Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU


Latest quakes in or near Europe in the past 24 hours on Monday, December 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 5, 2022 16:14 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 60 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 236 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Europe was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.1, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 60 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 236 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Vrancea, Romania, 21 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | 33 km SE of Euboea Island, Central Greece -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | 35 km NW of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Europe (updated )

Past 24 hours231 quakes60 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days1,849 quakes550 quakes M2+69 quakes M3+13 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days7,547 quakes2,131 quakes M2+267 quakes M3+40 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days30,638 quakes7,188 quakes M2+995 quakes M3+128 quakes M4+10 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days107,097 quakes27,178 quakes M2+3,569 quakes M3+444 quakes M4+43 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 2 or higher (70 out of 305 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 5, 2022 GMT (49 quakes)
Dec 5, 2022 3:37 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 5, 2022 15:37 GMT)
?

n/a
5.8 km northwest of Algiers, Alger (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 5, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 15:17 GMT)
2.2

13 km
33 km southeast of Euboea Island, Central Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 5:16 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 15:16 GMT)
2.1

17 km
Ionian Sea, 4.1 km north of Xylokastro, Corinthia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 3:47 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 14:47 GMT)
2.1

8.5 km
15 km east of Citta di Castello, Provincia di Perugia, Umbria, Italy More
Dec 5, 2022 2:47 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 5, 2022 14:47 GMT)
2.1

4.4 km
Iceland: 4.5 Km W of Dreki More
Dec 5, 2022 3:44 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 14:44 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Adriatic Sea, 34 km north of Brindisi, Apulia, Italy More
Dec 5, 2022 3:43 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 14:43 GMT)
3.7

8.7 km
41 km north of Perudzha, Provincia di Perugia, Umbria, Italy
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Dec 5, 2022 2:40 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 5, 2022 14:40 GMT)
2.6

0.9 km
Iceland: 40.0 Km SW of Hólmavík
I FELT IT
More
Dec 5, 2022 4:36 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 14:36 GMT)
2.5

15 km
Aegean Sea, 23 km north of Skyros, Euboea, Central Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 2:25 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 13:25 GMT)
2.1
24 km southwest of Borås, Provincia de Västra Götaland, Sweden More
Dec 5, 2022 4:17 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 5, 2022 13:17 GMT)
2.1

4.9 km
10.4 km west of Düzce, Turkey More
Dec 5, 2022 2:14 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 13:14 GMT)
2.4

13 km
Alboran Sea, 40 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Dec 5, 2022 1:00 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 5, 2022 13:00 GMT)
2.0

3.9 km
Iceland: 12.5 Km S of Eiríksjökull More
Dec 5, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 12:53 GMT)
2.1

8.2 km
Adriatic Sea, 25 km northeast of Senigallia, Italy More
Dec 5, 2022 2:48 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 12:48 GMT)
2.9

22 km
15 km southwest of Rhodos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 3:47 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 5, 2022 12:47 GMT)
3.5

90 km
Denizli, 8.5 km west of Belek, Antalya, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Dec 5, 2022 1:28 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 5, 2022 12:28 GMT)
2.5
27 km west of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden More
Dec 5, 2022 2:01 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 12:01 GMT)
2.1

20 km
Ionian Sea, 3.7 km north of Xylokastro, Corinthia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 1:49 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 11:49 GMT)
2.1
9.6 km northwest of Keuruu, Finlande-Centrale More
Dec 5, 2022 1:47 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 5, 2022 11:47 GMT)
2.4

10 km
Aegean Sea, 7.7 km southeast of Skopelos, Magnesia, Thessaly, Greece More
Dec 5, 2022 10:22 am (GMT -1) (Dec 5, 2022 11:22 GMT)
3.0

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1011 joules (45.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 39 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Black Forest Observatory, Schiltach, Germany (IBFO/II network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Black Forest Observatory, Schiltach, Germany: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Europe Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Europe?

The last earthquake in Europe occurred 57 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.2 earthquake - 33 km southeast of Euboea Island, Central Greece, on Monday, Dec 5, 2022 at 5:17 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Europe today?

In the past 24 hours, Europe had 70 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in Europe today?

The strongest earthquake in Europe today occurred 21 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 35 km northwest of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania, on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 9:39 pm (GMT +2).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings