Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Past earthquakes in California, USA: Sep 24, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 5, 2022 20:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Saturday, September 24th, 2022:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 114 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Saturday, September 24th, 2022, California was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.8, 1 quake of magnitude 3.7, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 114 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 45 mi SW of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (122 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, September 24, 2022 GMT (122 quakes)
Sep 24, 2022 4:33 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 23:33 GMT)
1.7

5.8 km
11km WNW of Chester, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 4:14 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 23:14 GMT)
1.1

17 km
3km W of Rialto, CA 1 reportMore
Sep 24, 2022 4:08 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 23:08 GMT)
0.1

1.8 km
2km ENE of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 3:56 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 22:56 GMT)
0.8

7.9 km
California-Nevada Border Region More
Sep 24, 2022 3:45 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 22:45 GMT)
1.3

9 km
Nevada More
Sep 24, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 22:29 GMT)
?

n/a
23 mi northwest of Santa Barbara, California, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMore
Sep 24, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 22:29 GMT)
1.0

6 km
3km WNW of Los Altos Hills, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 3:06 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 22:06 GMT)
0.8

10.7 km
17km SW of Oasis, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 2:39 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:39 GMT)
1.2

6.9 km
7km SSE of Yucca Valley, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 2:32 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:32 GMT)
1.8

2.2 km
5km WNW of Bombay Beach, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:22 GMT)
0.9

7.8 km
10km NE of San Martin, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:22 GMT)
0.9

7.8 km
Central California More
Sep 24, 2022 2:08 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:08 GMT)
0.4

1.1 km
4km NNW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 2:08 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 21:08 GMT)
0.4

10 km
Northern California More
Sep 24, 2022 1:51 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 20:51 GMT)
3.7

29 km
Baja California, 47 km southwest of San Luis Rio Colorado, Sonora, Mexico More
Sep 24, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 20:40 GMT)
0.8

3.5 km
4km NNW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 20:24 GMT)
0.6

2.6 km
13km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 1:15 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 20:15 GMT)
1.7

2.5 km
8km ENE of Ocotillo Wells, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 12:57 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 19:57 GMT)
1.2

1.8 km
4km NE of Pinnacles, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 12:55 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 19:55 GMT)
0.7

14 km
8km ENE of Anza, CA More
Sep 24, 2022 12:53 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2022 19:53 GMT)
0.9

1.6 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1012 joules (284 megawatt hours, equivalent to 245 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings