Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
9-22 Feb 2019: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-16 Jun 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
14-30 Jun 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.5 earthquake - Southern Molucca Sea on Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - Southern Molucca Sea on Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake  - Southern Molucca Sea on Wednesday, 4 February 2015
Feb 4 19:10: Magnitude recalculated from 5.1 to 5.2.
Date & time: Wed, 4 Feb 17:41:46 UTC
Magnitude: 5.2
Depth: 62.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 0.19°S / 125.08°E
Nearest volcano: Ambang (131 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 4 Feb
Wed, 4 Feb 17:41 UTCM 5.2 / 52 km MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 4 Feb 17:41 UTCM 5.2 / 48.5 km117km SE of Modayag, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 4 Feb 17:41 UTCM 5.2 / 68 kmSouthern Molucca Sea[Map]GeoAu

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 11 Feb
Wed, 11 Feb 15:56 UTCM 4.5 / 112 km - [info] (106 km)SULAWESI, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Feb
Sun, 15 Feb 06:29 UTCM 4.9 / 73 km - [info] (154 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 17 Feb
Tue, 17 Feb 02:15 UTCM 5.2 / 55 km - [info] (142 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 17 Feb 03:23 UTCM 4.6 / 52 km - [info] (130 km) MOLUCCA SEA
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 22 Feb
Sun, 22 Feb 22:39 UTCM 4.6 / 113 km - [info] (110 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sun, 1 Mar
Sun, 1 Mar 03:32 UTCM 5.4 / 94 km - [info] (87 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Gorontalo City (Indonesia) (165 km W from epicenter)(no details): the ground shaking in the city of Gorontalo,indonesia (via EMSC)
Mon, 2 Mar
Mon, 2 Mar 01:40 UTCM 5.0 / 91 km - [info] (87 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Tue, 10 Mar
Tue, 10 Mar 20:44 UTCM 4.9 / 64 km - [info] (114 km) MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Mar 23:05 UTCM 4.5 / 83 km - [info] (95 km)Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 13 Mar
Fri, 13 Mar 18:19 UTCM 4.7 / 66.6 km - [info] (76 km)79km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 15 Mar
Sun, 15 Mar 16:44 UTCM 4.3 / 51 km - [info] (194 km)SULAWESI, INDONESIA
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 21 Mar
Sat, 21 Mar 01:31 UTCM 4.8 / 85 km - [info] (170 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Mon, 23 Mar
Mon, 23 Mar 15:48 UTCM 5.2 / 72.6 km - [info] (50 km)53km SE of Tompasobaru, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 6 Apr
Mon, 6 Apr 16:09 UTCM 4.5 / 66 km - [info] (128 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 8 Apr
Wed, 8 Apr 14:54 UTCM 4.4 / 69.6 km - [info] (114 km)117km ESE of Modayag, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 9 Apr
Thu, 9 Apr 08:13 UTCM 4.9 / 53 km - [info] (126 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Mon, 13 Apr
Mon, 13 Apr 11:15 UTCM 4.7 / 149 km - [info] (136 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 24 Apr
Fri, 24 Apr 05:28 UTCM 5.1 / 70 km - [info] (102 km)Southern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
910,frances drive,nc (15428.9 km SSW from epicenter) / not felt
Sat, 2 May
Sat, 2 May 05:23 UTCM 4.6 / 85 km - [info] (84 km) MOLUCCA SEA
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 28 May
Thu, 28 May 17:12 UTCM 4.5 / 162 km - [info] (164 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sat, 13 Jun
Sat, 13 Jun 23:45 UTCM 4.8 / 66 km - [info] (104 km)Southern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 16 Jun
Tue, 16 Jun 03:41 UTCM 4.8 / 128 km - [info] (150 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Sat, 20 Jun
Sat, 20 Jun 06:20 UTCM 4.5 / 256 km - [info] (76 km)MINAHASA, SULAWESI, INDONESIA
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 29 Jun
Mon, 29 Jun 14:14 UTCM 4.4 / 218.6 km - [info] (73 km)- 10km SW of Molibagu, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 13 Jul
Mon, 13 Jul 19:22 UTCM 4.7 / 52 km - [info] (101 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Mon, 27 Jul
Mon, 27 Jul 08:52 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] (78 km)Southern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 6 Aug
Thu, 6 Aug 23:12 UTCM 4.7 / 62 km - [info] (124 km)Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 11 Aug
Tue, 11 Aug 10:34 UTCM 5.0 / 139 km - [info] (119 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 20 Aug
Thu, 20 Aug 11:00 UTCM 5.8 / 62 km - [info] (87 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 9 Sep
Wed, 9 Sep 18:48 UTCM 4.6 / 60 km - [info] (108 km)Southern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Sat, 12 Sep
Sat, 12 Sep 09:49 UTCM 5.1 / 76 km - [info] (89 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 13 Sep
Sun, 13 Sep 01:13 UTCM 5.7 / 148 km - [info] (115 km)MINAHASA, SULAWESI, INDONESIA
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 9 Oct
Fri, 9 Oct 16:28 UTCM 4.8 / 114 km - [info] (107 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Fri, 16 Oct
Fri, 16 Oct 03:44 UTCM 4.6 / 58.4 km - [info] (87 km)- 90km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Tue, 10 Nov
Tue, 10 Nov 08:58 UTCM 4.7 / 148 km - [info] (144 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sat, 21 Nov
Sat, 21 Nov 04:38 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (74 km) MOLUCCA SEA
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 2 Dec
Wed, 2 Dec 22:07 UTCM 4.5 / 157 km - [info] (162 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Wed, 2 Dec 22:07 UTCM 5.0 / 177 km - [info] (141 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 3 Dec
Thu, 3 Dec 10:27 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (88 km)Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 3 Dec 10:27 UTCM 5.0 / 64 km - [info] (109 km)Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 3 Dec 23:55 UTCM 4.6 / 135 km - [info] (121 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sun, 6 Dec
Sun, 6 Dec 10:23 UTCM 4.3 / 59 km - [info] (140 km)Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 30 Dec
Wed, 30 Dec 23:20 UTCM 4.4 / 152 km - [info] (105 km)Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: