Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - East of Kuril Islands on Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - East of Kuril Islands on Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake  - East of Kuril Islands on Wednesday, 14 October 2015
Oct 14 07:58: Magnitude recalculated from 5.9 to 6.0.
Date & time: Wed, 14 Oct 05:43:08 UTC
Magnitude: 6.0
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 48.89°N / 156.23°E (Russia)
Nearest volcano: Tao-Rusyr (129 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 14 Oct 2015
Wed, 14 Oct 05:43 UTCM 6.0 / 20 km千岛群岛[Map]CEIC

shake map
(shakemap: USGS)
"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 7 Jan 2016
Thu, 7 Jan 20:23 UTCM 5.2 / 71 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Jan 2016
Sat, 9 Jan 22:44 UTCM 4.6 / 64.8 km - [info]- 179km SSW of Severo-Kuril'sk, Russia[Map]USGS
Fri, 22 Jan 2016
Fri, 22 Jan 01:17 UTCM 3.9 / 120 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Jan 13:26 UTCM 4.7 / 86 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 27 Jan 2016
Wed, 27 Jan 18:36 UTCM 3.9 / 100 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Feb 2016
Mon, 1 Feb 05:06 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info] EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 Feb 2016
Sun, 7 Feb 20:58 UTCM 4.3 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Feb 2016
Thu, 18 Feb 09:55 UTCM 4.7 / 43 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 27 Feb 2016
Sat, 27 Feb 00:47 UTCM 4.3 / 60 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Feb 12:38 UTCM 4.5 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Apr 2016
Sun, 24 Apr 06:15 UTCM 4.0 / 100 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Apr 2016
Mon, 25 Apr 01:12 UTCM 4.5 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 May 2016
Mon, 2 May 03:26 UTCM 3.7 / 60 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 5 May 2016
Thu, 5 May 22:34 UTCM 4.7 / 61 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 May 2016
Fri, 20 May 03:01 UTCM 4.1 / 80 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Jun 2016
Wed, 15 Jun 22:21 UTCM 4.4 / 54 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Jun 2016
Thu, 16 Jun 05:30 UTCM 3.8 / 50 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Jul 2016
Fri, 8 Jul 10:51 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 3 Aug 2016
Wed, 3 Aug 05:33 UTCM 4.5 / 69 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Aug 2016
Sun, 14 Aug 21:11 UTCM 4.1 / 50 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Sep 2016
Sun, 4 Sep 15:40 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 15 Sep 2016
Thu, 15 Sep 04:22 UTCM 4.4 / 80 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 16 Sep 2016
Fri, 16 Sep 23:28 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 18 Sep 2016
Sun, 18 Sep 10:23 UTCM 3.8 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Oct 2016
Sun, 2 Oct 22:43 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: