Latest earthquakes in or near Chile, past 30 days

Updated 6 Mar 2021 15:06 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Chile was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 66 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 376 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 646 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.5 quake South Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Mollendo, Peru, 27 Feb 2021 9:16 pm (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 4.8 quake South Pacific Ocean 5 Mar 2021 4:52 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake 46 km north of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina, 6 Mar 2021 10:53 am (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 4 or higher (74 out of 1091 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
6 Mar 2021 10:53 am (GMT -3) (6 Mar 2021 13:53:37 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(294 km)46 km north of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:19 am (GMT -3) (6 Mar 2021 13:19:24 GMT)
2.5

105 km
(138 km)Provincia de Antofagasta, 65 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:19 am (GMT -3) (6 Mar 2021 13:19:13 GMT)
2.8

18 km
(102 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 81 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 9:53 am (GMT -3) (6 Mar 2021 12:53:29 GMT)
3.6

202 km
Aracar (25 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 222 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 5:46 am (GMT -3) (6 Mar 2021 08:46:24 GMT)
2.9

4.3 km
Mocho-Choshuenco (15 km)39 km southeast of Panguipulli, Provincia de Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Mar 2021 4:52 pm (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 22:52:57 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(1928 km)South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 6:50 pm (GMT -3) (3 Mar 2021 21:50:36 GMT)
4.4

1 km
(52 km)Curicó, 14 km southeast of Curico, Maule Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 6:46 am (GMT -3) (2 Mar 2021 09:46:43 GMT)
4.4

134 km
(182 km)Departamento de Famatina, 63 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 8:40 pm (GMT -5) (1 Mar 2021 01:40:51 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(166 km)South Pacific Ocean, 190 km southwest of Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -3) (1 Mar 2021 01:34:44 GMT)
4.6

7.6 km
Hudson (3 km)58 km south of Puerto Aisén, Provincia de Aisén, Aysén, Chile
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 1:41 am (GMT -3) (28 Feb 2021 04:41:51 GMT)
4.4

130 km
(51 km)El Loa, 44 km east of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 9:16 pm (GMT -5) (28 Feb 2021 02:16:04 GMT)
5.5

10 km
(167 km)South Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Mollendo, Peru
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 7:36 pm (GMT -3) (27 Feb 2021 22:36:33 GMT)
4.4

192 km
Aracar (63 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 184 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 7:36 pm (GMT -3) (27 Feb 2021 22:36:32 GMT)
4.1

154 km
Aracar (78 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 161 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 07:00:02 GMT
4.4

10 km
(707 km)South Pacific Ocean MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 12:59 am (GMT -6) (27 Feb 2021 06:59:47 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(860 km)South Pacific Ocean MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 8:20 pm (GMT -3) (26 Feb 2021 23:20:14 GMT)
4.1

105 km
(67 km)Tamarugal, 113 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 12:05 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 17:05:49 GMT)
4.1

26 km
(384 km)South Pacific Ocean, 175 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 8:57 am (GMT -4) (24 Feb 2021 12:57:02 GMT)
4.5

167 km
Putana (12 km)Chile-Bolivia Border Region MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 9:34 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 00:34:38 GMT)
4.3

275 km
(124 km)Departamento de Santa Catalina, Jujuy, 42 km west of Villazon, Bolivia 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 6:55 pm (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 21:55:53 GMT)
4.0

188 km
(70 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 179 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 4:15 pm (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 19:15:04 GMT)
4.0

96 km
(81 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 126 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:18 am (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 06:18:49 GMT)
4.7

43 km
(244 km)36 km west of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 2 reportsMoreMap
23 Feb 2021 2:25 am (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 05:25:37 GMT)
4.3

214 km
(68 km)Departamento de Susques, 165 km west of San Salvador de Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 1:25 am (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 04:25:52 GMT)
4.4

34 km
(145 km)Talca Province, 3 km southeast of Constitucion, Provincia de Talca, Maule Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 23:14:20 GMT)
4.7

106 km
(319 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 34 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 7:41 am (GMT -5) (22 Feb 2021 12:41:48 GMT)
4.0

53 km
(91 km)38 km east of Mollendo, Provincia de Islay, Arequipa, Peru MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 2:40 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 17:40:23 GMT)
4.0

21 km
(281 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km west of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 7:08 am (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 12:08:23 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(657 km)South Pacific Ocean MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 6:56 am (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 11:56:47 GMT)
4.2

10.2 km
(175 km)South Pacific Ocean, 66 km southwest of Constitucion, Provincia de Talca, Maule Region, Chile MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 9:28 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 00:28:49 GMT)
4.2

137 km
Aucanquilcha (15 km)Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, 193 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 9:14 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 00:14:21 GMT)
4.0

195 km
Aracar (58 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 186 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 7:07 am (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 10:07:36 GMT)
4.1

122 km
Aucanquilcha (37 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 172 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:11 am (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 07:11:42 GMT)
4.6

94 km
(83 km)6.1 km east of Los Angeles, Provincia de Biobio, Region del Biobio, Chile 8 reportsMoreMap
20 Feb 2021 12:43 am (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 03:43:46 GMT)
4.0

125 km
(229 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 182 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 8:49 am (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 11:49:04 GMT)
4.5

115 km
(43 km)Santiago, 47 km northeast of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan, Chile 18 reportsMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 5:48 am (GMT -5) (19 Feb 2021 10:48:37 GMT)
4.4

42 km
(231 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km west of Valparaiso, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 3:54 am (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 06:54:29 GMT)
4.9

47 km
(376 km)South Pacific Ocean, 71 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 6 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 09:08:01 GMT
4.7

10 km
(335 km)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 5:35 pm (GMT -5) (17 Feb 2021 22:35:14 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(343 km)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 9:14 am (GMT -3) (17 Feb 2021 12:14:49 GMT)
4.7

114 km
(249 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 260 km north of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
16 Feb 2021 10:25 pm (GMT -5) (17 Feb 2021 03:25:31 GMT)
4.4

42 km
(244 km)South Pacific Ocean, 63 km northwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 2:46 am (GMT -4) (16 Feb 2021 06:46:25 GMT)
4.4

191 km
(105 km)239 km southwest of Potosi, Bolivia MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 2:14 am (GMT -3) (16 Feb 2021 05:14:30 GMT)
4.0

23 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 60 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
15 Feb 2021 11:49 pm (GMT -4) (16 Feb 2021 03:49:32 GMT)
4.1

171 km
Irruputuncu (13 km)166 Km WSW of Colchani, Bolivia MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 10:49 am (GMT -3) (15 Feb 2021 13:49:57 GMT)
4.3

236 km
(123 km)Departamento de Susques, 157 km northwest of San Salvador de Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 13:44:18 GMT
4.4

10 km
Nevados Casiri (11 km)67 km northeast of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 6:56 am (GMT -3) (15 Feb 2021 09:56:06 GMT)
4.3

95 km
(89 km)Tamarugal, 95 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 10:52 pm (GMT -5) (15 Feb 2021 03:52:49 GMT)
4.0

23 km
(305 km)South Pacific Ocean, 227 km west of Talca, Maule Region, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 11:01 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 14:01:54 GMT)
4.2

45 km
(347 km)58 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 2:24 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 05:24:20 GMT)
4.4

260 km
(122 km)Departamento de Santa Catalina, Jujuy, Argentina, 47 km west of Villazon, Modesto Omiste, Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 6:12 pm (GMT -3) (13 Feb 2021 21:12:20 GMT)
4.1

224 km
(82 km)Departamento de Susques, 151 km west of San Salvador de Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 1:49 pm (GMT -5) (13 Feb 2021 18:49:42 GMT)
5.2

41 km
Irruputuncu (214 km)South Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
13 Feb 2021 12:54 am (GMT -3) (13 Feb 2021 03:54:42 GMT)
4.2

245 km
(67 km)Departamento de Susques, 166 km west of San Salvador de Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 4:06 pm (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 19:06:44 GMT)
4.1

47 km
(336 km)25 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 6:36 am (GMT -5) (12 Feb 2021 11:36:36 GMT)
4.0

37 km
(253 km)South Pacific Ocean, 63 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 6:50 am (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 09:50:22 GMT)
4.7

44 km
(342 km)Limarí, 23 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
12 Feb 2021 6:43 am (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 09:43:28 GMT)
4.2

49 km
(153 km)9.6 km northeast of San Antonio, Valparaiso, Chile 14 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 1:49 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 16:49:55 GMT)
4.2

44 km
(406 km)Elqui Province, 8.6 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
11 Feb 2021 1:35 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 16:35:48 GMT)
4.4

117 km
(37 km)Antofagasta Province, 159 km east of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 11:51 am (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 14:51:44 GMT)
4.2

4.8 km
Mocho-Choshuenco (16 km)Valdivia, 38 km southeast of Panguipulli, Provincia de Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 7 reportsMoreMap
11 Feb 2021 11:01 am (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 14:01:28 GMT)
4.7

4.6 km
Mocho-Choshuenco (14 km)Valdivia, 37 km southeast of Panguipulli, Provincia de Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile 45 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 5:21 pm (GMT -5) (10 Feb 2021 22:21:12 GMT)
4.1

55 km
(234 km)South Pacific Ocean, 131 km northwest of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 22:20:53 GMT
4.4

10 km
(366 km)South Pacific Ocean, Peru MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 5:18 pm (GMT -3) (10 Feb 2021 20:18:29 GMT)
5.2

52 km
(211 km)Choapa, 17 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 29 reportsMoreMap
10 Feb 2021 2:09 pm (GMT -3) (10 Feb 2021 17:09:56 GMT)
4.3

140 km
(176 km)46 km southeast of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 11:49 am (GMT -5) (10 Feb 2021 16:49:40 GMT)
4.7

463 km
(359 km)South Pacific Ocean, 238 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 9:13 am (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 15:13:11 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(958 km)South Pacific Ocean MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 8:28 am (GMT -3) (9 Feb 2021 11:28:21 GMT)
4.8

92 km
(76 km)Arica, 45 km east of Arica, Arica y Parinacota, Chile 3 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 09:23:08 GMT
4.2

306 km
Aracar (47 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 243 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 6:26 am (GMT -3) (7 Feb 2021 09:26:56 GMT)
4.5

170 km
(86 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 161 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 12:09 pm (GMT -4) (6 Feb 2021 16:09:49 GMT)
4.5

358 km
(116 km)87 km north of Tupiza, Sud Chichas, Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 9:57 am (GMT -5) (6 Feb 2021 14:57:43 GMT)
4.0

42 km
(248 km)South Pacific Ocean, 101 km west of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 4:24 pm (GMT -5) (5 Feb 2021 21:24:07 GMT)
4.7

2 km
(766 km)South Pacific Ocean MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.9 x 1013 joules (10.8 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 9272 tons of TNT or 0.6 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch | Español
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel