
New Zealand
Dienstag, 12. Oktober. 2021 08:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
12. Okt. 2021 21:22 (GMT +13) (12. Okt. 2021 08:22 GMT)
3.3

52 km
47 km (29 mi)
3.3 NORTH ISLAND OF NEW ZEALAND
Montag, 11. Oktober. 2021 22:10 GMT (2 Erdbeben)
12. Okt. 2021 11:10 (GMT +13) (11. Okt. 2021 22:10 GMT)
2.7

227 km
49 km (30 mi)
New Zealand
11. Okt. 2021 20:11 (GMT +13) (11. Okt. 2021 07:11 GMT)
2.7

190 km
32 km (20 mi)
New Zealand

Beschreibung

Taranaki is surrounded by a ring plain of debris-avalanche and lahar deposits that and extend to the coast. The isolated Taranaki volcanic center is located on the west coast of central North Island at the southern end of a volcanic arc extending NW along the Northland Peninsula.
Taranaki is the youngest and SE-most of a group of three volcanoes beginning with the Pleistocene Kaitoke Range. Fanthams Peak breaks the symmetry of Taranaki on its south flank, and four lava domes are located on the lower north and south flanks. Multiple episodes of edifice collapse have occurred in the past 50,000 years. Explosive activity, sometimes accompanied by pyroclastic flows and lava dome growth, has occurred frequently throughout the Holocene.
(from: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information)

1655 AD Burrel Lapilli eruption
The largest known eruption of Taranaki in recent centuries was a major explosive (subplinian VEI 4) eruption around 1655. Following the extrusion of a small lava dome, the eruption culminated in an explosive phase that produced the so-called Burrell Lapilli covering over 200 square km of the North Island in pumice. The eruption is an example for the transition from effusive (lava dome formation) to explosive eruption style:

Siehe auch: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mehr zeigen
App herunterladen
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS-Version

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Diese Webseite und die dazugehörigen Apps und Tools instandzuhalten und kostenlos Nachrichten zu Vulkanen, Erdbeben und anderen Themen bereitzustellen, verschlingt enorm viel Zeit und auch Geld.
Wenn Sie die Infos mögen und uns in der Arbeit dazu unterstützen wollen, würden wir uns über eine Spende (über PayPal oder mit Kreditkarte) sehr freuen.
Online Zahlung (Kreditkarte)
Damit können wir Ihnen auch in Zukunft neue Features entwickeln und Bestehende laufend verbessern.Vielen Dank!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.