Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near British Columbia, Canada: past 30 days

Updated Oct 19, 2021 14:16 GMT -
During the past 30 days, British Columbia was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 34 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 72 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 131 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, 233 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada, Sep 20, 2021 9:12 pm (GMT -9)
Most recent quake: 2.8 quake North Pacific Ocean, Canada, Oct 17, 2021 11:24 am (GMT -9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.6 or higher (65 out of 240 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 20:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 11:24 am (GMT -9) (Oct 17, 2021 20:24 GMT)
2.8

10 km
122 km (76 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:24 am (GMT -7) (Oct 17, 2021 08:24 GMT)
2.7

1 km
37 km (23 mi)Canada: 73 Km E of Williams Lake, BC
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 12:28 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 12:28 GMT
3.3

10 km
204 km (127 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 11:01 GMT
4.0

10 km
205 km (127 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 06:26 GMT
3.1

10 km
105 km (65 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 17:30 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 8:30 am (GMT -9) (Oct 15, 2021 17:30 GMT)
3.3

10 km
244 km (152 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 5:20 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 12:20 GMT)
3.3

21 km
199 km (124 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:43 am (GMT -7) (Oct 15, 2021 10:43 GMT)
2.7

20 km
233 km (145 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 8:22 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 15, 2021 04:22 GMT)
2.6

10.1 km
175 km (109 mi)58 Km NNW of Yakutat, Alaska MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 17:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 8:53 am (GMT -9) (Oct 14, 2021 17:53 GMT)
3.7

10 km
106 km (66 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 19:35 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 12, 2021 10:35 am (GMT -9) (Oct 12, 2021 19:35 GMT)
3.7

10 km
108 km (67 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 18:25 GMT
3.6

10 km
107 km (66 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 15:51 GMT
3.5

10 km
110 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 5:56 am (GMT -9) (Oct 12, 2021 14:56 GMT)
4.1

10 km
157 km (98 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 04:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 10, 2021 04:31 GMT
3.0

10 km
199 km (124 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 05:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 9, 2021 05:02 GMT
3.3

10 km
105 km (65 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 09:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 09:24 GMT
3.3

4 km
272 km (169 mi)Canada: 73 Km NE of Grande Cache, AB MoreMap
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 21:48 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 6, 2021 21:48 GMT
2.7

2 km
245 km (152 mi)Canada: 74 Km N of Necoslie (Fort St. James), BC MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 19:16 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 5, 2021 1:16 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2021 19:16 GMT)
3.9

2 km
277 km (172 mi)77 km south of Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada 4 reportsMoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 12:15 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2021 19:15 GMT)
?

n/a
106 km (66 mi)7.5 km west of Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed) 6 reportsMoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 9:45 am (GMT -9) (Oct 5, 2021 18:45 GMT)
3.3

10 km
107 km (66 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 215 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 23:18 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 4, 2021 3:18 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2021 23:18 GMT)
2.7

0.1 km
212 km (132 mi)Alaska, USA, 155 mi southwest of Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 3:27 am (GMT -9) (Oct 4, 2021 12:27 GMT)
2.9

10 km
163 km (101 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 152 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 03:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 2, 2021 7:56 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 3, 2021 03:56 GMT)
3.1

5 km
134 km (83 mi)Coastal Waters Of Southeast Alaska And British Columbia, 47 mi southeast of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 23:19 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2021 2:19 pm (GMT -9) (Oct 2, 2021 23:19 GMT)
3.8

10 km
147 km (91 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 290 km west of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 19:47 GMT
3.7

10 km
116 km (72 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 236 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 10:42 GMT
2.9

10 km
313 km (194 mi)4.6 km north of Edson, Division No. 14, Alberta, Canada MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 05:16 GMT
2.9

3 km
211 km (131 mi)Alaska, USA, 155 mi southwest of Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 19:07 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2021 19:07 GMT)
?

n/a
145 km (90 mi)Coastal Waters Of Southeast Alaska And British Columbia, 23 km southwest of Langford, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed) 24 reportsMoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 6:37 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 30, 2021 03:37 GMT)
3.7

10 km
243 km (151 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 299 km west of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 22:31 GMT (11 earthquakes)
Sep 29, 2021 3:31 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2021 22:31 GMT)
3.0

24 km
218 km (135 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2021 19:07 GMT)
2.8

4.4 km
86 km (53 mi)British Columbia, 38 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 7:20 am (GMT -8) (Sep 29, 2021 15:20 GMT)
3.0

5 km
97 km (60 mi)British Columbia, Canada, 49 km east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 15:09 GMT
2.8

5 km
98 km (61 mi)British Columbia, 31 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 12:54 GMT
3.0

1 km
95 km (59 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 34 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 2:37 am (GMT -8) (Sep 29, 2021 10:37 GMT)
2.8

7.7 km
95 km (59 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 40 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 09:13 GMT
2.6

5 km
101 km (63 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 30 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 9:04 pm (GMT -8) (Sep 29, 2021 05:04 GMT)
2.9

5 km
96 km (60 mi)British Columbia, Canada, 52 km east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 7:58 pm (GMT -8) (Sep 29, 2021 03:58 GMT)
2.7

5 km
96 km (60 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 33 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 7:43 pm (GMT -8) (Sep 29, 2021 03:43 GMT)
3.6

5 km
100 km (62 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 31 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 03:14 GMT
3.3

1 km
98 km (61 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 32 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 21:37 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 1:37 pm (GMT -8) (Sep 28, 2021 21:37 GMT)
2.7

7.3 km
96 km (60 mi)British Columbia, Canada, 52 km east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 11:19 am (GMT -8) (Sep 28, 2021 19:19 GMT)
2.6

1 km
105 km (65 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 29 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 9:12 am (GMT -8) (Sep 28, 2021 17:12 GMT)
3.3

5.4 km
105 km (65 mi)British Columbia, Canada, 51 km east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 6:04 am (GMT -8) (Sep 28, 2021 14:04 GMT)
2.7

3.6 km
118 km (73 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 27 mi southeast of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 7:04 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2021 14:04 GMT)
3.6

1 km
67 km (42 mi)British Columbia, 50 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 1:56 am (GMT -9) (Sep 28, 2021 10:56 GMT)
3.5

10 km
240 km (149 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 282 km west of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 12:15 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2021 07:15 GMT)
?

n/a
81 km (50 mi)12 km northwest of Surrey, Metro Vancouver Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed) 4 reportsMoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 19:34 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 27, 2021 1:34 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2021 19:34 GMT)
3.4

1 km
384 km (239 mi)British Columbia, 88 km southwest of Canmore, Alberta, Canada MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 3:33 am (GMT -9) (Sep 27, 2021 12:33 GMT)
3.6

10 km
78 km (48 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 241 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sunday, September 26, 2021 00:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 25, 2021 5:56 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2021 00:56 GMT)
?

n/a
122 km (76 mi)3.8 km northwest of Victoria, Capital Regional District, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 19:30 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 19:30 GMT
2.9

23 km
238 km (148 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 213 km southwest of Prince Rupert, Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 11:17 GMT
3.5

10 km
129 km (80 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 269 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 06:07 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 23, 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 24, 2021 06:07 GMT)
2.7

10 km
105 km (65 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 227 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 20:26 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 11:26 am (GMT -9) (Sep 23, 2021 20:26 GMT)
3.1

10 km
230 km (143 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 1:15 am (GMT -8) (Sep 23, 2021 09:15 GMT)
2.6

10 km
99 km (62 mi)Juneau Borough Parish, 33 mi east of Juneau, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 21:40 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 12:40 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 22, 2021 21:40 GMT)
2.6

10 km
177 km (110 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Canada MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 11:16 am (GMT -8) (Sep 22, 2021 19:16 GMT)
2.6

9 km
209 km (130 mi)83 Km NW of Elfin Cove, Alaska MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 17:11 GMT
3.2

29 km
230 km (143 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 43 km west of Tofino, Regional District of Alberni-Clayoquot, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 8:23 am (GMT -8) (Sep 22, 2021 16:23 GMT)
2.6

23 km
229 km (142 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km west of Tofino, Regional District of Alberni-Clayoquot, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 8:13 am (GMT -8) (Sep 22, 2021 16:13 GMT)
3.6

19 km
224 km (139 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 50 km west of Tofino, Regional District of Alberni-Clayoquot, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 07:12 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 20, 2021 10:12 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 21, 2021 07:12 GMT)
3.5

10 km
95 km (59 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 238 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 20, 2021 9:12 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 21, 2021 06:12 GMT)
4.2

10 km
140 km (87 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 233 km southwest of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 05:55 GMT
3.2

10 km
219 km (136 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 215 km west of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 05:04 GMT
3.1

10 km
203 km (126 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 220 km west of Vernon, Regional District of Mount Waddington, British Columbia, Canada MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.7 x 1011 joules (186 megawatt hours, equivalent to 160 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.