Earthquakes in the Dodecanese Islands and SW Turkey

Updated 27 Jan 2021 14:35 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Dodecanese Islands & SW Turkey was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 44 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 42 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.0 quake Eastern Mediterranean, 11 km southeast of Kattavia, Greece, 1 Jan 2021 6:36 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake 12 km west of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey, 25 Jan 2021 7:21 pm (GMT +3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes past 30 days, magnitude 1.9 or higher (62 out of 96 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 25 Jan 2021 (GMT)
25 Jan 2021 7:21 pm (GMT +3) (25 Jan 2021 16:21:26 GMT)
2.2

5 km
(75 km)12 km west of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 5:39 am (GMT +2) (25 Jan 2021 03:39:58 GMT)
2.4

12 km
Nisyros (19 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 25 km west of Tilos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT)
24 Jan 2021 8:23 pm (GMT +2) (24 Jan 2021 18:23:48 GMT)
2.0

4.2 km
Nisyros (59 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 53 km west of Rhodes Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 23 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
23 Jan 2021 10:55 pm (GMT +2) (23 Jan 2021 20:55:04 GMT)
2.7

12 km
Nisyros (54 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 3.6 km southwest of Nisi Chalki Island, Greece MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 12:59 pm (GMT +2) (23 Jan 2021 10:59:54 GMT)
3.0

60 km
Nisyros (63 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 16 km east of Rhodes, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 6:33 am (GMT +2) (23 Jan 2021 04:33:53 GMT)
3.0

18 km
(139 km)Aegean Sea, 127 km northeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 6:33 am (GMT +2) (23 Jan 2021 04:33:53 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Nisyros (81 km) - Dodecanese Islands, Greece12 km northeast of Olympos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 02:00:45 GMT
2.2

18 km
Nisyros (97 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 26 km northeast of Karpathos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 4:00 am (GMT +2) (23 Jan 2021 02:00:44 GMT)
2.5

10.9 km
Nisyros (103 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 29 km northeast of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 Jan 2021 8:47 pm (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 18:47:02 GMT)
2.4

28 km
Nisyros (65 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 33 km west of Rhodes Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 10:51 am (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 08:51:07 GMT)
2.4

5 km
Nisyros (53 km) - Dodecanese Islands, Greece2.8 km northwest of Chalki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 10:51 am (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 08:51:06 GMT)
1.9

10.2 km
Nisyros (54 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceMEDITERRANEAN SEA, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT)
21 Jan 2021 3:28 pm (GMT +3) (21 Jan 2021 12:28:36 GMT)
3.9

51 km
(79 km)13 km southwest of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:28 pm (GMT +3) (21 Jan 2021 12:28:35 GMT)
3.9

51 km
(79 km)12 km southwest of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 21:31:21 GMT
2.0

13 km
Nisyros (53 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 89 km south of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 10:35 pm (GMT +2) (20 Jan 2021 20:35:40 GMT)
3.9

69 km
Nisyros (110 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 7.1 km south of Archangelos, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 8:26 am (GMT +2) (20 Jan 2021 06:26:45 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Nisyros (105 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 27 km west of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 Jan 2021 11:16 pm (GMT +2) (18 Jan 2021 21:16:53 GMT)
3.5

19 km
Nisyros (111 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 8.7 km west of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 11:16 am (GMT +3) (18 Jan 2021 08:16:13 GMT)
2.1

65 km
(76 km)12 km west of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey 1 reportMoreMap
18 Jan 2021 8:09 am (GMT +3) (18 Jan 2021 05:09:17 GMT)
2.3

13 km
(50 km)Aegean Sea, 37 km west of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 1:50 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 11:50:43 GMT)
2.1

5.4 km
Nisyros (50 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 24 km northwest of Embonas, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 6:47 am (GMT +3) (17 Jan 2021 03:47:49 GMT)
2.8

13 km
Akyarlar (11 km)6.3 km south of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 01:03:18 GMT
1.9

12 km
Nisyros (86 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceMEDITERRANEAN SEA, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 6:18 pm (GMT +2) (16 Jan 2021 16:18:22 GMT)
1.9

5 km
Nisyros (101 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceMEDITERRANEAN SEA, Greece MoreMap
16 Jan 2021 8:27 am (GMT +2) (16 Jan 2021 06:27:29 GMT)
2.3

24 km
Nisyros (112 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 19 km northwest of Karpathos Island, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 2:12 am (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 00:12:06 GMT)
1.9

6.7 km
Nisyros (20 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceONIKI ADALAR (MEDITERRANEAN SEA), Greece MoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
10 Jan 2021 10:38 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 19:38:05 GMT)
2.2

6.5 km
Akyarlar (87 km)12 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 7:47 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 16:47:19 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Akyarlar (84 km)10.7 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 7:43 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 16:43:01 GMT)
2.1

5.8 km
Akyarlar (84 km)11 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 5:54 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 14:54:12 GMT)
2.4

4.4 km
Akyarlar (85 km)9.2 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 5:05 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 14:05:45 GMT)
2.1

8.2 km
Akyarlar (87 km)11 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 4:37 pm (GMT +3) (10 Jan 2021 13:37:19 GMT)
2.3

4.1 km
Akyarlar (83 km)12 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 3:24 am (GMT +2) (10 Jan 2021 01:24:55 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Nisyros (8 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 2.1 km south of Nisida Pacheia Island, Greece MoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 21:30:01 GMT
3.9

10 km
Nisyros (61 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 27 km southwest of Chalki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 11:29 pm (GMT +2) (6 Jan 2021 21:29:57 GMT)
3.9

124 km
Nisyros (24 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 10.2 km south of Kéfalos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 12:21 pm (GMT +2) (6 Jan 2021 10:21:48 GMT)
2.1

14 km
Nisyros (52 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 5.6 km southwest of Nisi Chalki Island, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
4 Jan 2021 1:14 am (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 23:14:38 GMT)
2.5

18 km
Nisyros (96 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 21 km southwest of Kattavia, Greece MoreMap
4 Jan 2021 12:17 am (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 22:17:26 GMT)
2.0

8.2 km
Nisyros (109 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 27 km south of Kattavia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 10:51 pm (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 20:51:29 GMT)
2.7

25 km
Nisyros (99 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 23 km southwest of Kattavia, Greece MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 10:46 pm (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 20:46:07 GMT)
1.9

21 km
Nisyros (99 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 21 km southwest of Kattavia, Greece MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 17:18:55 GMT)
2.2

20 km
Nisyros (95 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 21 km southwest of Каттавия, Greece MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 6:54 pm (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 16:54:51 GMT)
2.0

10.9 km
Nisyros (101 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 20 km south of Каттавия, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT)
2 Jan 2021 7:34 pm (GMT +2) (2 Jan 2021 17:34:49 GMT)
2.0

5.1 km
Nisyros (80 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 8.5 km northwest of Kattavia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 7:31 pm (GMT +2) (2 Jan 2021 17:31:05 GMT)
2.5

6 km
Nisyros (67 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 17 km south of Chalki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 10:32:52 GMT
2.1

50 km
Nisyros (93 km) - Dodecanese Islands, Greece5.3 km southeast of Kattavia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 4:14 am (GMT +2) (2 Jan 2021 02:14:21 GMT)
2.3

9.6 km
Nisyros (62 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 24 km southwest of Chalki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 3:43 am (GMT +2) (2 Jan 2021 01:43:09 GMT)
2.4

9.2 km
Nisyros (64 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 32 km north of Olympos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 11:40 pm (GMT +3) (1 Jan 2021 20:40:37 GMT)
1.9

6.9 km
Nisyros (67 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 8.1 km southeast of Symi, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 6:36 pm (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 16:36:22 GMT)
4.0

40 km
Nisyros (98 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceEastern Mediterranean, 11 km southeast of Kattavia, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
1 Jan 2021 4:48 pm (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 14:48:10 GMT)
2.0

7 km
Nisyros (77 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 9 km south of Monolithos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 4:48 pm (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 14:48:08 GMT)
2.6

10 km
Nisyros (91 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 6.6 km south of Nisida Karavolas Island, Greece MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 4:48 pm (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 14:48:07 GMT)
2.4

7 km
Nisyros (77 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 19 km west of Kattavia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 (GMT)
31 Dec 2020 4:48 am (GMT +3) (31 Dec 2020 01:48:12 GMT)
2.0

11 km
Akyarlar (76 km)10.9 km southwest of İçmeler, Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
31 Dec 2020 12:31 am (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 22:31:52 GMT)
2.8

49 km
Nisyros (85 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 11 km west of Rhodes, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 9:40 pm (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 19:40:32 GMT)
2.4

29 km
Nisyros (65 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 10.6 km south of Chalki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 2:47 pm (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 12:47:24 GMT)
2.2

2.5 km
Nisyros (21 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 24 km south of Mandraki, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 8:13 am (GMT +3) (30 Dec 2020 05:13:41 GMT)
1.9

7.6 km
Akyarlar (37 km)Aegean Sea, 19 km north of Datça, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 5:14 am (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 03:14:49 GMT)
1.9

9.8 km
Nisyros (55 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 92 km southwest of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 3:18 am (GMT +3) (30 Dec 2020 00:18:35 GMT)
2.0

7 km
Akyarlar (85 km)1.4 km southwest of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 3:18 am (GMT +3) (30 Dec 2020 00:18:34 GMT)
2.4

6.2 km
Akyarlar (86 km)1.9 km north of Marmaris, Muğla, Turkey 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 (GMT)
29 Dec 2020 12:14 pm (GMT +2) (29 Dec 2020 10:14:06 GMT)
2.5

14 km
Nisyros (75 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 11 km east of Nisida Sýla Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT)
29 Dec 2020 12:55 am (GMT +2) (28 Dec 2020 22:55:29 GMT)
3.8

112 km
Nisyros (37 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 38 km south of Kéfalos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 1011 joules (96.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 82.7 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel