Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Cyprus: past 30 days

Updated Oct 17, 2021 06:39 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Cyprus was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 16 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 19 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.1 quake Eastern Mediterranean, 38 km north of Paphos, Pafos, Cyprus, Oct 2, 2021 9:58 am (GMT +3)
Biggest quake today: 2.7 quake Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus, Oct 17, 2021 4:23 am (GMT +3)
Most recent quake: 2.6 quake Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus, Oct 17, 2021 4:47 am (GMT +3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (37 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 01:47 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 4:47 am (GMT +3) (Oct 17, 2021 01:47 GMT)
2.6

5.7 km
258 km (160 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 4:23 am (GMT +3) (Oct 17, 2021 01:23 GMT)
2.7

5 km
259 km (161 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 18:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 9:08 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 15, 2021 18:08 GMT)
1.9

5 km
247 km (153 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 17:25 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 8:25 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 14, 2021 17:25 GMT)
2.2

9.5 km
233 km (145 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 98 km southwest of Alanya, Antalya, Turkey MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 14:16 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 5:16 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 13, 2021 14:16 GMT)
1.2
142 km (88 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 1:39 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 13, 2021 10:39 GMT)
0.7
146 km (91 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 09:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 12:24 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 12, 2021 09:24 GMT)
?

n/a
264 km (164 mi)Kokkinotrimithia, Nicosia, Cyprus (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 31 reports
MoreMap
Monday, October 11, 2021 14:23 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 11, 2021 5:23 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 11, 2021 14:23 GMT)
1.0
143 km (89 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 10:14 am (GMT +3) (Oct 11, 2021 07:14 GMT)
2.0

8.9 km
236 km (147 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 100 km southwest of Mahmutlar, Alanya, Antalya, Turkey MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 5:37 am (GMT +3) (Oct 11, 2021 02:37 GMT)
1.9

5 km
283 km (176 mi)Agios Mamas, Lemesos, Cyprus 4 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 10:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 9, 2021 1:11 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 9, 2021 10:11 GMT)
1.1
143 km (89 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 7, 2021 3:05 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 7, 2021 12:05 GMT)
1.4
143 km (89 mi)Turkey: YESILOVACIK-SILIFKE (MERSIN) MoreMap
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 19:44 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 6, 2021 10:44 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 6, 2021 19:44 GMT)
2.1

5 km
236 km (147 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 153 km west of Nicosia, Cyprus MoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 1:27 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 6, 2021 10:27 GMT)
1.3
144 km (89 mi)Turkey: YESILOVACIK-SILIFKE (MERSIN) MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 00:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 5, 2021 3:54 am (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2021 00:54 GMT)
2.6

5 km
280 km (174 mi)Kato Arodes, 19 km north of Paphos, Pafos, Cyprus 5 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 07:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 3, 2021 10:09 am (GMT +3) (Oct 3, 2021 07:09 GMT)
1.7

26 km
258 km (160 mi)Stýlloi, 8.6 km northwest of Famagusta, Ammochostos, Cyprus MoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 09:28 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2021 12:28 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 2, 2021 09:28 GMT)
1.6

14 km
278 km (173 mi)Amiantos, Lemesos, 49 km southwest of Nicosia, Cyprus MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 9:58 am (GMT +3) (Oct 2, 2021 06:58 GMT)
3.1

181 km
266 km (165 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 38 km north of Paphos, Pafos, Cyprus MoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 11:00 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 1, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 1, 2021 11:00 GMT)
1.0
144 km (89 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 4:18 am (GMT +3) (Oct 1, 2021 01:18 GMT)
2.0

22 km
234 km (145 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 42 km southeast of Protaras, Ammochostos, Cyprus MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 3:46 am (GMT +3) (Oct 1, 2021 00:46 GMT)
1.9

45 km
268 km (167 mi)Xyliatos, 36 km southwest of Nicosia, Cyprus MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 14:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 30, 2021 5:21 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 30, 2021 14:21 GMT)
2.0

15 km
243 km (151 mi)Psyllatos, Ammochostos, 30 km east of Nicosia, Cyprus 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 22:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 1:24 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2021 22:24 GMT)
2.7

10.6 km
274 km (170 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 37 km northwest of Paphos, Pafos, Cyprus MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 4:18 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2021 13:18 GMT)
1.8
149 km (93 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 46 km southwest of Silifke, Mersin, Turkey MoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 18:06 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 9:06 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2021 18:06 GMT)
2.3

50 km
274 km (170 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 20 km southwest of Protaras, Ammochostos, Cyprus MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 10:08 am (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2021 07:08 GMT)
2.0

5 km
297 km (185 mi)Pano Kivides, 18 km west of Limassol, Lemesos, Cyprus 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, September 26, 2021 09:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 26, 2021 12:35 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 26, 2021 09:35 GMT)
1.6

5 km
261 km (162 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 61 km west of Cyprus Island 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 14:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 25, 2021 5:31 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 25, 2021 14:31 GMT)
1.7

9.5 km
302 km (188 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 6.9 km east of Limassol, Lemesos, Cyprus MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 21:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 12:24 am (GMT +3) (Sep 24, 2021 21:24 GMT)
1.7

20 km
278 km (173 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 36 km northwest of Paphos, Pafos, Cyprus MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 7:16 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 24, 2021 16:16 GMT)
2.4

9.6 km
269 km (167 mi)Lýmpia, 22 km southeast of Nicosia, Cyprus MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 13:05 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 4:05 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 23, 2021 13:05 GMT)
0.9
145 km (90 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 11:34 am (GMT +3) (Sep 23, 2021 08:34 GMT)
1.3
144 km (89 mi)Turkey: YESILOVACIK-SILIFKE (MERSIN) MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 21:54 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 12:54 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2021 21:54 GMT)
2.2

5 km
165 km (103 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 38 km south of Silifke, Mersin, Turkey MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 10:25 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2021 07:25 GMT)
2.0

1.7 km
248 km (154 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 166 km west of Nicosia, Cyprus MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 5:43 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2021 02:43 GMT)
2.5

28 km
211 km (131 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 96 km northeast of Famagusta, Ammochostos, Cyprus MoreMap
Sunday, September 19, 2021 10:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 19, 2021 1:24 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 19, 2021 10:24 GMT)
2.4

3.3 km
162 km (101 mi)Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km west of Anamur, Mersin, Turkey MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 10:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 1:03 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 18, 2021 10:03 GMT)
0.8
148 km (92 mi)Turkey: BUYUKECELI-GULNAR (MERSIN) MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 109 joules (2.01 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.73 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.