Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in Alberta, Canada: past 30 days

Updated Jan 23, 2022 13:05 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Alberta was shaken by 8 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.7 quake Alberta, Canada, Dec 30, 2021 9:40 am (GMT -7)
Most recent quake: 1.7 quake Explosion - 4 Km SSW of Princeton, Canada, Jan 20, 2022 4:20 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (25 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 21, 2022 00:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 20, 2022 4:20 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 21, 2022 00:20 GMT)
1.7

0.5 km
Explosion - 4 Km SSW of Princeton, Canada MoreMap
Wednesday, January 19, 2022 22:10 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 19, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 19, 2022 22:10 GMT)
2.1

0.4 km
233 km northeast of Victoria, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Jan 19, 2022 2:14 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 19, 2022 21:14 GMT)
2.0
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Jan 19, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 19, 2022 20:40 GMT)
3.3
British Columbia, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 20:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 18, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 18, 2022 20:58 GMT)
2.8
British Columbia, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, January 13, 2022 20:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 13, 2022 1:06 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 13, 2022 20:06 GMT)
3.1
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Wednesday, January 12, 2022 22:33 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 12, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 12, 2022 22:33 GMT)
1.8
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Jan 12, 2022 1:04 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 12, 2022 20:04 GMT)
2.9
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Monday, January 10, 2022 20:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 10, 2022 1:00 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 10, 2022 20:00 GMT)
3.3
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sunday, January 9, 2022 22:22 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 9, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 9, 2022 22:22 GMT)
1.8

0.5 km
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Jan 9, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 9, 2022 22:22 GMT)
1.8

0.5 km
Explosion - 12 Km S of Princeton, Canada MoreMap
Jan 9, 2022 04:37 GMT
2.0

5 km
Canada: 28 Km NW of Dawson Creek, BC MoreMap
Thursday, January 6, 2022 23:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 6, 2022 4:21 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 6, 2022 23:21 GMT)
3.2
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Wednesday, January 5, 2022 20:34 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 5, 2022 1:34 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 5, 2022 20:34 GMT)
2.9
British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Jan 5, 2022 10:14 am (GMT -8) (Jan 5, 2022 18:14 GMT)
1.8

0.5 km
Explosion - 5 Km S of Princeton, Canada MoreMap
Tuesday, January 4, 2022 20:48 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 4, 2022 12:48 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 4, 2022 20:48 GMT)
2.0

0.4 km
Explosion - 7 Km SSE of Princeton, Canada MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.5 x 1010 joules (15.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 13.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel