Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
16 quakes Mag. 3+
0 quakes Mag. 4+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near El Salvador - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.8 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southeast of Acajutla, El Salvador - 4 hours ago
Strongest past 7 daysMag. 3.8 North Pacific Ocean, 96 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador - 3 days ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 22:57 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near El Salvador in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near El Salvador, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, El Salvador has had 6 quakes of magnitude 2.0+, the largest largest being a 2.9 quake.

In the past 7 days, El Salvador has had 46 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.8:

  • 16 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 28 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Latest today: Mag. 2.8 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 48 km SE of Acajutla, El Salvador -
Strongest: Mag. 3.8 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 96 km S of Sonsonate, El Salvador -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 7 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (46 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 01:14 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 19:14 GMT

2.8

29 km
34 km (21 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southeast of Acajutla, El Salvador More
Feb 29, 12:30 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 18:30 GMT

2.5

20 km
46 km (29 mi) to the W 81 Km Al Sur De Las Brisas, Guatemala More
Feb 29, 05:25 pm (universal)
Feb 29, 17:25 GMT

2.9

24 km
61 km (38 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 81 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Feb 29, 09:37 am (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 15:37 GMT

2.9

22 km
39 km (24 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 45 km south of Acajutla, El Salvador More
Feb 29, 09:02 am (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 15:02 GMT

2.5

5 km
30 km (19 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 40 km south of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador More
Feb 29, 09:02 am (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 15:02 GMT

2.4

18 km
42 km (26 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 61 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (5 quakes)
Feb 28, 03:25 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 21:25 GMT

3.2

31 km
58 km (36 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 94 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 12:43 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 18:43 GMT

2.7

16 km
45 km (28 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Feb 28, 11:15 am (El Salvador)
Feb 28, 17:15 GMT

3.0

84 km
40 km northwest of San Miguel, Departamento de San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 10:16 am (Guatemala)
Feb 28, 16:16 GMT

2.6

7 km
1 km (0.6 mi) to the W 26 km south of Jutiapa, Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Feb 27, 06:06 pm (El Salvador)
Feb 28, 00:06 GMT

2.4

5 km
8.7 km northwest of San Vicente, San Vicente, El Salvador More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1011 joules (28.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 24.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

El Salvador Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 10,000 quakes on average per year in El Salvador:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.07 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 14.3 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.38 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.6 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 6.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 102 quakes per year (or 8.5 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 455 quakes per year (or 37.9 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 943 quakes per year (or 79 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 1,000 quakes per year (or 2.8 quakes per day)
El Salvador has a high level of seismic activity. El Salvador has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near El Salvador by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (6 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (46 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
16 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (34.78%)
2+
28 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (60.87%)
below M2
2 quakes
(4.35%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (286 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.7%)
4+
11 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.85%)
3+
104 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (36.36%)
2+
155 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (54.2%)
below M2
14 quakes
(4.9%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (763 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.26%)
4+
34 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.46%)
3+
253 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (33.16%)
2+
404 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (52.95%)
below M2
70 quakes
(9.17%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3,611 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.03%)
5+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.11%)
4+
155 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.29%)
3+
1,110 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (30.74%)
2+
2,012 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (55.72%)
below M2
329 quakes
(9.11%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (7,915 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.01%)
5+
25 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.32%)
4+
368 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.65%)
3+
2,553 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (32.26%)
2+
4,162 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (52.58%)
below M2
806 quakes
(10.18%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10,495 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.04%)
5+
65 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.62%)
4+
964 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (9.19%)
3+
3,591 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (34.22%)
2+
4,976 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (47.41%)
below M2
895 quakes
(8.53%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours6 quakes-6-----
Past 7 days46 quakes22816----
Past 30 days286 quakes14155104112--
Past 90 days763 quakes70404253342--
Past 365 days3,611 quakes3182,0121,11015541-
Past 3 years7,915 quakes7954,1622,553368251-
Past 10 years10,495 quakes8844,9763,591964654-
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

El Salvador Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in El Salvador?

El Salvador has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 10,000 quakes on average per year in El Salvador. El Salvador has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in El Salvador?

The last earthquake in El Salvador occurred 4 hours ago:

A light magnitude 2.8 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  El Salvador around noon of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 1.14 pm local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 29 km (18 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in El Salvador in the past 7 days?

In the past 7 days, El Salvador has had 16 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 28 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in El Salvador in the past 7 days?

The strongest earthquake in El Salvador in the past 7 days occurred 3 days ago:

A moderate magnitude 3.8 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  El Salvador in the afternoon of Monday, Feb 26, 2024 at 4.32 pm local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 9 km (5.6 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near El Salvador

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near El Salvador during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.9 earthquake that hit North Pacific Ocean,  El Salvador, 7 years ago on Thursday, Nov 24, 2016, at 12:43 pm (GMT -6).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 7.7 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador - Jan 13, 2001 - 23 years ago
23 years ago, North Pacific Ocean,  El Salvador, was hit by a magnitude 7.7 quake on Saturday, Jan 13, 2001, at 11:33 am local time (America/El Salvador GMT -6). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near El Salvador in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near El Salvador in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jul 19, 2023 00:22 GMT
Jul 18, 2023 06:22 pm (GMT -6)
6.5

70 km
39 km (24 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 75 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador 343 reportsMore
Dec 15, 2022 14:32 GMT
Dec 15, 2022 08:32 am (GMT -6)
5.7

74 km
28 km (17 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 45 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador 41 reportsMore
Nov 4, 2022 04:26 GMT
Nov 3, 2022 10:26 pm (GMT -6)
5.7

57 km
37 km (23 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador 149 reportsMore
May 12, 2021 08:45 GMT
May 12, 2021 02:45 am (El Salvador)
5.9

37 km
20 km (12 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador 107 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2019 05:54 GMT
Jul 30, 2019 11:54 pm (El Salvador)
5.9

77 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 19 km southeast of La Libertad, El Salvador 124 reportsMore
May 30, 2019 09:03 GMT
May 30, 2019 03:03 am (El Salvador)
6.6

65 km
23 km (14 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 28 km south of La Libertad, El Salvador 324 reportsMore
Oct 28, 2018 22:23 GMT
Oct 28, 2018 04:23 pm (GMT -6)
5.8

10 km
80 km (50 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 84 km southwest of Acajutla, El Salvador 2 reportsMore
Apr 2, 2018 23:23 GMT
Apr 2, 2018 05:23 pm (El Salvador)
5.7

80 km
18 km (11 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 28 km southwest of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador 24 reportsMore
May 12, 2017 10:41 GMT
May 12, 2017 04:41 am (GMT -6)
6.0

10 km
72 km (45 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 126 km southwest of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador 10 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2016 18:43 GMT
Nov 24, 2016 12:43 pm (GMT -6)
6.9

10 km
145 km (90 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 199 km south of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador 29 reportsMore
Aug 27, 2012 04:37 GMT
Aug 26, 2012 10:37 pm (GMT -6)
7.3

20 km
101 km (63 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 173 km southeast of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador More
Aug 27, 2012 04:37 GMT
Aug 26, 2012 10:37 pm (GMT -6)
7.3

28 km
117 km (73 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 184 km south of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador More
Jan 13, 2001 17:33 GMT
Jan 13, 2001 11:33 am (El Salvador)
7.7

60 km
19 km (12 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Jun 19, 1982 06:21 GMT
Jun 19, 1982 12:21 am (El Salvador)
7.3

73 km
18 km (11 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 45 km southwest of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador More
May 21, 1932 10:10 GMT
May 21, 1932 04:10 am (El Salvador)
7.1

15 km
Departamento de La Union, 9 km southeast of Chirilagua, El Salvador More
Feb 8, 1926 15:18 GMT
Feb 8, 1926 09:18 am (GMT -6)
7.2

20 km
101 km (63 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 165 km south of San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador More

Map of largest quakes in or near El Salvador

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near El Salvador

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings