Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Chile in the past 24 hours on Thursday, May 26, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 26, 2022 20:13 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Chile was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 4 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 10 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake occurred in South Pacific Ocean, Chile, 8 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.9 | Southeast of Easter Island -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.1 | South Pacific Ocean, 171 km NW of Constitucion, Talca, Maule Region, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:30 quakes | 16 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days:172 quakes | 68 quakes M2+ | 86 quakes M3+ | 15 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:904 quakes | 361 quakes M2+ | 446 quakes M3+ | 87 quakes M4+ | 9 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:3,094 quakes | 1,423 quakes M2+ | 1,399 quakes M3+ | 246 quakes M4+ | 25 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:13,711 quakes | 7,423 quakes M2+ | 5,322 quakes M3+ | 870 quakes M4+ | 81 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (32 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 26, 2022 GMT (29 quakes)
May 26, 2022 20:02 GMT
4.9

10 km
Southeast of Easter Island
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 3:52 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 19:52 GMT)
2.6

93 km
TARAPACA, CHILE MoreMap
May 26, 2022 2:59 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 18:59 GMT)
2.5

136 km
42 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 18:37 GMT)
2.7

24 km
32 km north of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:32 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 16:32 GMT)
3.6

160 km
92 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:19 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 16:19 GMT)
2.8

2.6 km
South Pacific Ocean, 80 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 16:04 GMT)
2.9

100 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 10:45 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 14:45 GMT)
2.8

79 km
119 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 8:38 am (GMT -5) (May 26, 2022 13:38 GMT)
2.9

32 km
South Pacific Ocean, 41 km northwest of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 9:08 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 13:08 GMT)
2.6

104 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 7:14 am (GMT -5) (May 26, 2022 12:14 GMT)
5.1

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 171 km northwest of Constitucion, Talca, Maule Region, Chile
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 7:20 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 11:20 GMT)
3.6

32 km
South Pacific Ocean, 69 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 7:09 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 11:09 GMT)
2.6

92 km
122 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
May 26, 2022 6:20 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 10:20 GMT)
2.9

143 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 26, 2022 6:19 am (GMT -3) (May 26, 2022 09:19 GMT)
3.0

172 km
103 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 26, 2022 5:00 am (GMT -4) (May 26, 2022 09:00 GMT)
2.5

100 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 1012 joules (1.43 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1231 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Chile Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Chile?

The last earthquake in Chile occurred 11 minutes ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - Southeast of Easter Island on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 20:02 GMT.

How many quakes were there in Chile today?

In the past 24 hours, Chile had 32 quakes up to magnitude 5.1.

What was the strongest quake in Chile today?

The strongest earthquake in Chile today occurred 8 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 171 km northwest of Constitucion, Talca, Maule Region, Chile, on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at 7:14 am (GMT -5).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel