Latest earthquakes in or near Chile today, past 24 hours, Thursday, 25 Feb 2021

Updated 25 Feb 2021 11:14 GMT -
During the past 24 hours, Chile was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake today: 4.5 quake Chile-Bolivia Border Region 24 Feb 2021 8:57 am (GMT -4)
Most recent quake: 3.2 quake South Pacific Ocean, 155 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile, 25 Feb 2021 5:13 am (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (15 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 5:13 am (GMT -5) (25 Feb 2021 10:13:37 GMT)
3.2

24 km
(259 km)South Pacific Ocean, 155 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 6:22 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 09:22:02 GMT)
3.1

209 km
(36 km)244 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 4:46 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 07:46:22 GMT)
3.1

104 km
(74 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 141 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 3:33 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 06:33:53 GMT)
2.5

44 km
(375 km)South Pacific Ocean, 67 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 2:50 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 05:50:42 GMT)
3.2

224 km
(73 km)Departamento de Susques, 159 km west of San Salvador de Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:45 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 03:45:34 GMT)
3.4

68 km
(128 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 102 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:25 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 03:25:23 GMT)
3.7

71 km
Puesto Cortaderas (24 km)Departamento de Pehuenches, 203 km northwest of Neuquén, Departamento de Confluencia, Neuquen, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:14 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 03:14:39 GMT)
2.7

24 km
(172 km)South Pacific Ocean, 24 km northwest of Talcahuano, Provincia de Concepcion, Region del Biobio, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:56 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 02:56:39 GMT)
2.5

38 km
(182 km)South Pacific Ocean, 54 km southwest of San Antonio, Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:51 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 02:51:30 GMT)
3.6

24 km
(187 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km southwest of San Antonio, Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:43 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 02:43:44 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(189 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 52 km southwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentine MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:07 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 02:07:13 GMT)
2.8

24 km
(182 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km southwest of San Antonio, Valparaiso, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
24 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 01:42:00 GMT)
2.6

9 km
(329 km)Departamento de Independencia, 63 km southwest of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:55 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 00:55:04 GMT)
2.5

66 km
(258 km)17 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:21 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 00:21:50 GMT)
2.6

103 km
(54 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, 119 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (18 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 8:57 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 23:57:35 GMT)
3.3

191 km
(108 km)Departamento de Molinos, 147 km southwest of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 7:04 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 22:04:15 GMT)
2.7

109 km
(38 km)49 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 1:30 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 18:30:35 GMT)
2.6

33 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 149 km south of Antofagasta, Chili MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:59 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 17:59:44 GMT)
2.7

99 km
(262 km)Cordoba, 47 km northwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 5:58 pm (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 17:58:55 GMT)
2.9

158 km
(31 km)Provincia de Parinacota, 125 km northeast of Arica, Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:20 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 17:20:11 GMT)
2.6

121 km
(229 km)Departamento de Famatina, 25 km northeast of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:15 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 17:15:40 GMT)
2.6

1 km
(261 km)Lavalle, 83 km west of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 12:05 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 17:05:49 GMT)
4.1

26 km
(384 km)South Pacific Ocean, 175 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 1:36 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 16:36:20 GMT)
3.3

129 km
(33 km)91 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 1:29 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 16:29:11 GMT)
3.0

99 km
(281 km)Departamento de Albardon, 43 km northeast of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 3:57 pm (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 15:57:35 GMT)
2.6

118 km
(176 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 74 km south of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:21 pm (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 14:21:23 GMT)
2.6

105 km
(215 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 79 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 10:03 am (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 13:03:31 GMT)
2.5

95 km
(63 km)Provincia de Linares, 29 km southeast of Talca, Maule Region, Chili MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 8:57 am (GMT -4) (24 Feb 2021 12:57:02 GMT)
4.5

167 km
Putana (12 km)Chile-Bolivia Border Region
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:36 am (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 12:36:23 GMT)
2.7

119 km
(186 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 79 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:18 am (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 12:18:21 GMT)
3.7

1 km
(78 km)96 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 7:14 am (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 12:14:57 GMT)
3.8

44 km
(423 km)South Pacific Ocean, 45 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:02 am (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 12:02:13 GMT)
3.0

130 km
San Pedro (19 km)66 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.8 x 1011 joules (162 megawatt hours, equivalent to 139 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch | Español
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel