Doro Lambuwu volcano

Stratovolcano 1602 m / 5256 ft
Indonesia, -8.36°S / 118.5°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Doro Lambuwu volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 21:06 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 16, 2021 5:06 am (GMT +8) (Sep 15, 2021 21:06 GMT)
3.6

113 km
33 km (21 mi)
15 km southwest of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Sep 15, 2021 1:07 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 15, 2021 05:07 GMT)
3.2

189 km
26 km (16 mi)
Flores Sea, 44 km northwest of Bima, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Saturday, September 11, 2021 23:31 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 12, 2021 7:31 am (GMT +8) (Sep 11, 2021 23:31 GMT)
2.8

10 km
30 km (19 mi)
Flores Sea, 45 km north of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Sep 11, 2021 4:40 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 11, 2021 08:40 GMT)
3.7

114 km
23 km (14 mi)
8.1 km west of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Thursday, September 9, 2021 16:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 12:17 am (GMT +8) (Sep 9, 2021 16:17 GMT)
3.0

30 km
48 km (30 mi)
Flores Sea, 60 km north of Bima, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

Background

Doro Lambuwu (or Lambuwa) is a broad Quaternary volcanic zone west of Bima Bay with a caldera open to the NE (Ratman and Yasin 1978). IAVCEI (1973) lists a Doro Oromboha volcano in this area. The area, about 30 km across, was mapped by Garvin (2002, shown in Khant et al., 2013) as early Pleistocene. The Garvin (2002) map also identified volcanic features named Doro Matua and Doro Pokah, but clearly identifying specific peaks in this heavily eroded region is difficult.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.