Past earthquakes in or near Chile on Thursday, 21 Jan 2021

Updated 25 Feb 2021 11:04 GMT -
On 21 Jan 2021, Chile was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 11 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 40 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.3 quake Antofagasta Province, 118 km northeast of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile, 21 Jan 2021 3:54 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (53 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT) (53 earthquakes)
21 Jan 2021 11:54 pm (GMT +0) (21 Jan 2021 23:54:05 GMT)
2.9

120 km
(247 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 124 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 8:06 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 23:06:51 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(199 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 38 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 8:04 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 23:04:04 GMT)
2.7

74 km
(134 km)Provincia de Antofagasta, 50 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:21 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 22:21:45 GMT)
2.5

18 km
(202 km)Departamento de Zonda, 35 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:44 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 21:44:34 GMT)
2.5

112 km
(79 km)El Loa, 14 km east of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:34 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 21:34:36 GMT)
3.1

20 km
(220 km)12 km southeast of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:11 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 21:11:17 GMT)
2.8

7 km
(195 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 37 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:07 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 21:07:48 GMT)
3.6

103 km
(58 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, 145 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 5:38 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 20:38:15 GMT)
3.3

31 km
(91 km)Departamento de Susques, Jujuy, 43 km northwest of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 5:02 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 20:02:27 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 36 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 4:30 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 19:30:55 GMT)
2.5

99 km
(207 km)63 km southwest of Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 4:08 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 19:08:02 GMT)
2.9

93 km
(171 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 161 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:54 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 18:54:11 GMT)
4.3

113 km
(89 km)Antofagasta Province, 118 km northeast of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:04 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 18:04:45 GMT)
2.5

13 km
(206 km)Departamento de Zonda, 29 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:59 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 16:59:36 GMT)
2.7

13 km
(190 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 42 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 16:26:07 GMT)
2.8

116 km
(223 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 144 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 11:00 am (GMT -5) (21 Jan 2021 16:00:34 GMT)
4.0

35 km
(303 km)South Pacific Ocean, 143 km west of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 12:42 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 15:42:16 GMT)
3.2

119 km
(82 km)Departamento de Las Heras, 108 km west of Mendoza, Departamento de Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 11:20 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 14:20:27 GMT)
2.8

7 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 39 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +0) (21 Jan 2021 14:01:24 GMT)
2.5

21 km
(199 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 33 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 10:50 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 13:50:27 GMT)
2.6

15 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 42 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 10:34 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 13:34:51 GMT)
2.8

6 km
(190 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 39 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:31 pm (GMT +0) (21 Jan 2021 13:31:28 GMT)
2.8

97 km
(86 km)El Loa, 28 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:11 pm (GMT +0) (21 Jan 2021 13:11:16 GMT)
2.5

11 km
(181 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 41 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:57 am (GMT -5) (21 Jan 2021 12:57:46 GMT)
3.7

74 km
(124 km)South Pacific Ocean, 64 km west of Tacna, Peru MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 12:13 pm (GMT +0) (21 Jan 2021 12:13:57 GMT)
2.6

15 km
(197 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 35 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 8:43 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 11:43:20 GMT)
2.6

5 km
(195 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 32 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:57 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 10:57:53 GMT)
2.6

12 km
(197 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 42 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:49 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 10:49:40 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 41 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:28 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 10:28:21 GMT)
3.8

9 km
(197 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 34 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 7:23 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 10:23:08 GMT)
2.9

12 km
(206 km)Departamento de Zonda, 28 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:34 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 09:34:13 GMT)
2.9

8 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 38 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 6:05 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 09:05:52 GMT)
2.9

8 km
(206 km)Departamento de Zonda, 27 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 5:55 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 08:55:04 GMT)
2.8

14 km
(197 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 35 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 4:49 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 07:49:51 GMT)
2.6

114 km
(45 km)El Loa, 51 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 4:43 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 07:43:35 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(198 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 36 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:26 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 06:26:03 GMT)
3.8

192 km
(56 km)Departamento de Susques, Jujuy, 192 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:12 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 06:12:32 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(191 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 36 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 2:51 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 05:51:34 GMT)
3.4

111 km
(239 km)Departamento de Ullum, 13 km west of Chimbas, San Juan, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
21 Jan 2021 2:27 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 05:27:31 GMT)
2.5

7 km
(192 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 36 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 2:03 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 05:03:27 GMT)
2.8

13 km
(192 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 41 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:44 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 04:44:24 GMT)
2.6

46 km
(132 km)Provincia del Tamarugal, 45 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:38 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 04:38:27 GMT)
2.5

24 km
(194 km)South Pacific Ocean, 34 km west of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:30 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 04:30:01 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(176 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 52 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:23 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 04:23:12 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(204 km)22 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 1:03 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 04:03:25 GMT)
2.6

95 km
(47 km)Tamarugal, 132 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 12:01 am (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 03:01:28 GMT)
3.0

109 km
(105 km)Antofagasta Province, 90 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
20 Jan 2021 11:38 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 02:38:13 GMT)
2.7

6 km
(197 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 38 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 11:32 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 02:32:02 GMT)
2.7

11 km
(208 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 33 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 11:04 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 02:04:14 GMT)
2.6

8 km
(194 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 39 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 10:20 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 01:20:05 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(192 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 36 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:41 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 00:41:22 GMT)
2.8

7 km
(196 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 35 km southwest of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -3) (21 Jan 2021 00:07:51 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(201 km)Departamento de Zonda, 31 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 1011 joules (111 megawatt hours, equivalent to 95.3 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch | Español
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel