Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Past earthquakes in California, USA: Sep 21, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 5, 2022 21:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Wednesday, September 21st, 2022:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 132 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Wednesday, September 21st, 2022, California had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 132 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.7 | North Pacific Ocean, 25 mi SW of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (146 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 GMT (146 quakes)
Sep 21, 2022 4:34 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 23:34 GMT)
2.3

2.4 km
5km ENE of East Quincy, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 4:33 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 23:33 GMT)
1.1

11 km
13km N of Borrego Springs, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 4:04 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 23:04 GMT)
1.1

10.4 km
16km NW of Parkfield, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 3:44 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 22:44 GMT)
0.2

14 km
9 Km WNW of Loyalton, California More
Sep 21, 2022 3:44 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 22:44 GMT)
0.2

14 km
Northern California More
Sep 21, 2022 3:10 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 22:10 GMT)
1.8

10 km
5km NNE of Shasta, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 3:09 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 22:09 GMT)
0.2

14 km
17 Km NNW of Sutcliffe, Nevada More
Sep 21, 2022 1:20 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 20:20 GMT)
0.3

2 km
1km NE of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 1:07 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 20:07 GMT)
0.7

1 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:59 GMT)
1.8

6.9 km
10km SW of Frazier Park, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:59 GMT)
1.8

7.5 km
10km SW of Frazier Park, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:49 GMT)
3.5

14 km
22 km southeast of Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico 1 reportMore
Sep 21, 2022 12:44 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:44 GMT)
0.9

1.4 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:41 GMT)
1.3
6km ESE of Santa Venetia, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:41 GMT)
1.5

1.4 km
6km ESE of Santa Venetia, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:06 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:06 GMT)
2.3

26 km
17km W of Petrolia, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 11:56 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 18:56 GMT)
1.9

5.5 km
4km S of Mentone, CA 1 reportMore
Sep 21, 2022 11:47 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 18:47 GMT)
1.6

0.4 km
4km SSE of Home Gardens, CA 1 reportMore
Sep 21, 2022 11:37 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 18:37 GMT)
0.7
2 Km NNE of Carter Springs, Nevada More
Sep 21, 2022 11:29 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 18:29 GMT)
1.2

4.8 km
4km ESE of Sonoma, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 11:18 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 18:18 GMT)
1.0

5.5 km
18km SSE of Porterville, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1010 joules (10.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings