Recent earthquakes in Costa Rica - complete list & interactive map

Updated Oct 19, 2021 23:02 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Costa Rica was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 7 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 39 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 14 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, Oct 19, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 4.4 quake Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica, Oct 19, 2021 1:53 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (62 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 19:53 GMT (18 earthquakes)
Oct 19, 2021 1:53 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 19:53 GMT)
4.4

10 km
81 km (50 mi)Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 12:51 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 18:51 GMT)
3.5

15 km
117 km (73 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 18:32 GMT)
5.2

22 km
98 km (61 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 1:15 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 18:15 GMT)
3.8

5 km
71 km (44 mi)Baru District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 11:58 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 17:58 GMT)
4.0

11 km
57 km (35 mi)Corredores, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 11:16 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 17:16 GMT)
3.5

18 km
58 km (36 mi)Corredores, Provincia de Puntarenas, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 10:14 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 16:14 GMT)
3.3

23 km
125 km (78 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:59 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 14:59 GMT)
3.4

17 km
95 km (59 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:55 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 14:55 GMT)
3.2

101 km
19 km (12 mi)Pococi, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 4:08 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 10:08 GMT)
3.5

15 km
96 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 3:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 09:03 GMT)
3.4

17 km
94 km (58 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 1:14 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 07:14 GMT)
2.5

6 km
56 km (35 mi)Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 12:32 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 06:32 GMT)
4.7

19 km
83 km (52 mi)Parrita, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 22 reports
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 11:57 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 05:57 GMT)
3.4

12 km
169 km (105 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 11:38 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 05:38 GMT)
3.9

22 km
166 km (103 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 11:21 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 05:21 GMT)
3.1

21 km
174 km (108 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 11:13 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 05:13 GMT)
4.5

27 km
170 km (106 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 10:22 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 04:22 GMT)
2.5

28 km
92 km (57 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Nicaragua MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 22:13 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 4:13 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 22:13 GMT)
2.0

150 km
25 km (16 mi)7 Km Al Noroeste De San Jorge, Nicaragua MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 10:29 am (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 16:29 GMT)
3.0

12 km
42 km (26 mi)Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 8:26 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 13:26 GMT)
3.8

20 km
65 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 3:39 am (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 09:39 GMT)
3.3

7 km
60 km (37 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 2:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 08:45 GMT)
2.9

24 km
137 km (85 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Nicaragua MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 10:15 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 04:15 GMT)
3.0

37 km
63 km (39 mi)Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 7:49 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 01:49 GMT)
2.7

25 km
36 km (22 mi)Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Panama MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 7:04 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 01:04 GMT)
3.9

10 km
280 km (174 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 22:16 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 5:16 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 22:16 GMT)
4.3

108 km
149 km (93 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 8:35 am (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 14:35 GMT)
3.4

3 km
107 km (66 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 2:32 am (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 08:32 GMT)
3.0

28 km
110 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:12 am (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 07:12 GMT)
3.1

5 km
69 km (43 mi)NICARAGUA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 11:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 05:52 GMT)
4.2

10 km
206 km (128 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 10:58 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 04:58 GMT)
4.5

10 km
289 km (180 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 11:55 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 04:55 GMT)
2.8

18 km
59 km (37 mi)Baru District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 03:22 GMT)
3.5

77 km
15 km (9.3 mi)Poas, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 23:41 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 5:41 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 23:41 GMT)
2.3

146 km
24 km (15 mi)12 Km Al Noroeste De Cárdenas, Nicaragua MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 2:05 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 20:05 GMT)
2.9

8 km
38 km (24 mi)Puriscal, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 12:17 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 18:17 GMT)
2.3

29 km
99 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Nicaragua MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 8:53 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 14:53 GMT)
3.5

5 km
36 km (22 mi)Mora, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 7:23 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 13:23 GMT)
3.7

1 km
109 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 8:59 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 02:59 GMT)
3.0

22 km
83 km (52 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 8:17 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 02:17 GMT)
3.0

3 km
90 km (56 mi)Puntarenas, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 22:46 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 5:46 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 15, 2021 22:46 GMT)
3.7

10 km
151 km (94 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 2:16 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 15, 2021 20:16 GMT)
2.8

10 km
96 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 2:16 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 15, 2021 20:16 GMT)
3.4

18 km
99 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 1:23 am (GMT -6) (Oct 15, 2021 07:23 GMT)
2.9

28 km
62 km (39 mi)Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 10:45 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.8

5 km
5 km (3.1 mi)Sarchi, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.1

5 km
8 km (5 mi)Sarchi, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 3:31 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 09:31 GMT)
2.8

27 km
63 km (39 mi)Pérez Zeledon, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 1:56 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 07:56 GMT)
3.2

3 km
120 km (75 mi)Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 23:45 GMT (13 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 5:45 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 23:45 GMT)
3.5

5 km
84 km (52 mi)Garabito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 9 reports
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 8:39 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 14:39 GMT)
3.1

3 km
101 km (63 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 6:44 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 12:44 GMT)
3.7

21 km
89 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 6:16 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 12:16 GMT)
3.7

5 km
92 km (57 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 6:01 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 12:01 GMT)
3.0

150 km
24 km (15 mi)Los Chiles, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 6:01 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 12:01 GMT)
3.6

161 km
18 km (11 mi)Guatuso, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 4:09 am (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 10:09 GMT)
3.4

2 km
71 km (44 mi)Turrubares, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 10:38 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 04:38 GMT)
3.3

10 km
29 km (18 mi)Puntarenas, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 10:37 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 04:37 GMT)
3.8

4 km
97 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 10:10 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 04:10 GMT)
2.9

17 km
104 km (65 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 9:12 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 03:12 GMT)
2.8

1 km
111 km (69 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 03:07 GMT)
3.7

5 km
78 km (48 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 8:54 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 13, 2021 02:54 GMT)
5.0

10 km
88 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 145 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.5 x 1012 joules (2.37 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2039 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.