Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
15 quakes Mag. 3+
3 quakes Mag. 4+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Guatemala - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.9 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, Chinandega, Nicaragua - 1 hour and 51 minutes ago
Strongest past 7 daysMag. 5.1 32 km northwest of Chinandega, Chinandega, Nicaragua - 3 days ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 12:54 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Guatemala in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Guatemala, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Guatemala has had 2 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 3.1.

In the past 7 days, Guatemala has had 23 quakes of magnitudes up to 5.1:

  • 0 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Latest today: Mag. 2.9 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 57 km W of Chinandega, Chinandega, Nicaragua -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 7 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (105 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 05:02 am (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 11:02 GMT

2.9

37 km
286 km (178 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 57 km west of Chinandega, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Feb 29, 02:17 am (GMT -6)
Feb 29, 08:17 GMT

3.0

32 km
291 km (181 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 64 km southwest of Chinandega, Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (16 quakes)
Feb 28, 03:28 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 21:28 GMT

3.6

99 km
177 km (110 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 48 km south of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 03:25 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 21:25 GMT

3.2

31 km
218 km (135 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 94 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 03:04 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 21:04 GMT

3.7

31 km
278 km (173 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 84 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 01:58 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 19:58 GMT

3.6

26 km
128 km (80 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 129 km west of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 01:08 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 19:08 GMT

3.6

27 km
168 km (104 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 122 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 12:43 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 18:43 GMT

2.7

16 km
66 km (41 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Feb 28, 11:45 am (Mexico City)
Feb 28, 17:45 GMT

3.9

90 km
207 km (129 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, Oaxaca, 36 km southwest of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 11:15 am (El Salvador)
Feb 28, 17:15 GMT

3.0

84 km
124 km (77 mi) to the SE 40 km northwest of San Miguel, Departamento de San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 10:16 am (Guatemala)
Feb 28, 16:16 GMT

2.6

7 km
26 km south of Jutiapa, Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1012 joules (1.68 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1450 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Guatemala Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: COMITAN (CCIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station COMITAN: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 9,100 quakes on average per year in Guatemala:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.09 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 11.1 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.89 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 1.1 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 10.9 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 181 quakes per year (or 15.1 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 645 quakes per year (or 54 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 850 quakes per year (or 71 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 900 quakes per year (or 75 quakes per month)
Guatemala has a high level of seismic activity. Guatemala has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Guatemala by magnitude

7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (23 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (13.04%)
3+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (52.17%)
2+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (21.74%)
below M2
3 quakes
(13.04%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (166 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (7.83%)
3+
74 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (44.58%)
2+
68 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (40.96%)
below M2
11 quakes
(6.63%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (522 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.19%)
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.19%)
4+
47 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (9%)
3+
194 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (37.16%)
2+
226 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (43.3%)
below M2
53 quakes
(10.15%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,794 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.11%)
5+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.17%)
4+
166 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (9.25%)
3+
758 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (42.25%)
2+
715 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (39.86%)
below M2
150 quakes
(8.36%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4,854 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.08%)
5+
27 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.56%)
4+
608 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (12.53%)
3+
1,965 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (40.48%)
2+
1,772 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (36.51%)
below M2
478 quakes
(9.85%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (9,142 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.1%)
5+
103 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (1.13%)
4+
1,732 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (18.95%)
3+
4,709 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (51.51%)
2+
2,084 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (22.8%)
below M2
505 quakes
(5.52%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours2 quakes-11----
Past 7 days23 quakes35123---
Past 30 days166 quakes11687413---
Past 90 days522 quakes532261944711-
Past 365 days1,794 quakes15071575816632-
Past 3 years4,854 quakes4781,7721,965608274-
Past 10 years9,142 quakes5042,0844,7091,7321039-
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Guatemala Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in Guatemala?

Guatemala has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 9,100 quakes on average per year in Guatemala. Guatemala has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Guatemala?

The last earthquake in Guatemala occurred 1 hour and 51 minutes ago:

A light magnitude 2.9 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  Nicaragua in the early morning of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 5.02 am local time (GMT -6). The quake had a shallow depth of 37 km (23 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Guatemala in the past 7 days?

In the past 7 days, Guatemala was shaken by 0 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 12 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Guatemala in the past 7 days?

The strongest earthquake in Guatemala in the past 7 days occurred 3 days ago:

A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake hit 32 km (20 mi) away from Chinandega, Chinandega,  Nicaragua, in the early afternoon of Monday, Feb 26, 2024 at 3.35 pm local time (America/Managua GMT -6). The quake had a moderate depth of 184 km (114 mi) and was reported felt by some people near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Guatemala

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Guatemala during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.9 earthquake that hit Quetzaltenango,  Guatemala, 7 years ago on Wednesday, Jun 14, 2017, at 01:29 am local time (America/Guatemala GMT -6).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 7.7 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Escuintla, Guatemala - Aug 6, 1942 - 82 years ago
82 years ago, North Pacific Ocean,  Guatemala, was hit by a magnitude 7.7 quake on Thursday, Aug 6, 1942, at 05:37 pm local time (America/Guatemala GMT -6). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Guatemala in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Guatemala in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jan 27, 05:52 GMT
Jan 26, 11:52 pm (Guatemala)
6.1

108 km
Santa Rosa, 59 km south of Guatemala, Guatemala 263 reportsMore
May 17, 2023 23:02 GMT
May 17, 2023 05:02 pm (Guatemala)
6.4

252 km
Quiché, 67 km northwest of Guatemala, Guatemala 107 reportsMore
Feb 16, 2022 07:12 GMT
Feb 16, 2022 01:12 am (Guatemala)
6.2

84 km
33 km southwest of Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala 773 reportsMore
May 12, 2021 08:45 GMT
May 12, 2021 02:45 am (El Salvador)
5.9

37 km
27 km (17 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador 107 reportsMore
Jan 15, 2021 16:10 GMT
Jan 15, 2021 10:10 am (GMT -6)
6.1

16 km
55 km (34 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Champerico, Guatemala 34 reportsMore
Feb 1, 2019 16:14 GMT
Feb 1, 2019 10:14 am (Guatemala)
6.5

107 km
6.7 km west of Malacatan, San Marcos, Guatemala 207 reportsMore
Jun 22, 2017 12:31 GMT
Jun 22, 2017 06:31 am (Guatemala)
6.8

32 km
8 km (5 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 12 km southeast of San Jose, Guatemala 47 reportsMore
Jun 14, 2017 07:29 GMT
Jun 14, 2017 01:29 am (Guatemala)
6.9

104 km
4.8 km west of Cabrican, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala 59 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2016 14:11 GMT
Apr 15, 2016 08:11 am (GMT -6)
6.0

10 km
97 km (60 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 229 km southwest of Guatemala, Guatemala 9 reportsMore
Jul 7, 2014 11:23 GMT
Jul 7, 2014 06:23 am (Mexico City)
6.9

60 km
25 km (16 mi) to the W 1.2 km north of El Encanto, Chiapas, Mexico 46 reportsMore
Nov 7, 2012 16:35 GMT
Nov 7, 2012 10:35 am (GMT -6)
7.4

24 km
30 km (19 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 35 km south of Champerico, Guatemala 8 reportsMore
Sep 10, 1993 19:12 GMT
Sep 10, 1993 01:12 pm (Merida)
7.2

34 km
47 km (29 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southwest of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico More
Dec 2, 1983 03:09 GMT
Dec 1, 1983 09:09 pm (Guatemala)
7.0

67 km
20 km (12 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southwest of Quetzaltenango, Guatemala More
Feb 4, 1976 09:01 GMT
Feb 4, 1976 03:01 am (Guatemala)
7.5

5 km
32 km southwest of Morales, Izabal, Guatemala More
Apr 29, 1970 14:01 GMT
Apr 29, 1970 08:01 am (GMT -6)
7.3

35 km
44 km (27 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southwest of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico More
Oct 23, 1950 16:13 GMT
Oct 23, 1950 10:13 am (Guatemala)
7.2

65 km
1.9 km north of Champerico, Departamento de Retalhuleu, Guatemala More
Aug 6, 1942 23:37 GMT
Aug 6, 1942 05:37 pm (Guatemala)
7.7

35 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Escuintla, Guatemala More
Dec 14, 1935 22:05 GMT
Dec 14, 1935 04:05 pm (Mexico City)
7.3

35 km
23 km (14 mi) to the W 4.6 km east of Puerto Madero, Chiapas, Mexico More
Feb 4, 1921 08:22 GMT
Feb 4, 1921 02:22 am (Guatemala)
7.0

15 km
Quiché, 41 km northwest of San Cristobal, Alta Verapaz, Guatemala More
Apr 19, 1902 02:23 GMT
Apr 18, 1902 08:23 pm (Guatemala)
7.5

0 km
10.8 km southeast of La Gomera, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala More

Map of largest quakes in or near Guatemala

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Guatemala

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings