Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Guatemala in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 26, 2022 21:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 81 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 65 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 15 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Guatemala was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 24 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 81 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 65 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 15 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.7 | North Pacific Ocean, 41 km SW of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.1 | Caribbean Sea, Honduras, 28 km NE of Puerto Barrios, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Guatemala (updated )

Past 24 hours14 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days61 quakes | 24 quakes M2+ | 26 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days186 quakes | 65 quakes M2+ | 81 quakes M3+ | 24 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days652 quakes | 269 quakes M2+ | 242 quakes M3+ | 75 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days1,833 quakes | 602 quakes M2+ | 819 quakes M3+ | 300 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Guatemala | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.5 or higher (122 out of 186 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, September 26, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 26, 2022 7:01 am (GMT -6) (Sep 26, 2022 13:01 GMT)
3.7

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 26, 2022 4:39 am (GMT -5) (Sep 26, 2022 09:39 GMT)
4.0

176 km
12 km northwest of Motozintla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, September 25, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Sep 25, 2022 4:57 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 22:57 GMT)
3.9

2 km
22 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 25, 2022 4:42 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 22:42 GMT)
4.0

3 km
Honduras, 20 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 25, 2022 4:28 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 22:28 GMT)
4.0

2 km
20 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 4:15 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 22:15 GMT)
3.6

1 km
22 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 25, 2022 3:51 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 21:51 GMT)
3.9

1 km
Caribbean Sea, 34 km northeast of Puerto Barrios, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 3:30 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 21:30 GMT)
5.1

10 km
Caribbean Sea, Honduras, 28 km northeast of Puerto Barrios, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 144 reports
More
Sep 25, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 21:28 GMT)
4.5

19 km
Honduras, 25 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 25, 2022 4:18 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 25, 2022 21:18 GMT)
3.5

100 km
Mexico: 12 Km Al NOROESTE De MAPASTEPEC, CHIS
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 3:08 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 21:08 GMT)
3.9

1 km
21 Km Al Norte De Puerto Barrios, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 9 reports
More
Sep 25, 2022 5:38 am (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 11:38 GMT)
4.2

56 km
Mexico: 38 Km Al Suroeste De Mapastepec, México
I FELT IT
More
Sep 25, 2022 5:01 am (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2022 11:01 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Puerto Barrios, Izabal, Guatemala (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Saturday, September 24, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 24, 2022 1:49 am (GMT -6) (Sep 24, 2022 07:49 GMT)
3.7

23 km
Mexico: 84 Km Al SUROESTE De CD HIDALGO, CHIS
I FELT IT
More
Sep 23, 2022 6:14 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 24, 2022 00:14 GMT)
4.1

59 km
39 Km Al Suroeste De La Libertad, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Thursday, September 22, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 22, 2022 8:15 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2022 14:15 GMT)
4.4

29 km
86 Km Al Suroeste De El Semillero, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 22, 2022 12:35 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2022 06:35 GMT)
3.6

18 km
33 Km Al Suroeste De Champerico, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 21, 2022 2:58 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2022 20:58 GMT)
3.6

18 km
Mexico: 71 Km Al SUROESTE De HUIXTLA, CHIS
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 19, 2022 7:23 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 20, 2022 01:23 GMT)
3.5

33 km
16 Km Al Suroeste De El Semillero, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Monday, September 19, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Sep 19, 2022 7:17 am (GMT -5) (Sep 19, 2022 12:17 GMT)
4.1

16 km
Mexico: 8 Km Al SUROESTE De PALENQUE, CHIS 1 reportMore
Sep 19, 2022 4:29 am (GMT -6) (Sep 19, 2022 10:29 GMT)
4.2

68 km
Near Chichicastenango, Quiché, Guatemala 5 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1013 joules (4.42 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3806 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: COMITAN (CCIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station COMITAN: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Guatemala Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Guatemala?

The last earthquake in Guatemala occurred 9 hours ago: Light mag. 3.7 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Pueblo Nuevo, Guatemala, on Monday, Sep 26, 2022 at 7:01 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Guatemala past month?

In the past 30 days, Guatemala had 122 quakes up to magnitude 5.1.

What was the strongest quake in Guatemala past month?

The strongest earthquake in Guatemala past month occurred 1 day 0 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - Caribbean Sea, Honduras, 28 km northeast of Puerto Barrios, Guatemala, on Sunday, Sep 25, 2022 at 3:30 pm (GMT -6).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings