Latest earthquakes in Algeria (past month)

Show quakes!
Updated 15 Jan 2021 18:58 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Algeria was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 46 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 74 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake 9.6 km southwest of Guelma, Algeria, 17 Dec 2020 10:17 am (GMT +1)
Biggest quake today: 2.1 quake Alboran Sea, 18 km north of Isla de Alboran Island, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain, 15 Jan 2021 4:51 am (GMT +1)
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquake list

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes past 30 days, magnitude 1.7 or higher (84 out of 132 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 4:51 am (GMT +1) (15 Jan 2021 03:51:04 GMT)
2.1

22 km
(322 km)Alboran Sea, 18 km north of Isla de Alboran Island, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 1:02 pm (GMT +1) (14 Jan 2021 12:02:53 GMT)
1.7

20 km
(280 km)STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR, Spain MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 12:40 pm (GMT +1) (14 Jan 2021 11:40:27 GMT)
1.9

1 km
(305 km)E SANLÚCAR DE BARRAMEDA.CA, Spain MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 12:52 am (GMT +1) (13 Jan 2021 23:52:17 GMT)
1.8

13 km
(252 km)STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR, Spain MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 4:11 pm (GMT +1) (13 Jan 2021 15:11:44 GMT)
2.0

19 km
(398 km)Alboran Sea, 6.7 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco 1 reportMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 9:21 am (GMT +1) (13 Jan 2021 08:21:16 GMT)
1.8

34 km
(241 km)STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR, Spain MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 7:30 am (GMT +1) (13 Jan 2021 06:30:44 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(371 km)Alboran Sea, 42 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
13 Jan 2021 12:36 am (GMT +1) (12 Jan 2021 23:36:00 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(171 km)4 km southeast of Zaghouan, Gouvernorat de Zaghouan, Tunisia MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 7:44 pm (GMT +0) (12 Jan 2021 19:44:44 GMT)
1.9

27 km
(452 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 20 km south of Portimão, Portimão Municipality, Faro, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 4:03 pm (GMT +0) (12 Jan 2021 16:03:08 GMT)
2.3

28 km
(397 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 71 km southeast of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 5:17 am (GMT +1) (12 Jan 2021 04:17:34 GMT)
1.7

6 km
(341 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 20 km southeast of Isla Cristina, Huelva, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 4:37 am (GMT +1) (12 Jan 2021 03:37:17 GMT)
2.2

19 km
(391 km)North Atlantic Ocean, Spain, 91 km southeast of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 1:06 am (GMT +1) (12 Jan 2021 00:06:50 GMT)
1.8

88 km
(280 km)Alboran Sea, 17 km southeast of Marbella, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT)
11 Jan 2021 6:18 am (GMT +1) (11 Jan 2021 05:18:39 GMT)
2.8

9 km
(467 km)Western Mediterranean, 7.3 km northeast of Île d’Arzew Island, Oran, Algeria
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 5:20 am (GMT +1) (11 Jan 2021 04:20:48 GMT)
3.0

20 km
(223 km)3.1 km east of Teba, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT)
10 Jan 2021 3:27 pm (GMT -1) (10 Jan 2021 16:27:32 GMT)
2.0

26 km
(438 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 56 km south of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 3:07 pm (GMT +1) (10 Jan 2021 14:07:17 GMT)
1.9

11 km
(264 km)Alboran Sea, 11 km south of El Ejido, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 3:05 pm (GMT +1) (10 Jan 2021 14:05:05 GMT)
2.1

4 km
(374 km)Alboran Sea, 35 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 6:44 am (GMT +1) (10 Jan 2021 05:44:02 GMT)
1.8

11 km
(283 km)Alboran Sea, 47 km southeast of Motril, Granada, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 2:29 pm (GMT +1) (9 Jan 2021 13:29:47 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(275 km)8.5 km west of Nijar, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain 3 reportsMoreMap
9 Jan 2021 5:39 am (GMT +1) (9 Jan 2021 04:39:43 GMT)
3.8
(589 km)Western Mediterranean, 29 km north of Tipasa, Tipaza, Algeria
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 12:58 am (GMT +1) (8 Jan 2021 23:58:21 GMT)
2.2
(259 km)10.3 km northeast of Las Cabezas de San Juan, Seville, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 11:41 pm (GMT +1) (8 Jan 2021 22:41:56 GMT)
2.3
(262 km)7.4 km northeast of Las Cabezas de San Juan, Seville, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 8:58 am (GMT +1) (8 Jan 2021 07:58:35 GMT)
2.5

12 km
(404 km)Alboran Sea, 15 km east of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 1:01 am (GMT -1) (8 Jan 2021 02:01:10 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(451 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 342 km southeast of Lisbon, Portugal MoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT)
7 Jan 2021 2:40 am (GMT -1) (7 Jan 2021 03:40:21 GMT)
2.9

21 km
(402 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 61 km southeast of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 1:08 am (GMT +1) (6 Jan 2021 00:08:17 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(394 km)Alboran Sea, 20 km northwest of Melilla, Spain 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 5 Jan 2021 (GMT)
5 Jan 2021 4:03 am (GMT +1) (5 Jan 2021 03:03:19 GMT)
2.1

9 km
(377 km)Alboran Sea, 32 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Mon, 4 Jan 2021 (GMT)
4 Jan 2021 9:49 am (GMT +1) (4 Jan 2021 08:49:08 GMT)
2.0

17 km
(346 km)Western Mediterranean, 92 km southeast of Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
4 Jan 2021 05:16:19 GMT
3.5

1 km
(589 km)Western Mediterranean, 10 km north of Île Agueli Island, Boumerdes, Algeria 39 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
3 Jan 2021 1:28 pm (GMT +1) (3 Jan 2021 12:28:43 GMT)
2.2

13 km
(383 km)Alboran Sea, 33 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 9:30 am (GMT +1) (3 Jan 2021 08:30:24 GMT)
2.0

19 km
(274 km)Alboran Sea, 28 km southwest of El Ejido, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 9:29 am (GMT +1) (3 Jan 2021 08:29:01 GMT)
2.0

19 km
(273 km)Alboran Sea, 21 km south of Adra, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 2:57 am (GMT -1) (3 Jan 2021 03:57:16 GMT)
2.5

25 km
(449 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 50 km southwest of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 3:23 am (GMT +0) (3 Jan 2021 03:23:07 GMT)
2.0

2 km
(453 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 9.7 km southeast of Lagos, Lagos Municipality, Faro, Portugal MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 1:42 am (GMT +1) (3 Jan 2021 00:42:55 GMT)
2.3

44 km
(288 km)15 km southwest of Ubrique, Cadiz, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 10:23 am (GMT -1) (1 Jan 2021 11:23:30 GMT)
2.6

22 km
(443 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 45 km southwest of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 11:23 am (GMT +0) (1 Jan 2021 11:23:30 GMT)
2.2

28 km
(442 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 38 km southwest of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
30 Dec 2020 9:45 pm (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 20:45:41 GMT)
2.3

18 km
(388 km)Alboran Sea, 32 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 7:01 pm (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 18:01:59 GMT)
3.2

8 km
(647 km)Aïn Defla, 7.8 km north of Médéa, Medea, Algeria 1 reportMoreMap
30 Dec 2020 10:55 am (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 09:55:10 GMT)
2.2

49 km
(259 km)5.2 km southwest of Alhaurin el Grande, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 4:34 am (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 03:34:13 GMT)
2.2

21 km
(381 km)Alboran Sea, 39 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 4:14 am (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 03:14:58 GMT)
3.0

58 km
(389 km)Alboran Sea, 29 km southeast of Martil, Tetouan, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 1:23 am (GMT +1) (30 Dec 2020 00:23:26 GMT)
2.5

70 km
(251 km)5.4 km west of Alhaurin de la Torre, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 12:00 pm (GMT +1) (28 Dec 2020 11:00:32 GMT)
3.2

7 km
(216 km)1.6 km southeast of Jayena, Granada, Andalusia, Spain 5 reportsMoreMap
28 Dec 2020 6:26 am (GMT +1) (28 Dec 2020 05:26:39 GMT)
2.8

68 km
(249 km)2.6 km southwest of Cartama, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT)
27 Dec 2020 7:49 pm (GMT +1) (27 Dec 2020 18:49:23 GMT)
2.5

3 km
(349 km)Alboran Sea, 57 km east of Martil, Tetouan, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
27 Dec 2020 12:23 pm (GMT +1) (27 Dec 2020 11:23:06 GMT)
3.0

6 km
(204 km)7.9 km northeast of Alhama de Granada, Andalusia, Spain 1 reportMoreMap
27 Dec 2020 11:34 am (GMT +1) (27 Dec 2020 10:34:13 GMT)
2.0

15 km
(259 km)Cadiz, 14 km east of Las Cabezas de San Juan, Seville, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT)
26 Dec 2020 3:04 pm (GMT +1) (26 Dec 2020 14:04:13 GMT)
2.7

74 km
(357 km)Alboran Sea, 70 km east of Tétouan, Tetouan, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 6:23 am (GMT -1) (26 Dec 2020 07:23:00 GMT)
1.9

7 km
(469 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 49 km south of Portimão, Portimão Municipality, Faro, Portugal MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 6:41 am (GMT +1) (26 Dec 2020 05:41:16 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(652 km)Tizi Ouzou, 9.5 km north of Chorfa, M'chedallah, Bouira, Algeria 3 reportsMoreMap
26 Dec 2020 3:47 am (GMT -1) (26 Dec 2020 04:47:54 GMT)
3.8

60 km
(406 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 59 km southeast of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT)
25 Dec 2020 3:27 pm (GMT +1) (25 Dec 2020 14:27:42 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(249 km)3 km northwest of Adra, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 (GMT)
24 Dec 2020 9:05 pm (GMT -1) (24 Dec 2020 22:05:31 GMT)
2.5

25 km
(426 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 39 km south of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
24 Dec 2020 3:45 pm (GMT +1) (24 Dec 2020 14:45:50 GMT)
1.9

72 km
(303 km)Alboran Sea, 53 km southeast of Fuengirola, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
24 Dec 2020 11:14 am (GMT +1) (24 Dec 2020 10:14:11 GMT)
1.8

9 km
(246 km)6.3 km north of Adra, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
24 Dec 2020 2:02 am (GMT +1) (24 Dec 2020 01:02:33 GMT)
2.1

20 km
(385 km)Alboran Sea, 33 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 (GMT)
23 Dec 2020 7:36 pm (GMT +1) (23 Dec 2020 18:36:52 GMT)
3.7

3 km
(668 km)23 km east of Berrouaghia, Medea, Algeria 4 reportsMoreMap
23 Dec 2020 1:44 pm (GMT +1) (23 Dec 2020 12:44:54 GMT)
2.0

22 km
(218 km)6.7 km south of Antequera, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 12:36 pm (GMT +1) (23 Dec 2020 11:36:00 GMT)
1.8

10 km
(215 km)3.3 km east of Jayena, Granada, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 (GMT)
23 Dec 2020 12:29 am (GMT +1) (22 Dec 2020 23:29:10 GMT)
2.1

92 km
(347 km)Alboran Sea, 76 km east of Tétouan, Tetouan, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 10:11 pm (GMT +1) (22 Dec 2020 21:11:59 GMT)
1.9

10 km
(360 km)Alboran Sea, 60 km northwest of Melilla, Spain MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 10:06 pm (GMT +1) (22 Dec 2020 21:06:31 GMT)
2.0

2 km
(371 km)Alboran Sea, 35 km north of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 10:05 am (GMT +1) (22 Dec 2020 09:05:44 GMT)
1.9

10 km
(243 km)9.2 km north of Adra, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 7:04 am (GMT +1) (22 Dec 2020 06:04:07 GMT)
2.5

28 km
(461 km)5.5 km northwest of El Malah, Aïn Témouchent, Algeria MoreMap
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 (GMT)
21 Dec 2020 12:51 pm (GMT +0) (21 Dec 2020 12:51:24 GMT)
1.9

34 km
(439 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 41 km southwest of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
21 Dec 2020 1:23 pm (GMT +1) (21 Dec 2020 12:23:19 GMT)
2.4

30 km
(379 km)Alboran Sea, 36 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Al-Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 (GMT)
20 Dec 2020 11:35 pm (GMT +1) (20 Dec 2020 22:35:59 GMT)
1.8

24 km
(299 km)Alboran Sea, 59 km south of Motril, Granada, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
20 Dec 2020 6:03 pm (GMT +1) (20 Dec 2020 17:03:54 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(729 km)34 km east of Kasba Tadla, Beni-Mellal, Béni Mellal-Khénifra, Morocco 6 reportsMoreMap
20 Dec 2020 1:12 pm (GMT +1) (20 Dec 2020 12:12:34 GMT)
1.8

16 km
(253 km)4 km northwest of Algodonales, Cadiz, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
20 Dec 2020 12:40 am (GMT -1) (20 Dec 2020 01:40:09 GMT)
1.9

35 km
(408 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 36 km southeast of Ilha da Barreta Island, Faro, Portugal MoreMap
20 Dec 2020 2:16 am (GMT +1) (20 Dec 2020 01:16:14 GMT)
1.9

11 km
(275 km)Alboran Sea, 32 km southwest of Adra, Almería, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 (GMT)
19 Dec 2020 10:56 pm (GMT +1) (19 Dec 2020 21:56:43 GMT)
1.8

64 km
(251 km)4.8 km south of Cartama, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 (GMT)
18 Dec 2020 8:39 pm (GMT -1) (18 Dec 2020 21:39:37 GMT)
2.8

9 km
(425 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km south of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
18 Dec 2020 6:53 am (GMT +1) (18 Dec 2020 05:53:43 GMT)
1.9

20 km
(239 km)3.8 km northwest of Olvera, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
18 Dec 2020 2:49 am (GMT +1) (18 Dec 2020 01:49:02 GMT)
2.0

10 km
(376 km)Alboran Sea, 33 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 (GMT)
17 Dec 2020 9:24 pm (GMT +0) (17 Dec 2020 21:24:14 GMT)
1.9

9 km
(372 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 52 km southeast of Olhão, Faro, Portugal MoreMap
17 Dec 2020 9:57 pm (GMT +1) (17 Dec 2020 20:57:58 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(422 km)Oriental, 18 km east of Imzouren (Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima), Morocco MoreMap
17 Dec 2020 10:17 am (GMT +1) (17 Dec 2020 09:17:33 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(430 km)9.6 km southwest of Guelma, Algeria 8 reportsMoreMap
17 Dec 2020 7:24 am (GMT -1) (17 Dec 2020 08:24:21 GMT)
1.9

8 km
(461 km)North Atlantic Ocean, 80 km south of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
17 Dec 2020 3:27 am (GMT +1) (17 Dec 2020 02:27:25 GMT)
2.1

10 km
(377 km)Alboran Sea, 34 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 (GMT)
17 Dec 2020 12:53 am (GMT +1) (16 Dec 2020 23:53:32 GMT)
1.9
(290 km)Alboran Sea, 60 km south of Vélez-Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
17 Dec 2020 12:23 am (GMT +1) (16 Dec 2020 23:23:24 GMT)
2.2

1 km
(210 km)2.9 km northwest of Arenas del Rey, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1011 joules (169 megawatt hours, equivalent to 145 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: