Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - Tonga Islands on Monday, 25 January 2016

Moderate mag. 5.6 earthquake - Tonga Islands on Monday, 25 January 2016

Moderate mag. 5.6 earthquake  - Tonga Islands on Monday, 25 January 2016
Jan 25 00:16: Magnitude recalculated from 6.1 to 6.0.
Jan 25 08:04: Magnitude recalculated from 6.0 to 5.6.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 10.0 to 46.0 km.
Date & time: Mon, 25 Jan 00:00:10 UTC
Magnitude: 5.6
Depth: 46.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 19.42°S / 173.53°W (Tonga)
Nearest volcano: Late (154 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 25 Jan 2016
Mon, 25 Jan 00:00 UTCM 5.7 / 40 km TONGA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Jan 00:00 UTCM 5.7 / 40.1 km- 102km ENE of Pangai, Tonga[Map]USGS
Mon, 25 Jan 00:00 UTCM 5.8 / 2 kmTonga Islands[Map]GeoAu

shake map
(shakemap: USGS)
"I felt it" reports:
Fiji / MMI IX (Violent shaking)
Tanger (17874.8 km NNE from epicenter) [Map] / not felt (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 8 Feb 2016
Mon, 8 Feb 00:19 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 8 Feb 20:59 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 10 Feb 2016
Wed, 10 Feb 00:33 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info] TONGA REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 Feb 15:10 UTCM 5.2 / 61 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 29 Feb 2016
Mon, 29 Feb 21:33 UTCM 5.1 / 154 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 5 Mar 2016
Sat, 5 Mar 17:28 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 14 Mar 2016
Mon, 14 Mar 11:52 UTCM 4.7 / 135 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Mar 2016
Tue, 15 Mar 14:41 UTCM 5.0 / 227 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 7 May 2016
Sat, 7 May 04:29 UTCM 4.9 / 113 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 1 Jul 2016
Fri, 1 Jul 00:30 UTCM 4.5 / 138.3 km - [info]- 73km WSW of Neiafu, Tonga[Map]USGS
Wed, 6 Jul 2016
Wed, 6 Jul 06:08 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]- 53km E of Neiafu, Tonga[Map]USGS
Wed, 6 Jul 13:13 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Jul 2016
Wed, 20 Jul 03:47 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 27 Jul 2016
Wed, 27 Jul 00:02 UTCM 5.0 / 30 km - [info] TONGA REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 Aug 2016
Wed, 3 Aug 15:39 UTCM 5.0 / 84 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GeoAu
Mon, 8 Aug 2016
Mon, 8 Aug 02:23 UTCM 4.6 / 66 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Aug 2016
Tue, 23 Aug 09:02 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 2 Sep 2016
Fri, 2 Sep 11:23 UTCM 5.4 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 3 Sep 2016
Sat, 3 Sep 17:07 UTCM 4.6 / 77 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Sep 21:04 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Sep 2016
Mon, 5 Sep 11:03 UTCM 5.2 / 35 km - [info] TONGA REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Sep 2016
Fri, 23 Sep 13:49 UTCM 4.8 / 20 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 2 Nov 2016
Wed, 2 Nov 09:02 UTCM 4.9 / 20 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 4 Nov 2016
Fri, 4 Nov 01:32 UTCM 4.6 / 95 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Nov 2016
Tue, 8 Nov 02:33 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] TONGA REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Nov 2016
Wed, 16 Nov 00:30 UTCM 5.8 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 25 Nov 2016
Fri, 25 Nov 15:25 UTCM 4.8 / 200 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Nov 2016
Sun, 27 Nov 06:11 UTCM 5.1 / 122 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 8 Dec 2016
Thu, 8 Dec 05:13 UTCM 5.2 / 58 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GeoAu
Sun, 18 Dec 2016
Sun, 18 Dec 19:17 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: