Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Costa Rica in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 01:29 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 117 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 157 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Costa Rica was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 16 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 117 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 157 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 95 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+
Past 7 days89 quakes | 48 quakes M2+ | 35 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 30 days295 quakes | 157 quakes M2+ | 117 quakes M3+ | 16 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days841 quakes | 404 quakes M2+ | 369 quakes M3+ | 52 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days3,045 quakes | 1,247 quakes M2+ | 1,528 quakes M3+ | 216 quakes M4+ | 15 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Costa Rica | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.4 or higher (46 out of 295 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 22:26 GMT)
3.4

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 22:26 GMT)
3.6

28 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 7:20 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 13:20 GMT)
3.4

4 km
10.7 km west of Puerto Armuelles, Baru District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 17:54 GMT)
3.5

6 km
11 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 17:54 GMT)
4.4

5 km
10.3 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 8:18 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 14:18 GMT)
3.4

5 km
13 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 7:44 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 13:44 GMT)
3.8

5 km
11 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 7:22 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 13:22 GMT)
3.6

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 52 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 6:55 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 12:55 GMT)
3.5

6 km
13 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 4:53 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2022 21:53 GMT)
4.2

23 km
Distrito de Gualaca, 33 km northeast of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT - 6 reports
More
Oct 3, 2022 12:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 18:52 GMT)
3.5

3 km
11 km south of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 18:05 GMT)
3.6

29 km
26 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 2, 2022 12:31 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 2, 2022 17:31 GMT)
3.4

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 12 km south of Puerto Armuelles, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Saturday, October 1, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 1, 2022 10:39 am (GMT -6) (Oct 1, 2022 16:39 GMT)
4.2

74 km
North Pacific Ocean, 94 km south of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Oct 1, 2022 7:02 am (GMT -6) (Oct 1, 2022 13:02 GMT)
3.5

21 km
29 km southeast of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 1, 2022 7:01 am (GMT -6) (Oct 1, 2022 13:01 GMT)
4.2

165 km
11 km southeast of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 9:30 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 1, 2022 03:30 GMT)
4.1

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 228 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Friday, September 30, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 20:24 GMT)
3.5

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 6:15 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 12:15 GMT)
3.6

3 km
North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southwest of Nicaragua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 9:03 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 15:03 GMT)
4.6

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 8:12 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 14:12 GMT)
3.9

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 10 reports
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 1012 joules (823 megawatt hours, equivalent to 708 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Costa Rica Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Costa Rica?

The last earthquake in Costa Rica occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 4:26 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Costa Rica past month?

In the past 30 days, Costa Rica had 46 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Costa Rica past month?

The strongest earthquake in Costa Rica past month occurred 6 days ago: Moderate mag. 4.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 9:03 am (GMT -6).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings