Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Indonesia in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, September 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 28, 2022 20:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Indonesia was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 10 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.6 earthquake occurred in Molucca Sea, Indonesia, 9 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.8 | 45 km NW of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.6 | Molucca Sea, 233 km N of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Indonesia (updated )

Past 24 hours18 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 7 days160 quakes | 39 quakes M2+ | 84 quakes M3+ | 34 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 30 days796 quakes | 175 quakes M2+ | 410 quakes M3+ | 187 quakes M4+ | 20 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+
Past 90 days2,168 quakes | 447 quakes M2+ | 1,148 quakes M3+ | 515 quakes M4+ | 47 quakes M5+ | 5 quakes M6+
Past 365 days10,401 quakes | 2,823 quakes M2+ | 5,217 quakes M3+ | 2,096 quakes M4+ | 179 quakes M5+ | 16 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Indonesia | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 3:59 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 19:59 GMT)
3.8

10 km
45 km northwest of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:53 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 17:53 GMT)
3.8

1 km
Philippine Sea, 48 km southeast of Pondaguitan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 2:44 am (GMT +9) (Sep 28, 2022 17:44 GMT)
3.1

66 km
Oecusse, 35 km northwest of Kefamenanu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:16 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 17:16 GMT)
3.5

48 km
Philippine Sea, 49 km east of Glan, Sarangani, Soccsksargen, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:10 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 17:10 GMT)
3.5

112 km
9.2 km southwest of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 12:50 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 16:50 GMT)
2.9

10 km
48 km east of Sulawesi Island, South Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Sep 29, 2022 12:21 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 16:21 GMT)
3.6

273 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 171 km south of Sarangani, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 9:51 pm (GMT +7) (Sep 28, 2022 14:51 GMT)
2.8

10 km
35 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia More
Sep 28, 2022 9:32 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 13:32 GMT)
3.1

103 km
Philippine Sea, 97 km east of Caburan, Davao Occidental, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:18 pm (GMT +9) (Sep 28, 2022 13:18 GMT)
2.8

65 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia More
Sep 28, 2022 8:41 pm (GMT +9) (Sep 28, 2022 11:41 GMT)
4.6

67 km
Molucca Sea, 233 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 1:44 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 05:44 GMT)
3.1

11 km
64 km southwest of Katabu, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 11:36 am (GMT +7) (Sep 28, 2022 04:36 GMT)
3.8

103 km
Indian Ocean, 74 km south of Ponorogo, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 12:20 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 04:20 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 239 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:46 am (GMT +7) (Sep 28, 2022 03:46 GMT)
4.5

10 km
73 km northwest of Bukittinggi, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:51 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2022 02:51 GMT)
3.0

85 km
Savu Sea, 79 km northwest of Kefamenanu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 6:35 am (GMT +8) (Sep 27, 2022 22:35 GMT)
2.8

61 km
Savu Sea, 78 km northwest of Nusa Dua, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia More
Sep 28, 2022 4:37 am (GMT +8) (Sep 27, 2022 20:37 GMT)
4.2

10 km
Indian Ocean, 147 km south of Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1012 joules (363 megawatt hours, equivalent to 313 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kappang, Sulawesi, Indonesia (KAPI/II network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kappang, Sulawesi, Indonesia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Indonesia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Indonesia?

The last earthquake in Indonesia occurred 25 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - 45 km northwest of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 3:59 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Indonesia today?

In the past 24 hours, Indonesia had 18 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Indonesia today?

The strongest earthquake in Indonesia today occurred 9 hours ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 233 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 8:41 pm (GMT +9).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings