Largest earthquakes in or near Delaware, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 4, 2022 11:47 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 61 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Since 1900, Delaware has had 5 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 61 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 2 Km W of Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | 5.8 mi W of Reading, Berks County, Pennsylvania, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Delaware, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 2 or higher (79 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 12, 2021 10:47 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 13, 2021 03:47 GMT)
2.1

2.9 km
2633 km (1636 mi)2 Km W of Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania 210 reportsMoreMap
Aug 4, 2021 2:10 am (GMT -4) (Aug 4, 2021 06:10 GMT)
2.1

3.4 km
2580 km (1603 mi)3 Km NNE of Highland, Maryland 245 reportsMoreMap
Jun 25, 2021 19:40 GMT
2.6

2.5 km
2596 km (1613 mi)1 Km SE of Woodlawn, Maryland 987 reportsMoreMap
Jun 9, 2021 11:52 GMT
2.4

5 km
2671 km (1660 mi)Near Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA 58 reportsMoreMap
Dec 3, 2020 6:55 am (GMT -5) (Dec 3, 2020 11:55 GMT)
2.1

2 km
2706 km (1681 mi)0.6 mi northeast of Milford, New Jersey, USA 15 reportsMoreMap
9 Sep 2020 9:00am EDT (Sep 9, 2020 06:00 GMT)
3.1

5 km
2731 km (1697 mi)Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1.5 mi east of Freehold, USA 701 reportsMoreMap
2019-09-14 20:11:09 -05:00 (Sep 15, 2019 01:11 GMT)
2.8

5 km
2412 km (1499 mi)4.7 mi northeast of Berwick, Adams County, Pennsylvania, USA 114 reportsMoreMap
2019-07-19 12:11:47 -05:00 (Jul 19, 2019 17:11 GMT)
2.2

2 km
2489 km (1547 mi)6 mi northwest of Reading, Berks County, Pennsylvania, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
2019-06-01 04:49:53 -05:00 (Jun 1, 2019 09:49 GMT)
2.0

7 km
2603 km (1617 mi)North Atlantic Ocean, 45 mi east of Pleasantville, Atlantic County, New Jersey, USA MoreMap
2019-04-10 12:46:39 -05:00 (Apr 10, 2019 17:46 GMT)
2.0

5 km
2483 km (1543 mi)11 mi northwest of Reading, Berks County, Pennsylvania, USA MoreMap
2017-11-30 16:47:31 -05:00 (Nov 30, 2017 21:47 GMT)
4.1

8.1 km
2543 km (1580 mi)9.5 mi northeast of Wyoming, Kent County, Delaware, USA 111 reportsMoreMap
Apr 23, 2017 20:49 GMT
2.3

5 km
2462 km (1530 mi)3.4 mi south of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
2016-11-06 08:15:02 -04:00 (Nov 6, 2016 12:15 GMT)
2.0

4.4 km
2679 km (1665 mi)16km ENE of Highlands, New Jersey MoreMap
2015-08-08 22:07:04 -04:00 (Aug 9, 2015 02:07 GMT)
2.2

5 km
2440 km (1516 mi)2km W of Crownsville, Maryland MoreMap
Sunday, January 25, 2015 18:25:10 (Jan 25, 2015 23:25 GMT)
2.7

2 km
2521 km (1566 mi)3.7 mi northwest of West Chester, Chester County, Pennsylvania, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 23 Nov 2012 01:13 (America/New_York) (Nov 23, 2012 05:13 GMT)
2.2

5 km
2577 km (1601 mi)1km W of Clementon, New Jersey MoreMap
Jun 3, 2010 12:25 GMT
3.1

1.5 km
3.1 mi northwest of Wellsville, York County, Pennsylvania, USA MoreMap
Dec 20, 2009 05:36 GMT
2.3

3 km
Pennsylvania (USA) MoreMap
Oct 25, 2009 11:21 GMT
2.8

0.5 km
13 mi south of Harrisburg, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, USA MoreMap
Oct 25, 2009 11:16 GMT
2.5

0.5 km
Pennsylvania (USA) MoreMap
Oct 9, 2009 17:23 GMT
2.1

7.5 km
Offshore New Jersey (USA) MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1012 joules (367 megawatt hours, equivalent to 316 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Delaware Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Delaware?

The last earthquake in Delaware occurred 39 weeks ago: Weak mag. 2.1 earthquake - 2 Km W of Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, on Friday, Nov 12, 2021 at 10:47 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Delaware since 1900?

Since 1900, Delaware, USA had 79 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Delaware since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Delaware since 1900 occurred 29 years ago: Moderate mag. 4.6 earthquake - 5.8 mi west of Reading, Berks County, Pennsylvania, USA, on Sunday, January 16, 1994 at 01:49 GMT.

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings