Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near California, USA, in the past 48 hours on Saturday, October 1, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 1, 2022 08:49 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 273 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, California had 1 quake of magnitude 3.4 and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 273 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.5 | 3km WNW of Lake Pillsbury, CA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.4 | 24 mi SW of Indian Wells, Riverside County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours67 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days414 quakes | 51 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days1,832 quakes | 258 quakes M2+ | 28 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days5,293 quakes | 745 quakes M2+ | 97 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days21,941 quakes | 3,183 quakes M2+ | 440 quakes M3+ | 41 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.4 or higher (68 out of 286 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, October 1, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Oct 1, 2022 1:31 am (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 08:31 GMT)
1.5

2.9 km
3km WNW of Lake Pillsbury, CA More
Oct 1, 2022 12:55 am (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 07:55 GMT)
?

n/a
0.3 mi northwest of Arcata, Humboldt County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 1, 2022 12:49 am (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 07:49 GMT)
?

n/a
2.9 mi southwest of Torrance, Los Angeles County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 1, 2022 12:14 am (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 07:14 GMT)
2.7

1.9 km
45 mi east of Redding, Shasta County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 30, 2022 11:03 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 06:03 GMT)
2.0

2.4 km
22km ENE of San Ardo, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 9:48 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 04:48 GMT)
1.6

7.9 km
14km NNW of Chester, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 9:41 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 04:41 GMT)
2.3

8.2 km
8.9 mi southeast of Dixon Lane-Meadow Creek, Inyo County, California, USA More
Sep 30, 2022 9:17 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 04:17 GMT)
2.0

6.6 km
14km SW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 8:12 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 03:12 GMT)
1.8

8.7 km
8km NE of Brooktrails, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 7:25 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 02:25 GMT)
1.7

7.5 km
12km SE of Pinnacles, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 6:20 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 01:20 GMT)
1.6

0.5 km
9km ESE of Hidden Valley Lake, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 5:42 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 1, 2022 00:42 GMT)
1.7

10.5 km
13km NNW of Grapevine, CA More
Friday, September 30, 2022 GMT (29 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 3:35 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 22:35 GMT)
1.8

7.7 km
24km NE of Alum Rock, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 3:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 22:05 GMT)
1.4

19 km
5km SE of Loma Linda, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:40 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:40 GMT)
1.8

0.4 km
Quarry Blast - 5km ENE of Bonadelle Ranchos-Madera Ranchos, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:40 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:40 GMT)
1.8

0.4 km
14 mi northwest of Clovis, Fresno County, California, USA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:36 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:36 GMT)
1.4

14 km
Central California More
Sep 30, 2022 12:36 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:36 GMT)
1.4

14 km
25km NE of Shaver Lake, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:05 GMT)
1.4

1 km
Quarry Blast - 13km SE of Tehachapi, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:05 GMT)
1.4

1 km
Quarry Blast - 13km SE of Tehachapi, CA More
Sep 30, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2022 19:05 GMT)
1.4

1 km
Central California More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1010 joules (2.9 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Mammoth (MLAC/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Mammoth: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

California Earthquake FAQ

How many quakes occur in California every day?

California has about 10-15 quakes every day. Most of them are too small to be felt by humans, although there is usually one or two that are.
Typically there are 1-2 quakes of magnitudes greater than 3 every day. Quakes of magnitude 4+ occur about once every 5 days on average.
Magnitude 5+ events are about once every 2 months, and strong quakes from magnitude 6+ occur on average once every 4-5 months.

Why does California have so many quakes?

California is located near the boundary between the Pacific and North American tectonic plates. In the area of California, it is called a transform boundary, because the movement of the two plates is mostly a side-wise sliding alongside each other. The Pacific Plate is moving northwest relative to the North American plate, at a rate of approx. 33-37 millimeters (1.3-1.5 in) per year on average.
This creates a complex system of very active fault systems, the most prominent being the San Andreas Fault, which runs for roughly 750 mi (1,200 km) through California. However, there are also many other faults including some found directly underneath the State's major cities including L.A. and San Francisco.

When was the latest earthquake in California?

The last earthquake in California occurred 17 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 3km WNW of Lake Pillsbury, CA, on Saturday, Oct 1, 2022 at 1:31 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in California in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, California, USA had 68 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in California in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in California in the past 48 hours occurred 21 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - 24 mi southwest of Indian Wells, Riverside County, California, USA, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 4:50 am (GMT -7).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings