Past earthquakes near Eagle Lake volcano: 2020

Updated Sep 22, 2021 03:01 GMT -
During 2020, Eagle Lake volcano had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 40 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.4 quake 32 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA, 2020-03-01 20:43:01 -08:00
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (44 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 14, 2020 09:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 14, 2020 09:44 GMT
1.2

6.2 km
45 km (28 mi)8.4 mi north of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 06:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 13, 2020 06:21 GMT
0.9

3.5 km
43 km (27 mi)9.6 mi north of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 15:51 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Dec 8, 2020 7:51 am (GMT -8) (Dec 8, 2020 15:51 GMT)
1.0

2.7 km
48 km (30 mi)3.2 mi southeast of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 8, 2020 7:32 am (GMT -8) (Dec 8, 2020 15:32 GMT)
1.0

3 km
48 km (30 mi)3.1 mi southeast of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 8, 2020 7:29 am (GMT -8) (Dec 8, 2020 15:29 GMT)
1.0

2.6 km
48 km (30 mi)3.2 mi southeast of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Dec 8, 2020 5:34 am (GMT -8) (Dec 8, 2020 13:34 GMT)
2.1

1.1 km
49 km (30 mi)Plumas County, 2 mi northwest of Lake Almanor Country Club, California, USA MoreMap
Saturday, December 5, 2020 14:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2020 14:33 GMT
1.3

7.2 km
50 km (31 mi)2 mi southwest of Lake Almanor Peninsula, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Thursday, December 3, 2020 06:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 3, 2020 06:21 GMT
1.0

9.4 km
49 km (30 mi)6.5 mi northwest of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Saturday, November 28, 2020 14:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 28, 2020 14:11 GMT
1.2

3.8 km
31 km (19 mi)33 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Friday, November 6, 2020 10:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 6, 2020 2:50 am (GMT -8) (Nov 6, 2020 10:50 GMT)
1.2

7.2 km
49 km (30 mi)11 miles NW of Chester, California MoreMap
Sunday, November 1, 2020 19:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 1, 2020 11:00 am (GMT -8) (Nov 1, 2020 19:00 GMT)
1.0

2.6 km
49 km (30 mi)2 miles NNW of Chester, California MoreMap
Sunday, October 25, 2020 11:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 25, 2020 11:35 GMT
1.0

14 km
45 km (28 mi)3.8 mi east of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Friday, October 23, 2020 19:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
23 Oct 12:16 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 23, 2020 19:16 GMT)
1.2

7.3 km
49 km (30 mi)3.2 mi southeast of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 01:37 GMT (2 earthquakes)
19 Oct 6:37 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 20, 2020 01:37 GMT)
2.0

10 km
50 km (31 mi)2.2 mi northwest of Lake Almanor Country Club, California, USA MoreMap
Oct 20, 2020 01:35 GMT
1.8

9.6 km
50 km (31 mi)2.2 mi northwest of Lake Almanor Country Club, California, USA MoreMap
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 06:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
13 Oct 11:00 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 14, 2020 06:00 GMT)
1.1

9.1 km
49 km (30 mi)0.3 mi northeast of Chester, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Thursday, September 10, 2020 02:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2020 02:17 GMT
1.3

8.4 km
4.6 km (2.9 mi)15 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Thursday, August 20, 2020 23:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 20, 2020 23:45 GMT
1.7

2.9 km
19 km (12 mi)5.7 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 03:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 18, 2020 03:46 GMT
1.5

3.7 km
41 km (25 mi)Lassen County, 3.8 mi northeast of Hamilton Branch, Plumas County, California, USA MoreMap
Monday, August 17, 2020 23:52 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 17, 2020 23:52 GMT
1.5

8.2 km
41 km (25 mi)1.3 mi south of Westwood, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2020 09:16 GMT
1.1

7 km
50 km (31 mi)5km NE of Almanor, CA (USA) MoreMap
Saturday, August 1, 2020 15:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 1, 2020 15:41 GMT
0.8

2.1 km
45 km (28 mi)28km ENE of Viola, CA (USA) MoreMap
Friday, July 17, 2020 23:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 17, 2020 23:44 GMT
0.9

13 km
34 km (21 mi)39km N of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Thursday, July 16, 2020 22:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 16, 2020 22:50 GMT
0.5

4.1 km
49 km (30 mi)20km NE of Mineral, CA (USA) MoreMap
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 01:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 1, 2020 01:42 GMT
1.3

8.5 km
50 km (31 mi)4km SW of Hamilton Branch, CA (USA) MoreMap
Saturday, June 27, 2020 19:58 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Jun 27, 2020 19:58 GMT
1.0

5.2 km
44 km (27 mi)14km NNW of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Jun 27, 2020 19:51 GMT
0.9

3.5 km
43 km (27 mi)14km NNW of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Jun 27, 2020 03:00 GMT
1.0

3.2 km
45 km (28 mi)16km NNW of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Jun 27, 2020 02:46 GMT
0.8

2.1 km
45 km (28 mi)16km NNW of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Friday, June 26, 2020 15:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jun 26, 2020 15:34 GMT
0.8

8.4 km
46 km (29 mi)12km NNW of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Friday, June 5, 2020 18:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jun 5, 2020 18:32 GMT
1.8

9.3 km
30 km (19 mi)7km SW of Susanville, CA MoreMap
Monday, June 1, 2020 17:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jun 1, 2020 17:44 GMT
1.6

8 km
17 km (10.6 mi)30km NNE of Hamilton Branch, CA (USA) MoreMap
Friday, May 22, 2020 09:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-05-22 01:09:46 -08:00 (May 22, 2020 09:09 GMT)
1.2

2 km
48 km (30 mi)4km ESE of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 09:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-14 01:40:37 -08:00 (Apr 14, 2020 09:40 GMT)
1.0
49 km (30 mi)8km SE of Chester, California (USA) MoreMap
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 21:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-08 13:54:05 -08:00 (Apr 8, 2020 21:54 GMT)
1.8

8.8 km
16 km (9.9 mi)20km WNW of Susanville, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 05:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-06 21:58:52 -08:00 (Apr 7, 2020 05:58 GMT)
0.8

9.2 km
36 km (22 mi)5km ENE of Westwood, California (USA) MoreMap
Thursday, March 19, 2020 10:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-03-19 02:27:53 -08:00 (Mar 19, 2020 10:27 GMT)
1.4

13 km
42 km (26 mi)4km NNE of Hamilton Branch, CA (USA) MoreMap
Monday, March 2, 2020 04:46 GMT (2 earthquakes)
2020-03-01 20:46:23 -08:00 (Mar 2, 2020 04:46 GMT)
2.2

9.6 km
20 km (12 mi)30 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
2020-03-01 20:43:01 -08:00 (Mar 2, 2020 04:43 GMT)
2.4

5.3 km
23 km (14 mi)32 mi northwest of Susanville, Lassen County, California, USA MoreMap
Thursday, January 30, 2020 08:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-30 00:38:59 -08:00 (Jan 30, 2020 08:38 GMT)
1.1

6.8 km
47 km (29 mi)4km WNW of Hamilton Branch, CA (USA) MoreMap
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 05:04 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-21 21:04:34 -08:00 (Jan 22, 2020 05:04 GMT)
1.5

10.8 km
46 km (29 mi)0km SSE of Hamilton Branch, CA (USA) MoreMap
Monday, January 20, 2020 04:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-19 20:56:04 -08:00 (Jan 20, 2020 04:56 GMT)
1.9
44 km (27 mi)8km E of Chester, California (USA) MoreMap
Friday, January 10, 2020 07:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-09 23:22:33 -08:00 (Jan 10, 2020 07:22 GMT)
0.7

1.7 km
45 km (28 mi)5km ENE of Chester, CA (USA) MoreMap
Thursday, January 9, 2020 09:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-09 01:26:23 -08:00 (Jan 9, 2020 09:26 GMT)
1.8

2.5 km
23 km (14 mi)28km NNE of Susanville, CA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.5 x 108 joules (237 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.204 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.