Latest earthquakes in or near India, past 30 days

Updated 21 Jun 2021 05:14 GMT -
During the past 30 days, India was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 72 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 77 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 33 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Bay of Bengal, 144 km northwest of Port Blair, India, 2021-06-18 17:12:47 IST
Biggest quake today: 4.8 quake China: 757km N of Tawang, Arunachal Pradesh, India, 2021-06-20 16:49:30 IST
Most recent quake: 3.0 quake Sonitpur, Assam, 20 km southwest of Itanagar, India, 2021-06-21 06:09:41 IST
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 4.2 or higher (59 out of 187 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 21 Jun 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Jun 2021 04:08:28 GMT
?

n/a
817 km (508 mi)2.6 km south of New Delhi, India (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
2021-06-21 06:09:41 IST (21 Jun 2021 00:39:41 GMT)
3.0

10 km
540 km (336 mi)Sonitpur, Assam, 20 km southwest of Itanagar, India
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 20 Jun 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2021-06-20 16:49:30 IST (20 Jun 2021 11:19:30 GMT)
4.8

750 km
189 km (117 mi)China: 757km N of Tawang, Arunachal Pradesh, India
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2021-06-20 14:15:39 IST (20 Jun 2021 08:45:39 GMT)
4.6

5 km
431 km (268 mi)Tibet, China, 286 km northeast of Dārchulā, Nepal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 19 Jun 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-06-20 01:31:43 IST (19 Jun 2021 20:01:43 GMT)
4.3

15 km
768 km (477 mi)Tibet, China, 147 km north of Pokhara, Kaski, Gandaki Pradesh, Nepal
I FELT IT
MoreMap
19 Jun 6:59 pm (GMT +5) (19 Jun 2021 13:59:14 GMT)
4.9

10 km
276 km (171 mi)South Wazīristān, 42 km west of Tank, Tānk, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
2021-06-19 13:49:02 IST (19 Jun 2021 08:19:02 GMT)
4.6

78 km
335 km (208 mi)69 km west of Leh, India
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 18 Jun 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Jun 2021 1:07 am (GMT +5:30) (18 Jun 2021 19:37:32 GMT)
4.2

30 km
550 km (342 mi)Udalguri, 8 km west of Dhekiajuli, Sonitpur, Assam, India
I FELT IT - 255 reports
MoreMap
2021-06-18 17:12:47 IST (18 Jun 2021 11:42:47 GMT)
5.2

10 km
143 km (89 mi)Bay of Bengal, 144 km northwest of Port Blair, India
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Thu, 17 Jun 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Jun 7:19 pm (GMT +5) (17 Jun 2021 14:19:38 GMT)
4.8

10 km
470 km (292 mi)Mānsehra, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 38 km north of Muzafarabad, Pakistan
I FELT IT - 69 reports
MoreMap
2021-06-17 16:44:44 IST (17 Jun 2021 11:14:44 GMT)
4.8

50 km
1154 km (717 mi)Bay of Bengal, Sri Lanka
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Wed, 16 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2021-06-16 08:01:58 IST (16 Jun 2021 02:31:58 GMT)
4.7

10 km
11 km (6.8 mi)Markazi Bihsud, Wardak, 64 km south of Bāmyān, Bamyan, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 15 Jun 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Jun 2021 2:52 am (GMT +5) (15 Jun 2021 21:52:45 GMT)
4.8

5 km
441 km (274 mi)35 km northwest of Chakwal, Chakwāl, Punjab, Pakistan
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
16 Jun 2021 2:22 am (GMT +4:30) (15 Jun 2021 21:52:18 GMT)
4.4

30 km
211 km (131 mi)Khūgyāṉī, 23 km southwest of Jalalabad, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
15 Jun 2021 9:16 pm (GMT +6:30) (15 Jun 2021 14:46:07 GMT)
4.4

10 km
207 km (129 mi)146 km north of Myitkyina, Myitkyinā District, Kachin State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 13 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Jun 2021 7:22 am (GMT +5:30) (13 Jun 2021 01:52:06 GMT)
4.6

10 km
736 km (457 mi)18 km southwest of Barnala, Punjab, India 3 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Jun 6:00 pm (GMT +8) (12 Jun 2021 10:00:48 GMT)
4.8

10 km
71 km (44 mi)Yunnan, China, 72 km southeast of Myitkyina, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Fri, 11 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Jun 2021 11:58 am (GMT +5:30) (11 Jun 2021 06:28:51 GMT)
4.6

10 km
1068 km (664 mi)11 km northeast of Muzaffarpur, Bihar, India 4 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 8 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2021-06-08 18:56:44 IST (8 Jun 2021 13:26:44 GMT)
4.4

10 km
224 km (139 mi)China: 353km ENE of Hanley, Jammu & Kashmir, India MoreMap
Mon, 7 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Jun 2021 6:30 pm (GMT +6) (7 Jun 2021 12:30:11 GMT)
4.5

273 km
601 km (373 mi)Bay of Bengal, Bangladesh, 92 km southeast of Gosāba, India 11 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 6 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2021-06-06 14:40:09 IST (6 Jun 2021 09:10:09 GMT)
4.4

313 km
752 km (467 mi)202 km northwest of Xigaze, Tibet, China 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 4 Jun 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-06-04 20:20:09 IST (4 Jun 2021 14:50:09 GMT)
4.6

10 km
1647 km (1023 mi)15 km northeast of Bellampalli, Adilabad, Telangana, India MoreMap
4 Jun 2021 6:28 pm (GMT +5) (4 Jun 2021 13:28:19 GMT)
4.9

46 km
178 km (111 mi)Afghanistan, 93 km northwest of Zhob, Balochistan, Pakistan MoreMap
4 Jun 4:15 pm (GMT +5:30) (4 Jun 2021 10:45:01 GMT)
4.2

10 km
346 km (215 mi)Andaman Sea, India MoreMap
Thu, 3 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Jun 1:55 pm (GMT +8) (3 Jun 2021 05:55:19 GMT)
5.0

10 km
570 km (354 mi)Qinghai, China MoreMap
Wed, 2 Jun 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-06-03 01:20:13 IST (2 Jun 2021 19:50:13 GMT)
4.3

10 km
356 km (221 mi)Bargi Matal, Nuristan, 86 km north of Āsmār, Bar Kunaṟ, Kunar, Afghanistan MoreMap
2021-06-03 01:15:38 IST (2 Jun 2021 19:45:38 GMT)
4.2

10 km
317 km (197 mi)Bay of Bengal, 179 km southwest of Port Blair, India MoreMap
2 Jun 2021 8:39 pm (GMT +5:30) (2 Jun 2021 15:09:47 GMT)
4.2

362 km
1397 km (868 mi)23 km north of Jagdalpur, Bastar, Chhattisgarh, India 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 1 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Jun 11:45 pm (GMT +6) (1 Jun 2021 17:45:51 GMT)
4.3

10 km
466 km (290 mi)Andaman Sea, 85 km southeast of Pyapon, Ayeyarwady Region, Myanmar (Burma) 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 31 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Jun 2021 2:19 am (GMT +6:30) (31 May 2021 19:49:34 GMT)
4.7

80 km
114 km (71 mi)Kale District, 54 km southeast of Mawlaik, Sagaing Region, Myanmar (Burma) 3 reportsMoreMap
31 May 7:42 pm (GMT +8) (31 May 2021 11:42:57 GMT)
4.2

10 km
298 km (185 mi)China: XIZANG MoreMap
Sun, 30 May 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-05-31 02:34:59 IST (30 May 2021 21:04:59 GMT)
4.4

231 km
1206 km (749 mi)35 km northwest of Garhwa, Jharkhand, India 2 reportsMoreMap
30 May 2021 2:57 pm (GMT +5) (30 May 2021 09:57:33 GMT)
4.4

208 km
556 km (345 mi)Mānsehra, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 99 km northeast of Muzafarabad, Pakistan MoreMap
2021-05-30 10:20:15 IST (30 May 2021 04:50:15 GMT)
4.7

10 km
563 km (350 mi)Qinghai, China MoreMap
Sat, 29 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 May 4:02 pm (GMT +8) (29 May 2021 08:02:42 GMT)
4.9

10 km
347 km (216 mi)China: XIZANG MoreMap
Fri, 28 May 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
28 May 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +6:30) (28 May 2021 16:51:22 GMT)
4.4

90 km
57 km (35 mi)Yinmabin, 71 km northwest of Monywa, Sagaing Region, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
28 May 5:40 pm (GMT +5:30) (28 May 2021 12:10:42 GMT)
4.2

10 km
243 km (151 mi)40 km northeast of Leh, India MoreMap
28 May 2021 3:17 pm (GMT +5:30) (28 May 2021 09:47:49 GMT)
4.8

244 km
628 km (390 mi)Pithoragarh, Uttarakhand, 11 km northwest of Dārchulā, Nepal MoreMap
2021-05-28 06:21:34 IST (28 May 2021 00:51:34 GMT)
4.4

10 km
520 km (323 mi)163 km east of Nagqu Prefecture, Tibet, China 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 27 May 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 May 4:52 am (GMT +5:30) (27 May 2021 23:22:12 GMT)
4.2

20 km
825 km (513 mi)3.1 km north of Budhana, Muzaffarnagar, Uttar Pradesh, India 2 reportsMoreMap
28 May 2021 3:44 am (GMT +5) (27 May 2021 22:44:03 GMT)
4.8

10 km
371 km (231 mi)Chitrāl, 19 km north of Dīr, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan MoreMap
2021-05-28 02:53:00 IST (27 May 2021 21:23:00 GMT)
4.3

199 km
482 km (3 mi)China: 459km ENE of Joshimath, Uttarakhand , India 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 26 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2021-05-26 13:52:26 IST (26 May 2021 08:22:26 GMT)
5.2

10 km
339 km (211 mi)Andaman Sea, 225 km west of Dawei, Tanintharyi Region, Myanmar (Burma) 2 reportsMoreMap
2021-05-26 12:22:59 IST (26 May 2021 06:52:59 GMT)
4.4

10 km
729 km (453 mi)Muzaffarnagar, 17 km north of Mawana, Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 25 May 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
2021-05-26 02:16:12 IST (25 May 2021 20:46:12 GMT)
4.5

150 km
921 km (572 mi)237 km west of Xigaze, Tibet, China MoreMap
26 May 2021 1:53 am (GMT +6:30) (25 May 2021 19:23:08 GMT)
4.3

90 km
151 km (94 mi)21 km southeast of Mawlaik, Sagaing Region, Myanmar (Burma) 1 reportMoreMap
25 May 2021 14:14:37 GMT
4.5

10 km
151 km (94 mi)North and Middle Andaman, 172 km north of Port Blair, India MoreMap
25 May 2021 6:31 pm (GMT +5:30) (25 May 2021 13:01:48 GMT)
5.2

10 km
1155 km (718 mi)20 km southwest of Mahoba, Uttar Pradesh, India 3 reportsMoreMap
25 May 2021 6:34 am (GMT +5) (25 May 2021 01:34:50 GMT)
4.6

288 km
362 km (225 mi)Chitrāl, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 49 km northeast of Āsmār, Afghanistan MoreMap
Mon, 24 May 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
2021-05-25 04:30:23 IST (24 May 2021 23:00:23 GMT)
4.5

10 km
525 km (326 mi)China MoreMap
2021-05-24 19:45:41 IST (24 May 2021 14:15:41 GMT)
4.3

81 km
594 km (369 mi)China 1 reportMoreMap
2021-05-24 14:01:32 IST (24 May 2021 08:31:32 GMT)
5.1

10 km
525 km (326 mi)China: 742km NNE of Pangin, Arunachal Pradesh, India 2 reportsMoreMap
24 May 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +5:30) (24 May 2021 07:04:33 GMT)
4.3

210 km
318 km (198 mi)85 km northwest of Leh, India 1 reportMoreMap
2021-05-24 09:19:09 IST (24 May 2021 03:49:09 GMT)
4.6

83 km
231 km (144 mi)Andaman Sea, India MoreMap
Sun, 23 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 May 2021 12:31 am (GMT +5:30) (23 May 2021 19:01:45 GMT)
4.3

22 km
514 km (319 mi)44 km north of Joshīmath, Chamoli, Uttarakhand, India 364 reportsMoreMap
23 May 2021 7:56 am (GMT +6:30) (23 May 2021 01:26:42 GMT)
4.3

109 km
256 km (159 mi)Hkamti District, Myanmar (Burma), 97 km east of Thoubāl, India 2 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 22 May 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2021-05-22 17:39:34 (22 May 2021 09:39:34 GMT)
4.3

10 km
553 km (344 mi)China: 青海果洛州玛多县 MoreMap
2021-05-22 12:37:00 IST (22 May 2021 07:07:00 GMT)
4.4

205 km
621 km (386 mi)Qinghai, 144 km north of Chamdo, Tibet, China MoreMap
2021-05-22 12:36:33 IST (22 May 2021 07:06:33 GMT)
4.5

10 km
589 km (366 mi)Qinghai, China MoreMap
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1013 joules (11.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 9697 tons of TNT or 0.6 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel