Latest earthquakes in Mongolia: list & interactive map

Updated 24 Feb 2021 20:28 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Mongolia was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 43 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 35 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.7 quake MONGOLIA, China, 6 Feb 2021 2:22 pm (GMT +8)
Biggest quake today: 4.8 quake 105 km east of Korla, Xinjiang, China, 24 Feb 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 3.8 quake 234 km north of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China, 24 Feb 2021 8:47 pm (GMT +8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakespast 30 days, magnitude 3.5 or higher (65 out of 85 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 8:47 pm (GMT +8) (24 Feb 2021 12:47:30 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(333 km)234 km north of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 1:48 pm (GMT +8) (24 Feb 2021 05:48:20 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(257 km)281 km northeast of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +8) (24 Feb 2021 04:34:42 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(219 km)105 km east of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 9:42 am (GMT +8) (23 Feb 2021 01:42:02 GMT)
4.4

17 km
(598 km)19 km south of Dalandzadgad, Khankhongor, Ömnögovĭ, Mongolia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 7:47 am (GMT +8) (22 Feb 2021 23:47:21 GMT)
4.5

15 km
(685 km)193 km southeast of Dalandzadgad, Khankhongor, Ömnögovĭ, Mongolia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 2:02 pm (GMT +7) (22 Feb 2021 07:02:53 GMT)
4.1

10 km
(653 km)70 km west of Ölgii, Ulgii, Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 1:30 pm (GMT +8) (22 Feb 2021 05:30:42 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(119 km)60 km southeast of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 5:43 pm (GMT +8) (21 Feb 2021 09:43:34 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(392 km)270 km southeast of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +8) (21 Feb 2021 04:07:56 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(177 km)198 km east of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 01:39:02 GMT
4.6

10 km
(91 km)207 km east of Kyzyl, Republic of Tyva, Russia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 8:37 am (GMT +7) (21 Feb 2021 01:37:10 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(96 km)205 km northeast of Kyzyl, Republic of Tyva, Russia
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 7:58 am (GMT +7) (21 Feb 2021 00:58:57 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(587 km)45 km south of Ak-Dovurak, Republic of Tyva, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 6:13 pm (GMT +8) (20 Feb 2021 10:13:40 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(117 km)90 km south of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 1:20 pm (GMT +7) (20 Feb 2021 06:20:46 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(816 km)49 km east of Gorno-Altaysk, Altai, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 12:37 pm (GMT +7) (20 Feb 2021 05:37:54 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(340 km)307 km northwest of Kumul, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 11:14 am (GMT +8) (18 Feb 2021 03:14:40 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(306 km)228 km southeast of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 08:11:57 GMT
4.1

10 km
(308 km)102 km north of Kyzyl, Republic of Tyva, Russia MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 06:17:26 GMT
4.2

10 km
(176 km)182 km south of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 10:23 pm (GMT +8) (15 Feb 2021 14:23:11 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(153 km)27 km west of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia 1 reportMoreMap
15 Feb 2021 12:19 pm (GMT +8) (15 Feb 2021 04:19:51 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(393 km)72 km southeast of Kumul, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:45 pm (GMT +6) (14 Feb 2021 10:45:29 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(612 km)51 km northeast of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 2:03 pm (GMT +8) (14 Feb 2021 06:03:03 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(330 km)212 km southeast of Korla, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 8:51 pm (GMT +7) (13 Feb 2021 13:51:37 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(738 km)35 km southeast of Belyashi, Altai, Russia MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 8:22 am (GMT +7) (13 Feb 2021 01:22:52 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(491 km)185 km southwest of Altai, Yesunbulag, Govĭ-Altay Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 9:19 am (GMT +8) (13 Feb 2021 01:19:41 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(621 km)WESTERN NEI MONGOL, CHINA, Mongolia MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 11:10:24 GMT
4.0

10 km
(140 km)14 km southwest of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 1:04 am (GMT +8) (10 Feb 2021 17:04:04 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(603 km)Xinjiang, 112 km northeast of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 11:40 pm (GMT +8) (10 Feb 2021 15:40:40 GMT)
4.1

10 km
(262 km)230 km northeast of Ürümqi, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 8:59 pm (GMT +7) (10 Feb 2021 13:59:52 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(845 km)43 km southeast of Gorno-Altaysk, Altai, Russia MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 2:20 pm (GMT +8) (10 Feb 2021 06:20:10 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(153 km)160 km southeast of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 2:04 pm (GMT +8) (9 Feb 2021 06:04:41 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(108 km)115 km south of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 3:50 am (GMT +7) (8 Feb 2021 20:50:46 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(815 km)224 km south of Gorno-Altaysk, Altai, Russia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +7) (8 Feb 2021 09:24:29 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(499 km)136 km southeast of Khovd, Jargalant, Hovd, Mongolia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 9:12 am (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 01:12:05 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(406 km)154 km south of Altay, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 7:32 am (GMT +7) (8 Feb 2021 00:32:37 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(707 km)34 km southeast of Tashtagol, Kemerovo Oblast, Russia MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 3:46 pm (GMT +7) (7 Feb 2021 08:46:28 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(732 km)Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, 60 km south of Kosh-Agach, Altai, Russia MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 2:41 pm (GMT +8) (7 Feb 2021 06:41:37 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(163 km)168 km south of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 12:10 am (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 16:10:01 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(316 km)94 km northwest of Ulan-Ude, Ivolginskiy Rayon, Buryatiya Republic, Russia 6 reportsMoreMap
6 Feb 2021 4:51 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 08:51:25 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(254 km)121 km southwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 3:43 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 07:43:48 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(463 km)Bayanhongor Aymag, 174 km southwest of Hovd, Bogd, Övörhangay, Mongolia MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:22 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 06:22:35 GMT)
5.7

10 km
(626 km)MONGOLIA, China MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:05 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 06:05:27 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(228 km)227 km northeast of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 1:52 am (GMT +7) (5 Feb 2021 18:52:58 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(414 km)122 km northeast of Ulaangom, Uvs Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:57 pm (GMT +8) (5 Feb 2021 05:57:12 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(110 km)Arhangay Aymag, 89 km northwest of Kharkhorin, Övörhangay, Mongolia 1 reportMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 12:40 pm (GMT +8) (5 Feb 2021 04:40:22 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(400 km)62 km southeast of Kumul, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 12:13 pm (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 04:13:13 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(304 km)120 km southwest of Korla, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 2:47 am (GMT +7) (3 Feb 2021 19:47:48 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(632 km)77 km north of Altay, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 3:14 pm (GMT +8) (3 Feb 2021 07:14:53 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(151 km)31 km southwest of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 12:20 pm (GMT +8) (3 Feb 2021 04:20:35 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(154 km)33 km southwest of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
3 Feb 2021 12:02 am (GMT +6) (2 Feb 2021 18:02:17 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(614 km)48 km northeast of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 1:43 am (GMT +8) (2 Feb 2021 17:43:08 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(636 km)Xinjiang, 125 km northeast of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 9:41 pm (GMT +8) (2 Feb 2021 13:41:36 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(205 km)65 km southwest of Changji, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 9:17 pm (GMT +8) (2 Feb 2021 13:17:04 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(585 km)Xinjiang, 80 km east of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 12:45 pm (GMT +8) (2 Feb 2021 04:45:36 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(267 km)84 km southwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 4:50 pm (GMT +8) (1 Feb 2021 08:50:28 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(297 km)181 km northeast of Changji, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 12:51 am (GMT +7) (31 Jan 2021 17:51:03 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(584 km)94 km south of Ölgii, Ulgii, Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Jan 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +8) (30 Jan 2021 10:14:25 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(281 km)289 km southeast of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jan 2021 2:10 pm (GMT +8) (29 Jan 2021 06:10:12 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(304 km)199 km northeast of Changji, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Jan 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +8) (28 Jan 2021 04:51:41 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(151 km)18 km west of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
Wed, 27 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Jan 2021 4:10 am (GMT +9) (27 Jan 2021 19:10:31 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(382 km)34 km north of Krasnokamensk, Zabaykal’skiy (Transbaikal) Kray, Russia MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 9:51 pm (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 13:51:28 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(501 km)240 km west of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China MoreMap
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
26 Jan 2021 10:02 pm (GMT +8) (26 Jan 2021 14:02:27 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(280 km)294 km northeast of Changji, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
26 Jan 2021 9:41 pm (GMT +8) (26 Jan 2021 13:41:25 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(106 km)82 km southwest of Moron, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia MoreMap
26 Jan 2021 4:46 pm (GMT +7) (26 Jan 2021 09:46:34 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(407 km)Bulgan District, 210 km south of Khovd, Jargalant, Hovd, Mongolia MoreMap
Mon, 25 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Jan 2021 6:06 am (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 22:06:50 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(212 km)25 km southwest of Changji, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.4 x 1013 joules (12.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 10596 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel