Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near New Mexico, USA: past 30 days

Updated Oct 28, 2021 16:24 GMT -
During the past 30 days, New Mexico was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 20 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 93 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA, Sep 29, 2021 2:22 am (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 3.2 quake 7.1 mi north of Odessa, Ector County, Texas, USA, Oct 27, 2021 4:04 pm (GMT -5)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake 9 Km SSE of Gardendale, Texas, Oct 28, 2021 6:27 am (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.4 or higher (71 out of 124 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 28, 2021 11:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 28, 2021 6:27 am (GMT -5) (Oct 28, 2021 11:27 GMT)
2.2

5 km
393 km (244 mi)9 Km SSE of Gardendale, Texas 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 21:04 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 27, 2021 4:04 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 27, 2021 21:04 GMT)
3.2

7.8 km
394 km (245 mi)7.1 mi north of Odessa, Ector County, Texas, USA
I FELT IT - 27 reports
MoreMap
Oct 27, 2021 12:17 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 27, 2021 17:17 GMT)
2.8

7.5 km
275 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 53 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 27, 2021 3:35 am (GMT -5) (Oct 27, 2021 08:35 GMT)
2.4

4.3 km
262 km (163 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 27, 2021 03:34 GMT)
2.9

7.6 km
285 km (177 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 22:03 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 26, 2021 5:03 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 26, 2021 22:03 GMT)
3.6

8.4 km
394 km (245 mi)6.2 mi north of Odessa, Ector County, Texas, USA
I FELT IT - 16 reports
MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 4:54 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 26, 2021 21:54 GMT)
3.4

8.4 km
394 km (245 mi)6.1 mi north of Odessa, Ector County, Texas, USA
I FELT IT - 80 reports
MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 2:24 am (GMT -5) (Oct 26, 2021 07:24 GMT)
2.4

7.6 km
275 km (171 mi)56 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, October 24, 2021 14:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 24, 2021 9:26 am (GMT -5) (Oct 24, 2021 14:26 GMT)
2.9

7.9 km
303 km (188 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 59 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 08:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 23, 2021 3:00 am (GMT -5) (Oct 23, 2021 08:00 GMT)
2.6

5 km
277 km (172 mi)58 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 23:55 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 22, 2021 6:55 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 22, 2021 23:55 GMT)
3.5

5.7 km
275 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 54 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 9:39 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 22, 2021 02:39 GMT)
2.5

7.4 km
285 km (177 mi)56 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 17:56 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 21, 2021 12:56 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 21, 2021 17:56 GMT)
3.2

4 km
259 km (161 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 49 mi southwest of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 10:33 am (GMT -5) (Oct 21, 2021 15:33 GMT)
3.2

6.7 km
276 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 53 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 6:31 am (GMT -5) (Oct 21, 2021 11:31 GMT)
3.2

6.7 km
275 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 08:03 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 20, 2021 3:03 am (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2021 08:03 GMT)
2.9

7 km
279 km (173 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 53 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:21 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2021 01:21 GMT)
2.5

7 km
270 km (168 mi)59 Km SSW of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 23:32 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 19, 2021 6:32 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 23:32 GMT)
2.7

6.5 km
293 km (182 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 5:09 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 22:09 GMT)
2.9

7.4 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 3:23 am (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 08:23 GMT)
2.4

7.8 km
304 km (189 mi)35 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 08:08 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 3:08 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 08:08 GMT)
3.2

6.2 km
298 km (185 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 60 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 3:07 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 08:07 GMT)
3.5

7.5 km
298 km (185 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 60 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 04:14 GMT)
2.6

7.2 km
293 km (182 mi)37 Km W of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 7:27 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 00:27 GMT)
2.9

7 km
269 km (167 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 56 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 19:00 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 19:00 GMT)
3.4

7.7 km
291 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 11:58 am (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 16:58 GMT)
2.9

7.8 km
293 km (182 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 22:34 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 5:34 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 16, 2021 22:34 GMT)
2.5

12 km
277 km (172 mi)57 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 4:09 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 10:09 GMT)
2.7

5.6 km
47 km (29 mi)9.1 mi northwest of Santa Teresa, Rio Arriba County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 23:22 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 6:22 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 23:22 GMT)
2.7

7.5 km
274 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 5:05 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 22:05 GMT)
3.3

7.5 km
280 km (174 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 36 mi southeast of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 05:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 12, 2021 12:59 am (GMT -5) (Oct 12, 2021 05:59 GMT)
3.0

7.4 km
275 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 53 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 10:32 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 12, 2021 03:32 GMT)
2.6

6.5 km
272 km (169 mi)58 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Monday, October 11, 2021 22:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 11, 2021 5:49 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 11, 2021 22:49 GMT)
2.7

7.4 km
273 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 13:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 10, 2021 8:17 am (GMT -5) (Oct 10, 2021 13:17 GMT)
3.8

8.5 km
276 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 59 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 13:51 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 8, 2021 8:51 am (GMT -5) (Oct 8, 2021 13:51 GMT)
2.7

6.5 km
275 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 8, 2021 7:16 am (GMT -5) (Oct 8, 2021 12:16 GMT)
2.7

6.8 km
277 km (172 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 8, 2021 2:11 am (GMT -5) (Oct 8, 2021 07:11 GMT)
2.7

6.7 km
276 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 15:24 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 7, 2021 10:24 am (GMT -5) (Oct 7, 2021 15:24 GMT)
2.5

9.2 km
277 km (172 mi)65 Km NNE of Van Horn, Texas MoreMap
Oct 7, 2021 5:56 am (GMT -5) (Oct 7, 2021 10:56 GMT)
2.4

7.9 km
270 km (168 mi)57 Km SSW of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 7, 2021 5:20 am (GMT -5) (Oct 7, 2021 10:20 GMT)
2.9

6.7 km
274 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 7, 2021 1:50 am (GMT -5) (Oct 7, 2021 06:50 GMT)
2.6

6.1 km
275 km (171 mi)55 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 15:48 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 6, 2021 10:48 am (GMT -5) (Oct 6, 2021 15:48 GMT)
2.4

7.4 km
279 km (173 mi)56 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 2:42 am (GMT -5) (Oct 6, 2021 07:42 GMT)
2.4

6.5 km
289 km (180 mi)54 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 8:46 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 6, 2021 01:46 GMT)
2.8

6.8 km
273 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 49 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 11:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 5, 2021 6:55 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2021 11:55 GMT)
2.6

6.6 km
298 km (185 mi)23 Km WNW of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 21:33 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 4, 2021 4:33 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2021 21:33 GMT)
3.2

6.1 km
272 km (169 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 3:21 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2021 20:21 GMT)
2.4

6.2 km
288 km (179 mi)54 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 1:05 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2021 18:05 GMT)
2.5

7.4 km
291 km (181 mi)39 Km W of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 12:59 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2021 05:59 GMT)
2.6

7 km
275 km (171 mi)56 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 12:00 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2021 05:00 GMT)
3.1

7 km
288 km (179 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 56 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 21:58 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 3, 2021 4:58 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 21:58 GMT)
2.4

5.8 km
391 km (243 mi)31 Km SW of Coyanosa, Texas MoreMap
Oct 3, 2021 3:10 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 20:10 GMT)
2.6

6.8 km
276 km (171 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 49 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 8:58 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 01:58 GMT)
3.0

7.6 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 8:48 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 01:48 GMT)
3.3

7.8 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 8:39 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 01:39 GMT)
4.1

7.6 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 18:57 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2021 1:57 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 2, 2021 18:57 GMT)
3.0

7.8 km
291 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 1:55 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 2, 2021 18:55 GMT)
3.6

6.7 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 8:46 am (GMT -5) (Oct 2, 2021 13:46 GMT)
2.6

5 km
296 km (184 mi)43 Km NW of Toyah, Texas 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 22:38 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 1, 2021 5:38 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 1, 2021 22:38 GMT)
2.9

6.9 km
402 km (250 mi)7.3 mi north of Midland, Texas, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 7:48 am (GMT -5) (Oct 1, 2021 12:48 GMT)
2.4

6.1 km
275 km (171 mi)57 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 13:59 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 8:59 am (GMT -5) (Sep 30, 2021 13:59 GMT)
2.8

6.6 km
274 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 11:19 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 30, 2021 04:19 GMT)
2.7

7.6 km
287 km (178 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 55 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 9:48 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 30, 2021 02:48 GMT)
2.4

7 km
290 km (180 mi)43 Km W of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 7:35 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 30, 2021 00:35 GMT)
2.5

7.1 km
276 km (171 mi)55 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 20:02 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Sep 29, 2021 3:02 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 20:02 GMT)
3.0

6.7 km
285 km (177 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 53 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 3:18 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 08:18 GMT)
2.6

6.1 km
274 km (170 mi)54 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 2:54 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 07:54 GMT)
2.5

6.7 km
275 km (171 mi)55 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 2:34 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 07:34 GMT)
2.4

7.1 km
274 km (170 mi)53 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 2:22 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 07:22 GMT)
4.2

4.5 km
278 km (173 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA 5 reportsMoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 1:00 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2021 07:00 GMT)
?

n/a
232 km (144 mi)132 km east of Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 21:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 28, 2021 4:03 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 28, 2021 21:03 GMT)
2.6

7.4 km
270 km (168 mi)56 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.9 x 1011 joules (109 megawatt hours, equivalent to 93.9 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.