Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Earthquakes worldwide in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 10, 2022 08:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 173 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1296 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3402 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7909 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 15990 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, there were 3 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 10 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 173 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1296 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3402 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7909 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 15990 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.5 | South Pacific Ocean, 44 km W of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.3 | South Pacific Ocean, Tonga -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours143 quakes103 quakes M3+36 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,118 quakes790 quakes M3+287 quakes M4+38 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,884 quakes3,402 quakes M3+1,296 quakes M4+173 quakes M5+10 quakes M6+3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,560 quakes10,145 quakes M3+3,935 quakes M4+442 quakes M5+32 quakes M6+6 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,000 quakes46,500 quakes M3+15,624 quakes M4+1,735 quakes M5+128 quakes M6+13 quakes M7+
...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 5 or higher (186 out of 28783 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, December 10, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 10, 2022 07:25 GMT
Dec 10, 2022 4:25 am (GMT -3)
5.5

28 km
44 Km W of San Antonio, Chile
I FELT IT - 49 reports
More
Dec 10, 2022 06:41 GMT
Dec 10, 2022 3:41 am (GMT -3)
5.6

114 km
23 Km SSE of San Pedro De Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Friday, December 9, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 9, 2022 20:01 GMT
Dec 10, 2022 4:01 am (GMT +8)
5.6

74 km
2 Km NE of Pondaguitan, Philippines
I FELT IT - 49 reports
More
Dec 9, 2022 17:08 GMT
Dec 9, 2022 5:08 pm (GMT +0)
5.2

7 km
St. Helena: 151 Km ENE of Georgetown, Saint Helena
I FELT IT
More
Dec 9, 2022 06:32 GMT
Dec 9, 2022 2:32 pm (GMT +8)
5.8

10 km
Philippines: Philippine Islands Region
I FELT IT - 7 reports
More
Dec 9, 2022 04:49 GMT
Dec 9, 2022 2:49 am (GMT -2)
5.1

38 km
South Sandwich Islands Region
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, December 8, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Dec 8, 2022 23:18 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 6:18 pm (GMT -5)
5.0

10 km
Southern Peru
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Dec 8, 2022 14:45 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 3:45 am (GMT -11)
5.3

10 km
Pacific-Antarctic Ridge
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 12:44 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 10:44 am (GMT -2)
5.4

10 km
Northern Mid-Atlantic Ridge
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 8, 2022 10:06 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 11:06 pm (GMT +13)
5.6

17 km
Samoa: 123 Km NE of Hihifo, Tonga
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 06:42 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 9:42 am (GMT +3)
5.5

60 km
Azerbaijan: Caucasus Region, Russia
I FELT IT - 127 reports
More
Dec 8, 2022 04:58 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT +9)
5.0

55 km
172 Km W of Abepura, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 8, 2022 00:50 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 7:50 am (GMT +7)
5.8

124 km
Indonesia: Di Darat 22 Km Tenggara Kota Sukabumi
I FELT IT - 55 reports
More
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 7, 2022 20:18 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 7:18 am (GMT +11)
5.4

10 km
178 Km SE of Gizo, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 16:54 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 12:54 am (GMT +8)
5.1

31 km
Near Hsinchu, Taiwan, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Dec 7, 2022 06:53 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 3:53 pm (GMT +9)
5.0

30 km
214 Km E of Amahai, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 05:05 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT +8)
5.2

9 km
38 Km NNE of Sabang Indan, Philippines
I FELT IT - 126 reports
More
Dec 7, 2022 04:01 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 2:01 am (GMT -2)
5.0

10 km
South Sandwich Islands Region
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 6, 2022 13:29 GMT
Dec 6, 2022 4:29 am (GMT -9)
5.2

10 km
Canada: 211 Km W of Port Hardy, BC
I FELT IT - 7 reports
More
Dec 6, 2022 10:22 GMT
Dec 6, 2022 6:22 pm (GMT +8)
5.3

10 km
Indonesia: Di Laut 266 Km Barat Daya Jember
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Dec 6, 2022 09:34 GMT
Dec 6, 2022 2:34 pm (GMT +5)
5.5

10 km
French Southern Territories: Mid-Indian Ridge
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1016 joules (3737 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.2 x 106 tons of TNT or 201 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings