Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Botswana: past 7 days

Updated Oct 20, 2021 03:16 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Botswana was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.0 quake West Rand District Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa, Oct 17, 2021 1:25 am (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 2.2 quake Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa, Oct 19, 2021 6:10 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 04:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 19, 2021 6:10 am (GMT +2) (Oct 19, 2021 04:10 GMT)
2.2

10 km
1962 km (1219 mi)Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 20:48 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 10:48 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 18, 2021 20:48 GMT)
2.7

10 km
2093 km (1301 mi)Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality, North West, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 12:16 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 18, 2021 10:16 GMT)
2.3

10 km
1912 km (1188 mi)Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 23:25 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 1:25 am (GMT +2) (Oct 16, 2021 23:25 GMT)
3.0

10 km
2011 km (1250 mi)West Rand District Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 10:22 am (GMT +2) (Oct 16, 2021 08:22 GMT)
2.4

10 km
2020 km (1255 mi)West Rand District Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 16:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 6:22 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 15, 2021 16:22 GMT)
2.1

10 km
2016 km (1253 mi)West Rand District Municipality, Gauteng, South Africa MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 08:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 10:03 am (GMT +2) (Oct 14, 2021 08:03 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1968 km (1223 mi)Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 09:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 13, 2021 11:17 am (GMT +2) (Oct 13, 2021 09:17 GMT)
2.1

10 km
2097 km (1303 mi)Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality, North West, South Africa MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.4 x 109 joules (1.23 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.06 tons of TNT) More info
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.