Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Past earthquakes in California, USA: 2020 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 19:39 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in 2020:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 101 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 903 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6794 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 64561 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In 2020, California was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 6.5, 101 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 903 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6794 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 64561 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.5 | 36 mi W of Tonopah, Nye County, Nevada, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (496 out of 72360 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 31, 2020 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 31, 2020 17:59 GMT
2.1

1 km
Explosion - 5 Km ENE of Medford, Oregon, USA 3 reportsMore
Dec 31, 2020 5:41 am (GMT -8) (Dec 31, 2020 13:41 GMT)
3.3

13 km
7km S of Muir Beach, CA, USA 767 reportsMore
Dec 31, 2020 1:44 am (GMT -8) (Dec 31, 2020 09:44 GMT)
2.6

4.7 km
SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA, CALIF., USA 32 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2020 8:22 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 31, 2020 04:22 GMT)
3.6

2.1 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA, USA 10 reportsMore
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 30, 2020 12:30 am (GMT -8) (Dec 30, 2020 08:30 GMT)
3.2

6.4 km
10km NW of Pinnacles, CA, USA 5 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2020 8:26 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 30, 2020 04:26 GMT)
2.8

5.6 km
2km S of Los Altos Hills, CA, USA 40 reportsMore
Monday, December 28, 2020 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 28, 2020 6:34 am (GMT -8) (Dec 28, 2020 14:34 GMT)
4.0

17 km
20 Km Al NORTE De GPE VICTORIA(KM.43), BC, Mexico 1 reportMore
Sunday, December 27, 2020 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 27, 2020 11:05 am (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 19:05 GMT)
3.2

3.6 km
4km W of San Juan Bautista, CA, USA 3 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2020 6:44 am (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 14:44 GMT)
3.8

26 km
15km E of Willows, CA, USA 171 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2020 6:06 am (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 14:06 GMT)
2.2

5.4 km
10km ESE of Willits, CA, USA 6 reportsMore
Dec 26, 2020 8:05 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 27, 2020 04:05 GMT)
3.5

0.1 km
22km ESE of Bodfish, CA, USA 7 reportsMore
Saturday, December 26, 2020 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 26, 2020 2:07 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2020 22:07 GMT)
2.7

6.7 km
2km W of Bay Point, CA, USA 7 reportsMore
Dec 25, 2020 9:54 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 26, 2020 05:54 GMT)
2.9

1.8 km
7km SSE of Truckee, CA, USA 4 reportsMore
Friday, December 25, 2020 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2020 12:25 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 25, 2020 20:25 GMT)
3.6

4.9 km
23km ENE of Thermal, CA, USA 7 reportsMore
Dec 25, 2020 8:42 am (GMT -8) (Dec 25, 2020 16:42 GMT)
2.9

7.9 km
3km SSE of Placentia, CA, USA 23 reportsMore
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 23, 2020 3:00 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 23, 2020 23:00 GMT)
3.8

5.8 km
26 Km WSW of Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA More
Dec 23, 2020 2:22 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 23, 2020 22:22 GMT)
3.6

19 km
25 Km Al NOROESTE De GPE VICTORIA(KM.43), BC, Mexico 1 reportMore
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 GMT (3 quakes)
2020-12-22 15:37:57 (Hora de México) (Dec 22, 2020 21:37 GMT)
3.7

15 km
23 Km Al NOROESTE De GPE VICTORIA(KM.43), BC, Mexico More
2020-12-22 03:20:11 (Hora de México) (Dec 22, 2020 09:20 GMT)
3.7

10 km
19 Km Al NOROESTE De GPE VICTORIA(KM.43), BC, Mexico More
Dec 21, 2020 4:30 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 22, 2020 00:30 GMT)
4.0

15 km
19km W of Delta, B.C., MX, Mexico 16 reportsMore
Monday, December 21, 2020 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 21, 2020 7:41 am (GMT -8) (Dec 21, 2020 15:41 GMT)
2.5

5.2 km
1km SSE of Rollingwood, CA, USA 4 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 1014 joules (141 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.2 x 105 tons of TNT or 7.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings