Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near France: past 30 days

Updated Sep 28, 2021 05:46 GMT -
During the past 30 days, France was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 61 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 934 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.4 quake 7.6 km north of Albstadt, Tübingen Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany, Sep 13, 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 3.1 quake 18 km west of Toulouse, Upper Garonne, Occitanie, France, Sep 27, 2021 8:21 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 6 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.2 or higher (46 out of 1000 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 04:53 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 6:53 am (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 04:53 GMT)
?

n/a
Pisa, 6.1 km north of Livorno, Tuscany, Italy (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 5:46 am (GMT +1) (Sep 28, 2021 04:46 GMT)
?

n/a
West Sussex, 13 km northwest of Brighton, England, United Kingdom (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 06:21 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 27, 2021 8:21 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 06:21 GMT)
3.1

5 km
190 km (118 mi)18 km west of Toulouse, Upper Garonne, Occitanie, France
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 8:21 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 06:21 GMT)
2.9

25 km
376 km (234 mi)35 km northwest of Nice, Alpes-Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 7:41 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 05:41 GMT)
2.2

5 km
402 km (250 mi)Western Mediterranean, 69 km southeast of Sanremo, Imperia, Liguria, Italy MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 21:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 25, 2021 21:59 GMT)
2.2

30 km
410 km (255 mi)4.8 km west of Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 4:38 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 15:38 GMT)
?

n/a
722 km (449 mi)Somerset, 24 km south of Bristol, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 19:20 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 24, 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 19:20 GMT)
2.3

10.8 km
217 km (135 mi)France: Near Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 12:04 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 10:04 GMT)
2.6

8.6 km
240 km (149 mi)11 km southwest of Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrénées, Occitanie, France
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 11:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 23, 2021 1:38 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 11:38 GMT)
2.8
476 km (296 mi)English Channel, 27 km north of Caen, Calvados, Normandy, France
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 08:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 22, 2021 10:14 am (GMT +2) (Sep 22, 2021 08:14 GMT)
2.4
323 km (201 mi)Western Mediterranean, 21 km southeast of Hyeres, France MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 14:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 21, 2021 4:34 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 14:34 GMT)
2.2

18 km
256 km (159 mi)Deux-Sèvres, 37 km west of Poitiers, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France MoreMap
Monday, September 20, 2021 08:17 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 20, 2021 10:17 am (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 08:17 GMT)
2.3

12 km
294 km (183 mi)Zamora, 31 km north of Salamanca, Castille and Leon, Spain MoreMap
Sep 20, 2021 6:26 am (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 04:26 GMT)
?

n/a
209 km (130 mi)Near Schwäbisch Hall, Baden-Württemberg, Germany (unconfirmed) 1043 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 05:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 7:02 am (GMT +2) (Sep 18, 2021 05:02 GMT)
2.6

5 km
308 km (191 mi)Ligurian Sea, France, 32 km northwest of Capraia Island, Livorno, Tuscany, Italy MoreMap
Friday, September 17, 2021 12:16 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 17, 2021 2:16 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 12:16 GMT)
2.2

23 km
379 km (235 mi)14 km south of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 2:14 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 12:14 GMT)
2.6

31 km
381 km (237 mi)13 km south of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 2:13 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 12:13 GMT)
2.6

24 km
375 km (233 mi)16 km south of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 19:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 9:33 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 15, 2021 19:33 GMT)
3.3

27 km
392 km (244 mi)37 km southwest of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy 2 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 17:46 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Sep 14, 2021 7:46 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 17:46 GMT)
2.3

30 km
404 km (251 mi)5 km southwest of Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 7:45 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 17:45 GMT)
2.9

31 km
406 km (252 mi)4.7 km southwest of Salsomaggiore Terme, Italy 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 2:04 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 12:04 GMT)
2.2
25 km (16 mi)5.4 km northwest of Issoire, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 4:16 am (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 02:16 GMT)
2.6

8.6 km
362 km (225 mi)20 km southwest of Reggio Emilia, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 4:13 am (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 02:13 GMT)
2.4

5.7 km
361 km (224 mi)20 km southwest of Reggio Emilia, Emilia-Romagna, Italy 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 14, 2021 4:02 am (GMT +2) (Sep 14, 2021 02:02 GMT)
2.2

23 km
357 km (222 mi)19 km southwest of Reggio Emilia, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Monday, September 13, 2021 20:48 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 13, 2021 10:48 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 13, 2021 20:48 GMT)
2.2

62 km
400 km (249 mi)8.9 km south of Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 12:38 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 13, 2021 10:38 GMT)
2.6

6 km
264 km (164 mi)18 km southwest of Reutlingen, Tübingen Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany 4 reportsMoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 13, 2021 10:36 GMT)
3.4

9 km
268 km (167 mi)7.6 km north of Albstadt, Tübingen Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany 231 reportsMoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 4:43 am (GMT +2) (Sep 13, 2021 02:43 GMT)
2.5

12 km
267 km (166 mi)9.3 km north of Albstadt, Tübingen Region, Baden-Württemberg, Germany 55 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, September 12, 2021 21:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 12, 2021 11:45 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 12, 2021 21:45 GMT)
2.2

9 km
42 km (26 mi)14 km north of Blanes, Girona, Catalonia, Spain MoreMap
Friday, September 10, 2021 04:29 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 10, 2021 6:29 am (GMT +2) (Sep 10, 2021 04:29 GMT)
3.1

2 km
209 km (130 mi)36 km south of Tarbes, Hautes-Pyrénées, Occitanie, France 5 reportsMoreMap
Sep 10, 2021 6:28 am (GMT +2) (Sep 10, 2021 04:28 GMT)
2.5

2 km
216 km (134 mi)26 km southeast of Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrénées, Occitanie, France 7 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 21:59 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 8, 2021 9:59 pm (GMT +0) (Sep 8, 2021 21:59 GMT)
2.4

4.5 km
216 km (134 mi)Western Mediterranean, 150 km south of Marseille, France MoreMap
Sep 8, 2021 1:59 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 8, 2021 11:59 GMT)
2.5

2 km
491 km (305 mi)English Channel, 13 km north of Bayeux, Calvados, Normandy, France 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 8, 2021 7:29 am (GMT +2) (Sep 8, 2021 05:29 GMT)
2.4

8 km
312 km (194 mi)13 km south of Briançon, Hautes-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 8, 2021 4:02 am (GMT +2) (Sep 8, 2021 02:02 GMT)
2.5

5 km
365 km (227 mi)51 km northwest of Nice, Alpes-Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France MoreMap
Monday, September 6, 2021 22:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 7, 2021 12:40 am (GMT +2) (Sep 6, 2021 22:40 GMT)
2.6

4 km
300 km (186 mi)Zamora, 30 km north of Salamanca, Castille and Leon, Spain MoreMap
Sunday, September 5, 2021 23:33 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 6, 2021 1:33 am (GMT +2) (Sep 5, 2021 23:33 GMT)
1.9

1.3 km
311 km (193 mi)14 km south of Briançon, Hautes-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France 5 reportsMoreMap
Sep 5, 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 5, 2021 21:52 GMT)
?

n/a
631 km (392 mi)5.8 km north of Brest, Finistere, Brittany, France (unconfirmed) 39 reportsMoreMap
Sep 5, 2021 9:15 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 5, 2021 19:15 GMT)
1.3

2.7 km
300 km (186 mi)1.8 km east of Bourg-Saint-Maurice, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France MoreMap
Thursday, September 2, 2021 16:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 2, 2021 6:17 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 2, 2021 16:17 GMT)
3.3

2 km
210 km (130 mi)Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire, 30 km northeast of Châtellerault, France MoreMap
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 07:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 1, 2021 9:42 am (GMT +2) (Sep 1, 2021 07:42 GMT)
?

n/a
347 km (216 mi)26 km east of Montreuil, Seine-Saint-Denis, Île-de-France (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 04:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 31, 2021 6:09 am (GMT +2) (Aug 31, 2021 04:09 GMT)
2.6

10 km
299 km (186 mi)27 km northwest of Pau, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France MoreMap
Monday, August 30, 2021 07:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 30, 2021 9:32 am (GMT +2) (Aug 30, 2021 07:32 GMT)
2.3

3 km
474 km (295 mi)Provincia de Burgos, Castille and Leon, 40 km south of Santander, Spain MoreMap
Sunday, August 29, 2021 23:06 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 29, 2021 11:06 pm (GMT +0) (Aug 29, 2021 23:06 GMT)
2.3

5 km
272 km (169 mi)Western Mediterranean, 65 km south of Toulon, France MoreMap
Aug 29, 2021 10:15 am (GMT +2) (Aug 29, 2021 08:15 GMT)
2.7

9.2 km
453 km (281 mi)19 km east of Voghera, Provincia di Pavia, Lombardy, Italy MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1010 joules (10.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.02 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.