Latest earthquakes in Japan - list and map

Updated 5 Mar 2021 06:50 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Japan was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 7.1, 16 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 93 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 437 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 829 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 7.1 quake North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan, 13 Feb 2021 11:07 pm (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 4.7 quake Philippines Sea, Japan, 4 March 2021 17:19 GMT
Most recent quake: 4.6 quake North Pacific Ocean, 36 km south of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan, 5 Mar 2021 3:14 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakespast 30 days, magnitude 4.4 or higher (63 out of 1376 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 3:14 pm (GMT +9) (5 Mar 2021 06:14:07 GMT)
4.6

72 km
(0 km)North Pacific Ocean, 36 km south of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +9) (5 Mar 2021 05:43:50 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(0 km)North Pacific Ocean, 10.7 km east of Hasaki, Chōshi-shi, Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 11:23 am (GMT +9) (5 Mar 2021 02:23:07 GMT)
2.9

50 km
(74 km)Koga-shi, Ibaraki, 18 km north of Kasukabe, Saitama, Japan MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 10:54 am (GMT +9) (5 Mar 2021 01:54:56 GMT)
2.8

41 km
(133 km)North Pacific Ocean, 55 km east of Mito, Ibaraki, Japan MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 9:49 am (GMT +9) (5 Mar 2021 00:49:39 GMT)
2.9

14 km
(73 km)Japan Sea, 39 km northwest of Hamada, Shimane, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Mar 2021 17:19:46 GMT
4.7

106 km
(47 km)Philippines Sea, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 11:24 pm (GMT +9) (4 Mar 2021 14:24:58 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(40 km)Philippines Sea, 85 km southeast of Taipei, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 1:26 pm (GMT +10) (4 Mar 2021 03:26:36 GMT)
4.4

39 km
(183 km)North Pacific Ocean, 153 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 8:42 am (GMT +9) (2 Mar 2021 23:42:18 GMT)
4.5

109 km
(112 km)East China Sea, 99 km northwest of Nago, Okinawa, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 7:22 am (GMT +10) (2 Mar 2021 21:22:47 GMT)
5.8

39 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km east of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:21 am (GMT +10) (2 Mar 2021 20:21:58 GMT)
4.4

85 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 85 km east of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russie
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Mar 2021 11:54 am (GMT +9) (1 Mar 2021 02:54:30 GMT)
4.5

50 km
(148 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 1:12 am (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 16:12:05 GMT)
4.7

37 km
(124 km)Philippines Sea, 60 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 11:30 pm (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 14:30:13 GMT)
4.9

20 km
(114 km)Philippines Sea, 83 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 5:20 pm (GMT +9) (27 Feb 2021 08:20:55 GMT)
4.8

115 km
(68 km)North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 2:03 am (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 17:03:49 GMT)
4.9

48 km
(127 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 12:33 am (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 15:33:28 GMT)
4.6

77 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 14:54:17 GMT
4.5

13 km
(188 km)North Pacific Ocean, 292 km southeast of Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 8:31 pm (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 11:31:35 GMT)
5.0

61 km
(114 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km northeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 10:18:29 GMT)
4.4

50 km
(122 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 1:04 pm (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 04:04:24 GMT)
4.7

48 km
(121 km)North Pacific Ocean, 92 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 8:26 am (GMT +10) (24 Feb 2021 22:26:16 GMT)
4.8

141 km
unnamed (3 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 54 km southwest of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 4:08 pm (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 07:08:58 GMT)
4.7

54 km
(74 km)Inland Sea, 62 km northeast of Ōita, Oita, Japan 4 reportsMoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 6:22 am (GMT +9) (22 Feb 2021 21:22:36 GMT)
4.4

60 km
(107 km)North Pacific Ocean, 39 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 4:09 am (GMT +10) (22 Feb 2021 18:09:57 GMT)
4.4

45 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 222 km east of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 10:55 am (GMT +9) (22 Feb 2021 01:55:55 GMT)
4.8

51 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 31 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 11:23 pm (GMT +10) (20 Feb 2021 13:23:27 GMT)
5.4

60 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 55 km south of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia 3 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 2:16 am (GMT +10) (19 Feb 2021 16:16:28 GMT)
5.0

43 km
(152 km)North Pacific Ocean, 113 km east of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 10:07 am (GMT +9) (19 Feb 2021 01:07:09 GMT)
4.7

45 km
(131 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 3:02 pm (GMT +9) (18 Feb 2021 06:02:42 GMT)
4.5

60 km
(107 km)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southeast of Watari, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 11:06 pm (GMT +9) (17 Feb 2021 14:06:18 GMT)
4.9

52 km
(121 km)North Pacific Ocean, 92 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 7:07 am (GMT +9) (16 Feb 2021 22:07:22 GMT)
4.6

41 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 56 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 12:57 am (GMT +9) (16 Feb 2021 15:57:56 GMT)
4.9

24 km
(101 km)Philippines Sea, 86 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 9:26 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 12:26:05 GMT)
5.3

49 km
(108 km)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km east of Fukushima, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
15 Feb 2021 8:59 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 11:59:51 GMT)
4.4

48 km
(124 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
15 Feb 2021 8:27 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 11:27:19 GMT)
4.4

39 km
(125 km)North Pacific Ocean, 69 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 12:51 am (GMT +10) (14 Feb 2021 14:51:56 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(207 km)North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 6:26 pm (GMT +9) (14 Feb 2021 09:26:59 GMT)
4.6

50 km
(118 km)North Pacific Ocean, 85 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:59 pm (GMT +9) (14 Feb 2021 07:59:22 GMT)
4.5

50 km
(126 km)North Pacific Ocean, 64 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:31 pm (GMT +9) (14 Feb 2021 07:31:50 GMT)
5.1

50 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km east of Fukushima, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 3:25 am (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 18:25:28 GMT)
5.5

55 km
(137 km)North Pacific Ocean, 47 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan 3 reportsMoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:32 am (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 16:32:58 GMT)
4.4

60 km
(126 km)North Pacific Ocean, 103 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 11:58 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 14:58:30 GMT)
4.4

50 km
(133 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 11:51 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 14:51:42 GMT)
5.3

56 km
(122 km)North Pacific Ocean, 1 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan 5 reportsMoreMap
13 Feb 2021 11:36 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 14:36:42 GMT)
4.9

60 km
(121 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
13 Feb 2021 11:07 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 14:07:51 GMT)
7.1

56 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan 236 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 1:52 pm (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 04:52:25 GMT)
4.9

38 km
(137 km)Philippines Sea, 77 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 12:31 pm (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 03:31:36 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(84 km)East China Sea, 58 km northwest of Yonaguni Island, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 11:15 am (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 02:15:03 GMT)
4.6

376 km
(112 km)Philippines Sea, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 1:45 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 16:45:22 GMT)
5.1

455 km
(156 km)Philippines Sea, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 15:24:09 GMT
4.5

119 km
Smith Rock (18 km)Philippines Sea, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 07:07:58 GMT)
5.1

74 km
Smith Rock (61 km)Philippines Sea, Japan MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:39 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 03:39:24 GMT)
4.5

15 km
(121 km)Philippines Sea, 98 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 8:35 am (GMT +10) (8 Feb 2021 22:35:40 GMT)
4.5

85 km
(101 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 22 km southwest of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:58 am (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 16:58:03 GMT)
5.2

21 km
(51 km)Philippines Sea, 88 km southeast of Taipei, Taiwan 6 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 1:56 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 16:56:31 GMT)
5.1

63 km
(67 km)Philippines Sea, Japan, 77 km southeast of Yilan, Taiwan 2 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 1:56 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 16:56:30 GMT)
4.7

55 km
(76 km)Philippines Sea, 54 km west of Yonaguni Island, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:24 am (GMT +10) (8 Feb 2021 14:24:00 GMT)
5.1

27 km
(143 km)North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southeast of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 2:36 am (GMT +9) (6 Feb 2021 17:36:02 GMT)
5.3

105 km
(82 km)East China Sea, 37 km northwest of Yonaguni Island, Okinawa, Japan 4 reportsMoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:10 pm (GMT +9) (6 Feb 2021 05:10:28 GMT)
4.4

70 km
(116 km)Shiroi-shi, 10.1 km southeast of Abiko, Chiba, Japan 6 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +10) (5 Feb 2021 02:51:21 GMT)
4.4

60 km
(362 km)North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 5:27 am (GMT +10) (4 Feb 2021 19:27:35 GMT)
4.9

86 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia 1 reportMoreMap
4 Feb 2021 4:14 pm (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 08:14:03 GMT)
5.4

14 km
(120 km)Philippines Sea, 55 km north of North Island, Philippines 2 reportsMoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1015 joules (818 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7 x 105 tons of TNT or 44 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel