Earthquakes in the Dodecanese Islands and SW Turkey

Updated 9 Mar 2021 11:12 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Dodecanese Islands & SW Turkey was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 12 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 88 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 102 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.1 quake Aegean Sea, 39 km west of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece, 24 Feb 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 3.0 quake Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km south of Sarigerme, Ortaca, Muğla, Turkey, 9 Mar 2021 9:39 am (GMT +3)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km south of Sarigerme, Ortaca, Muğla, Turkey, 9 Mar 2021 9:40 am (GMT +3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakespast 30 days, magnitude 2.4 or higher (60 out of 204 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, 9 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Mar 2021 9:40 am (GMT +3) (9 Mar 2021 06:40:52 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(133 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km south of Sarigerme, Ortaca, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
9 Mar 2021 9:39 am (GMT +3) (9 Mar 2021 06:39:13 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(135 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km south of Sarigerme, Ortaca, Muğla, Turkey
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 10:02 pm (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 20:02:45 GMT)
2.7

54 km
(171 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 22 km southeast of Palekastro, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 4:39 pm (GMT +3) (5 Mar 2021 13:39:33 GMT)
2.5

4 km
(64 km)37 km southwest of Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 11:01 am (GMT +3) (4 Mar 2021 08:01:07 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(80 km)9.9 km northwest of Yatağan, Muğla, Turkey
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 10:01 pm (GMT +2) (1 Mar 2021 20:01:44 GMT)
2.9

30 km
(70 km)Aegean Sea, 49 km northwest of Karpathos Island, Greece MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 10:01 pm (GMT +2) (1 Mar 2021 20:01:41 GMT)
2.4

5 km
(103 km)Aegean Sea, Greece MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 2:49 pm (GMT +2) (1 Mar 2021 12:49:46 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(144 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 16 km southeast of Kasos Island, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 1:24 pm (GMT +3) (28 Feb 2021 10:24:57 GMT)
2.4

6.9 km
(139 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 44 km southwest of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:10 am (GMT +2) (28 Feb 2021 08:10:32 GMT)
2.6

5 km
(140 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 19 km south of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:10 am (GMT +2) (28 Feb 2021 08:10:31 GMT)
2.8

10.5 km
(121 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 27 km south of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 10:30 am (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 08:30:54 GMT)
2.5

23 km
(169 km)21 km southeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 3:30 am (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 01:30:03 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(159 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 55 km southeast of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 12:05 am (GMT +2) (26 Feb 2021 22:05:21 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(148 km)20 km northeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 3:41 am (GMT +3) (25 Feb 2021 00:41:23 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(140 km)54 km south of Denizli, Turkey MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT +2) (24 Feb 2021 20:42:05 GMT)
2.6

11 km
(122 km)Aegean Sea, 95 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +2) (24 Feb 2021 10:51:52 GMT)
4.1

23 km
(119 km)Aegean Sea, 39 km west of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
24 Feb 2021 6:15 am (GMT +2) (24 Feb 2021 04:15:47 GMT)
3.5

14 km
(163 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 44 km south of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 8:23 pm (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 18:23:00 GMT)
2.4

5 km
(158 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 68 km southwest of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:17 am (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 06:17:44 GMT)
3.2

10 km
(161 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 28 km south of Kasos Island, Greece 2 reportsMoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:05 am (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 01:05:47 GMT)
2.4

5.4 km
(118 km)Aegean Sea, 68 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:05 am (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 01:05:47 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(135 km)Aegean Sea, 73 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 11:55 pm (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 21:55:00 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(137 km)35 km southwest of Karpathos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 6:48 pm (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 16:48:57 GMT)
2.7

13 km
(108 km)Aegean Sea, 80 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 4:54 pm (GMT +3) (22 Feb 2021 13:54:54 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(152 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 25 km southwest of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey 1 reportMoreMap
22 Feb 2021 6:12 am (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 04:12:38 GMT)
2.6

15 km
(112 km)Aegean Sea, 68 km northeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 4:28 am (GMT +2) (21 Feb 2021 02:28:16 GMT)
2.6

7 km
(111 km)Aegean Sea, 92 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 9:28 pm (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 19:28:08 GMT)
2.9

18 km
(59 km)Aegean Sea, 54 km north of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 7:00 pm (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 17:00:44 GMT)
4.0

10.8 km
(102 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 37 km south of Rhodes Island, Greece 4 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (9 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 1:57 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 23:57:36 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(78 km)Aegean Sea, 34 km northeast of Karpathos Island, Greece MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 1:57 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 23:57:33 GMT)
2.8

30 km
(87 km)Aegean Sea, 43 km southwest of Rhodes Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 23:57:31 GMT
2.9

10 km
(115 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 52 km south of Rhodes Island, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:55 pm (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 12:55:17 GMT)
2.6

14 km
(129 km)Aegean Sea, 22 km northwest of Kasos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 7:22 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 05:22:49 GMT)
2.5

4.7 km
(75 km)Aegean Sea, 6.2 km northwest of Astypalaia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 6:09 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 04:09:31 GMT)
2.9

22 km
(67 km)Aegean Sea, 13 km northeast of Astypalaia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 5:12 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 03:12:36 GMT)
2.5

10.2 km
(71 km)Aegean Sea, 1.8 km east of Astypalaia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 4:39 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 02:39:37 GMT)
2.4

15 km
(66 km)Aegean Sea, 13 km northeast of Astypalaia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:28 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 00:28:40 GMT)
3.1

126 km
(74 km)Aegean Sea, 70 km southeast of Santorini Island, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 12:21 am (GMT +3) (16 Feb 2021 21:21:54 GMT)
2.4

8.8 km
(161 km)Denizli, 52 km north of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 5:04 pm (GMT +2) (15 Feb 2021 15:04:47 GMT)
3.0

65 km
(69 km)Aegean Sea, 20 km north of Rhodes Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 7:57 pm (GMT +2) (14 Feb 2021 17:57:33 GMT)
2.4

18 km
(65 km)Aegean Sea, 44 km north of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:26 am (GMT +3) (14 Feb 2021 01:26:09 GMT)
2.7

2 km
Akyarlar (27 km)17 km east of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 3:09 am (GMT +3) (14 Feb 2021 00:09:10 GMT)
2.4

11 km
Akyarlar (27 km)17 km east of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 1:49 am (GMT +3) (13 Feb 2021 22:49:48 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Akyarlar (2 km)10.3 km southwest of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:49 am (GMT +3) (13 Feb 2021 22:49:40 GMT)
2.5

2 km
Akyarlar (55 km)11 km southeast of Milas, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:49 am (GMT +3) (13 Feb 2021 22:49:40 GMT)
2.6

11 km
Akyarlar (95 km)7.7 km southeast of Milas, Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 3:53 am (GMT +2) (12 Feb 2021 01:53:07 GMT)
3.3

127 km
(73 km)88 km southwest of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 11:14 pm (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 21:14:24 GMT)
2.6

18 km
(119 km)Aegean Sea, 63 km northeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 9:35 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 07:35:57 GMT)
3.2

13 km
(105 km)Aegean Sea, 66 km northeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 5:23 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 03:23:41 GMT)
2.7

29 km
(65 km)Aegean Sea, 47 km north of Karpathos Island, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:43 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 01:43:48 GMT)
3.0

169 km
Akyarlar (91 km)Aegean Sea, 72 km east of Naxos Island, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 2:04 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 00:04:30 GMT)
3.3

10 km
(78 km)Aegean Sea, 26 km northeast of Amorgos Island, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 1:12 am (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 23:12:22 GMT)
2.7

56 km
(213 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 122 km southeast of Rhodes, Greece MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 7:25 pm (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 17:25:42 GMT)
2.5

9.4 km
(95 km)Aegean Sea, 28 km northeast of Karpathos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 5:54 pm (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 15:54:59 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Akyarlar (103 km)Aegean Sea, 60 km southwest of Karlovasi, Samos, North Aegean, Greece MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 3:58 pm (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 13:58:47 GMT)
2.4

40 km
(116 km)Aegean Sea, Greece MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 10:15 am (GMT +3) (9 Feb 2021 07:15:04 GMT)
2.6

7.7 km
Akyarlar (125 km)29 km east of Muğla, Turkey MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 04:17:59 GMT
2.6

7.1 km
(117 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 27 km east of Karpathos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 6:17 am (GMT +2) (8 Feb 2021 04:17:55 GMT)
2.7

9.1 km
(147 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 49 km southeast of Karpathos, Greece MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 5:57 pm (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 15:57:51 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Nisyros (18 km) - Dodecanese Islands, GreeceAegean Sea, 50 km east of Amorgos Island, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.4 x 1011 joules (65.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 56.5 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel