2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest earthquakes in Iran - list and map

Updated Jul 4, 2022 00:02 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Iran was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in Caspian Sea, Iran, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 60 km E of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.3 | Caspian Sea, 23 km NE of Langarūd, Gilan Province, Iran -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Iran (updated )

Past 24 hours:12 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:79 quakes | 23 quakes M2+ | 30 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 30 days:489 quakes | 238 quakes M2+ | 151 quakes M3+ | 61 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:955 quakes | 508 quakes M2+ | 295 quakes M3+ | 90 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 365 days:3,311 quakes | 1,906 quakes M2+ | 986 quakes M3+ | 222 quakes M4+ | 17 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Iran | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 11:12 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 18:42 GMT)
4.1

2 km
60 km east of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 11:09 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 18:39 GMT)
3.9

22 km
53 km northeast of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 9:09 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 16:39 GMT)
3.6

2 km
43 km east of Gorgan, Golestan, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 7:19 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 14:49 GMT)
4.0

8 km
20 km northeast of Nūrābād, Fars, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 14:05 GMT)
4.3

8 km
Caspian Sea, 23 km northeast of Langarūd, Gilan Province, Iran
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 6:33 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 14:03 GMT)
3.7

20 km
33 km southwest of Mīnāb, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 4:48 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 12:18 GMT)
3.7

18 km
Kish Island, 17 km north of Kīsh, Kish, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 4:45 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 12:15 GMT)
3.5

4 km
Hormozgan, 52 km southeast of Mohr, Fars, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 3:16 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 10:46 GMT)
3.8

10 km
18 km northeast of Nūrābād, Fars, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 3:05 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 10:35 GMT)
3.6

10 km
19 km northeast of Nūrābād, Fars, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 9:59 am (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 05:29 GMT)
3.6

13 km
55 km northeast of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 4:10 am (GMT +3) (Jul 3, 2022 01:10 GMT)
1.9

1 km
36 km southwest of Bajaset, Ağrı, Turkey MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 1011 joules (142 megawatt hours, equivalent to 122 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Iran Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Iran?

The last earthquake in Iran occurred 5 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.1 earthquake - 60 km east of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran, on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 11:12 pm (GMT +4:30).

How many quakes were there in Iran today?

In the past 24 hours, Iran had 12 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Iran today?

The strongest earthquake in Iran today occurred 10 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - Caspian Sea, 23 km northeast of Langarūd, Gilan Province, Iran, on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 6:35 pm (GMT +4:30).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel